Ratings based on 432 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Charming, excellent location

Posted May 28, 2015
Excellent location, clean, quaint & charming, could use some interior renovation, but nothing serious. Be prepared to buy breakfast elsewhere, however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was fine except all the noise

Posted May 27, 2015
If it wasn't for the tiled echoing hallways for which you hear everything including people walking ,talking,and their bags hitting all the cracks .its not a place for any peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beach Experience

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed its location and for its historical feel.
Cons: Some newer features in the room. Refrigerator on the table was not a top notch feature.
Location: Beach, restaurants, shopping, and stores were nearby. The pier was very close with Ruby's restaurant at the end of the pier. Bike rentals nearby.
Great location for a beach experience. We stayed in the basic deluxe room, which was just fine for a one night stay. If I were staying longer, I would suggest a larger suite. Located just off the Newport Beach pier, the Balboa Inn is an excellent choice for enjoying the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The Balboa Inn, has been renovated and updated. Our room was a little warm, but was adequate for our brief stay. The staff was very friendly, and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom jeddah saudi arabia

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Alot
Location: Good Restuarants
A/c was noisy. Towels don't smell good breakfast very poor . Charged Moore money at ck out. Refuse to give ck out bill
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2015
No operational restaurant on site, but their website led me to believe that there was. If it only operates seasonally, that didn't appear to be on their website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Great location. Staff were very quick and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Lighter color in the rooms and pictures on the walls and carpet.
Location: It was close to the beach, the ferry and shopping.
I picked this hotel because of it's location. The valet who helped us with our luggage when we arrived was great, very friendly and helpful. The room was plain, no pictures and dark paint on the walls, and only one chair. But the bed was comfortable. It was not carpeted, and I prefer carpet. The continental breakfast was limited.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Disappointed

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds, breakfast, jacuzzi
Location: Bike riding, ocean, great restaurants
The hotels location is incredible, but there were too many negatives to give it a good review. We requested two double bed, but we're give a king and a blow up air mattress. The mattress deflated on me at 2 am. That may sound funny, but not when you have a day full of fun things planned. No discount was given to me, just an apology. The continental breakfast was not impressive. Coffee, on, water, bagels and muffins were poorly displayed on a table. The toaster didn't work and the coffee was empty. We will not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Cucamonga, Ca

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Stayed for Easter weekend. Great place to stay if you want to have instant access to the beach. Parking availability is great. Staff if friendly and helpful. I'll be staying here again for a weekend escape.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great location, that's it.

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the location. It is right in the middle of everything you want to do from beach to boardwalk to restaurants. Really great!!!
Cons: Not sure what they can do about the noise.Insulation?On site restaurant Siena,was not clean and the bartender also waited on the tables inattentively.
Location: Primo location! On the pennisula, near pier, beach, restaurants, stores, boardwalk, bike rentals and the ferry to Balboa Island. Really great!
We love the location and I think Balboa Inn is counting on that as they offer little else.It is so noisy it is hard to sleep. Building maintenance (patching a wall outside our room) started at 8am. the toilet ran and the bathroom fan was so noisy it was distracting. The walls must be made of paper because you could hear doors closing from the hallway at all hours. Did I mention it was noisy? They nickel and dime you on ammenities like parking and WiFi (which should be free).