Ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Cons: Fix the thermostat and heating units.
Location: Fashion Island
When we first arrived, we notified the hotel that the thermostat in our room was not working. It was freezing cold. 40 minutes after placing a call to the front desk and sharing the problem, I called back to see the status. The front desk attendant said that she "forgot" to call and tell that engineering said they could not fix it because they lacked a piece of equipment. She offered to move us next door. Upon moving next door, the problem was worse. We phoned the front desk once again and they said that engineering would come and check it out. Engineering said that it was broken in that room too. They moved us to a 3rd room, an upgraded room, but the problem still existed. The engineer said that the hot water was broken in the heating unit. While the room was clean and well furnished, we froze the entire evening. And, our room service breakfast arrived at 7:40 even thought we had placed the card on the door with a timeframe from 7:15 - 7:30. Overall, the service was very disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: the marina
the hotel just got remodeled and it is beautiful. the bar area was very entertaining. The food at the bar area was a bit pricey but very flavorful. The lamb meatball were very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville ca

Nice hotel take advantage

Posted Jul 14, 2014
5 star hotel in my opinion. Service was great and the views are killer. Close to downtown area. But you better bring your money because it's pricey! Worth it if you are getting away to relax and enjoy the scenery. Biking and paddle boarding is pretty dominant here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I found the staff rather unfriendly in more then one occasion...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay at Balboa bay resort

Posted Jun 15, 2014
I found the resort to be very clean and the staff to be friendly and helpful. My stay was business related so there was not a lot of time to enjoy the grounds. I will return to take advantage of the resort when not on business
3 out of 5
by vaughan from London

Could have been better

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Pool area and location
Cons: More transparent about extra charges and impact of renovations
Location: On the estuary, great views, a drive to anything to do.
The hotel was under renovations during our stay, waking us up early and generally restricting facilities. Hidden charges for parking even as a guest was disappointing. Room was cleaned at inconsistent times and inconsistent levels with things like tea and coffee not being replenished.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from san diego

Under Remodel

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Staff is extremely slow
Location: quick vacay
Lovely hotel, I wish I would have known it was under a major remodel, construction noise on Sunday morning was a real bummer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great locaiton

Posted May 8, 2014
Stay was great. They were doing construction, which wasn't very interfering, but would have been nice to know beforehand. In the morning the had a complimentary coffee station set-up, but the regular coffee was empty. They have a cafe onsite, but one of the staff didn't show up, and so they were out of coffee too. That was the only negative, which was minor. Our room was great, view was great, and overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by AJ

Underimpressed.

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The rooms were comfortable and the room staff were excellent.
Cons: Directional signage for the necessary detours to get round the construction. Expedia should have know about the construction and offered an alternate
Location: No idea.
There should be information on the website about the current construction going on at the hotel. It was noisy and inconvenient. There should have been a significantly larger discount for this mess. The paint smell made me ill and also made it uncomfortable for my meeting guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We appreciate your kind comments your room and the service level of our staff, however, I apologize that you were not better informed of the current renovations taking place. I would like to assure you that we have details regarding the renovations, including the length of time, locations of impact and noise levels on and throughout our website. We thank you again for sharing your review and truly value your feedback.
3 out of 5
by sayyed from i

Nice but not 4 star hotel

Posted May 2, 2014
Location is ok, in front of the bay but smal beach there, no attractions near the center, fashion island amazing shopping mall, tanaka farm goof for strawberry tours.