Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Pretty location near Olympic park.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Could be updated a little.
Location: We were there in summer so went hiking and swimming in the ice cold river near the hotel. Good food at Nikkers restaurant in town.
The hotel is in a great location and the rooms are a good size. The third bed for our son wasn't made up but other than that it was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Pleased!

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Great location. Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by R from Switzerland

Great winter stay

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice, cozy hotel with, not too pretentious. Nicely refurbished, but simple rooms. Good breakfast and very friendly service. Family friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mike from New Zealand

Comfy room

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was very clean and comfy. Staff courteous and helpful. Breakfast was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by suea from Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our room was renovated with a modern feel although the apartments and restaurant have obviously been there for a while. They were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was basic and the service was adequate. It feels a little like a hostel but rooms are self contained. Wifi worked well and a kettle was provided. It is on the road leading up to the ski jump and main Olympic arena and you could walk to the Olympic museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dmitriy

calm place to stay

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
was nice, Some things to improve: 1. Poor internet connection off central building, Would be nice to have shampoo, lotion in Bath
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
IF I'M EVER IN THIS AREA AGAIN, I'LL BE BACK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge, UK

Good clean family hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
We travelled from the UK for a ski trip with two children aged 11 and 9. Stayed in a family room with two single beds and a small double sofa bed. First good points; Room was spacious and well-appointed with two TVs, kettle and fridge; room was very warm - good when outside temp was -12C!; breakfast good with decent choice, although no hot food other than toast; shower was great - powerful and plenty of hot water; communal areas clean and quite trendy; staff friendly and helpful. Bad points; Location is out of town - no restaurant or bar in evening, so had to drive into town centre - about 2km away; the hotel is also some distance away from ski resort of Hafjell, so a car is a necessity; housekeeping was sporadic - had to make our own beds and empty bins on a couple of days; MOST IMPORTANTLY sofa bed was very uncomfortable - even the kids didn't want to sleep in it! We had to draw straws to see who would have the sleepless night, but in fairness we didn't complain, so the friendly staff might have been able to rectify this issue had they been informed. In summary, a good hotel and I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Good value

Posted Oct 4, 2008 on Hotels.com
Birkebeineren is a very pleasant place to stay in Lillehammer. It's within easy walking distance to the Olympic park and museum, as well as the Sigrid Unset home and museum. It's also an easy walk downhill to the center of town. There are several hiking and jogging trails nearby. The hotel itself is comfortable and clean, and the breakfast buffet was very ample. The rates, especially in the offseason, are pretty reasonable for Norway.