Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from BANGALORE

NICE HOTEL IN THE HEART OF TOWN

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: THE OPEN GARDEN MAINTAINED VERY WELL
Cons: THE ROOM FURNITURE
Location: MAIN STREET SHOPPING - BOTANICAL GARDEN - GOLF ETC
GOOD EXPERIENCE - COOPERATIVE STAFF - GOOD FOOD - MUST OFFER BETTER TARIFF PACKAGES FOR THE GUEST TO USE THIS HOTEL
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 13, 2014
The room after all was nice and confortable even if we ended up in between in front of the parking. The food at the restaurant was nothing really special, so far the nicest staff in the hotel that helps you forget the bad one from the reception. We have been charged twice for internet. It is already quite expensive for such a place. We won't go back to the Savoy as it was the second bad experience after Mumbai with the Taj company...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Vinod Nehemiah from Bangalore

Fantastic Service

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay with excellent service and food.The old world charm was maintained. The approach to the hotel was the only thing which needs much to be desired. Overall a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully quaint

Posted Aug 11, 2013
A beautifully quaint hotel. The staff treat you with great courtesy. Very pretty gardens. Nice dining room and bar. Probably best to book tours and such like in the town for economy sake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Oasis

Posted Apr 12, 2013
Wonderful hotel, an oasis of tranquility, elegance and charm. Only caveat is that I wouldn't recommend the tours, not good value and they wanted to be paid in cash
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Needs some TLC

Posted Apr 7, 2013
Pros: It's great character.
Cons: In need of some TLC
Probably the best choice of hotel in Ooty with a great history and lots of character. There is a main building which has the reception, the restaurant, the bar and some bedrooms. The other rooms are in bungelows in the hotel grounds. But the hotel needs some TLC. I would describe the room furnishings are tired - they are in good condition but are from the 1920's era. My bathroom had been refurbished but the rest of the room had not. A little work and TLC could really transform the place. (But please don't remove the fireplace - that's a great feature!). I liked it and if I were to return to Ooty I would probably choose the Savoy again. It is very popular both with foreign visitors and locals and booking is a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by val from Chicago

Ooty stop

Posted Oct 23, 2011
Location: The best thing about Ooty is the narrow gauge Railroad you take to get there.
This place has been an active hotel since 1841. Fireplaces in every roon (and you need it). Very British service, excellent. The restaurant is good. Loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, United Kingdom.

Best period hotel in Ooty

Posted Sep 30, 2011
Great period ambiance. Good and attentive staff. Could have enjoyed the features better if i had stayed longer. Kids enjoyed the lawns. Would recommend a longer stay to enjoy the place and all that it has to offer.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Savoy in Ooty

Posted Apr 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
A pleasant comfortable hotel with good flexible service and good food.