Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: the valet staff were wonderful.
Cons: the noise lev3el.
Location: GREAT LOCATION. CLOSE TO BALBOA ISLAND
room was ok but we heard the people above us almost all night. the breakfast room was being remolded and the temporary continental breakfast was awful. the choice was terible. the staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thousand Oaks, CA

Disappointing experience

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Cons: Fix the thermostat and heating units.
Location: Fashion Island
When we first arrived, we notified the hotel that the thermostat in our room was not working. It was freezing cold. 40 minutes after placing a call to the front desk and sharing the problem, I called back to see the status. The front desk attendant said that she "forgot" to call and tell that engineering said they could not fix it because they lacked a piece of equipment. She offered to move us next door. Upon moving next door, the problem was worse. We phoned the front desk once again and they said that engineering would come and check it out. Engineering said that it was broken in that room too. They moved us to a 3rd room, an upgraded room, but the problem still existed. The engineer said that the hot water was broken in the heating unit. While the room was clean and well furnished, we froze the entire evening. And, our room service breakfast arrived at 7:40 even thought we had placed the card on the door with a timeframe from 7:15 - 7:30. Overall, the service was very disappointing. I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: the marina
the hotel just got remodeled and it is beautiful. the bar area was very entertaining. The food at the bar area was a bit pricey but very flavorful. The lamb meatball were very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville ca

Nice hotel take advantage

Posted Jul 14, 2014
5 star hotel in my opinion. Service was great and the views are killer. Close to downtown area. But you better bring your money because it's pricey! Worth it if you are getting away to relax and enjoy the scenery. Biking and paddle boarding is pretty dominant here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I found the staff rather unfriendly in more then one occasion...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Ned Rockford from LA

Hidden charges!

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came down to Newport from LA for a wine tasting and decided to stay here instead of drive back north. Over all very nice, Father's Day but not over populated. Firstly, we were starving and tried the hotel restaurant which was closed and only had a bar menu - at 2pm. The valet told us the hotel had cars that run a 4 mile radius, when we came to front desk to ask for a car to take us to the winery - they "had no cars that day". Everything was cool from then on until we tried to order room service at 10pm (there is NOTHING to order for delivery in the area) and they didn't have a few of the things on the already limited menu so we got these weird egg sandwiches which were not good, simply put. Then the bill came the next morning and there was another $100 added to the room, basically those egg sandwiches and here's where it gets good - $35 FOR PARKING AND A $20 SERVICE FEE on top of it all. No mention of any of this from the hotels.com site that I saw, but either way that's ridiculous, it's Newport Beach not Central Park West. To boot, the service fee included a free beer or glass of wine upon arrival, no one mentioned that when we checked in. Ouch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dave R from Ottawa

Great Stay!

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay at Balboa bay resort

Posted Jun 15, 2014
I found the resort to be very clean and the staff to be friendly and helpful. My stay was business related so there was not a lot of time to enjoy the grounds. I will return to take advantage of the resort when not on business
3 out of 5
by vaughan from London

Could have been better

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Pool area and location
Cons: More transparent about extra charges and impact of renovations
Location: On the estuary, great views, a drive to anything to do.
The hotel was under renovations during our stay, waking us up early and generally restricting facilities. Hidden charges for parking even as a guest was disappointing. Room was cleaned at inconsistent times and inconsistent levels with things like tea and coffee not being replenished.