Ratings based on 485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Mirada, California

Balboa's best

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!!!!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Crestline restaruant was wonderful had spectacular meal, not enough time for much else.
Stayed at La Quinta hotel in La Quinta two nights, wished we would have stayed those two nights at balboa bay resort. One night wasn't enough time at the resort Balboa but it was just enough time to tell that this resort is as good as Montage or the St. Regis. I will be back soon. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix

Excellent choice

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Place is real nice. The standard room however was right above the underground garage entrance so there was some vibration and noise. The restaurant was absolutely great for a Friday night dinner with live light jazz from piano and upright bass (old school) musicians.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a family resort

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly
Room shown on Expedia as, "book this room now", not even close to the actual accommodation. Room received had NO view of Bay but only view of the busy and very noisy Highway. Complained to front desk, only an upgrade with an additional cost per night was offered to move. No available parking other than valet. Self parking was full. Construction was going on near pool area with noisy high pressure hoses spraying all day. Jacuzzi jets were not functioning. Not a pleasant stay from the get go whatsoever. No functionality for children other than the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom v

Nice hotel bad party on suit above mine bad secury

Posted Apr 10, 2015
I'm very unsatisfied I rented 3 rooms because it was my girlfriends birthday,when we arrived we brought ballons to sorprise my guess , right of way we were giving a consent paper stating that were not allow to have a party, was not even on our plans, we got to our rooms surprised Her and left came back at 1am and the suit on top of mine had a huge party I we couldn't sleep all night and they never stop the party that ended up at 5;15 am after I complained I only get my resorts fees credited the least I was expecting was a night free the one that I pay to sleep that never got too , I paid good money for the only night that we couldn't sleep, my guess are very reputable lawyers , cosmetic surgeons and interior designers that unfortunally are not willing to refer anyone after that horrible night that follow by an awful headache all day next day after lock of sleep
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Hidden Costs

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Great pool and jacuzzi area. The waiters were efficient and very nice.
Cons: More detailed description of what is only allowed for "members" as opposed to guests. More family activities--the kids menu was disappointing.
Location: good restaurants nearby...beautiful beaches within a ten minute drive.
Would have been nice to know that some amenities, like beach access were for "members" only. Also, the housecleaning fee each day I would have thought was part of the resort fee--The restaurant food was decent but the service was horrible. The pool was beautiful and the best part of our stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Family in adjacent room were very loud (slamming door) and conversation into the early morning hours (in-room and hallway). Surprised the hotel was unaware of the problem. Repeatedly leaving and returning to their room between 12 midnight and 3pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, CA

Beautiful and comfortable rooms

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The staff was fabulous and very helpful during our trip. Hau, at the front desk, was especially resourceful, intelligent, and gracious.
Cons: Food at the grill restaurant was disappointing considering the excellent location. Noise from event kept us from sleeping first night.
Location: The hotel was fairly central to the beaches, shopping, and restaurants. It was also close to our daughter's apartment.
My family had a wonderful reunion and birthday trip to Balboa Bay Resort. We spent three nights at the hotel and used one of the restaurants, the coffee shop, shopped at the hotel store, and used valet parking. We also used the free wifi in the rooms. The store had a great choice in jewelry and clothing. The cafe had excellent coffee!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Great time. The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom So. Cal.

A Fine Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Spotless and excellent linens and bedding. Great staff at every level.
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: So. Cal. beach communities are in a class by themselves, and activities abound!
Attended banquet function, decided to rake a room. Process of reservation, valet and check in was seamless. Room was first class!. Banquet food was restaurant quality, and the whole evening was great, due in large part to a classy and hospitable venue. I will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2015 on Hotels.com