Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 12, 2015
I love the hotel close to the beach It was a perfect experience
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Close to beach!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
For the price we paid I was very disappointed by the lack of amenities and service. I always stay at boutique hotels for the service and I will not pay to stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Charming, excellent location

Posted May 28, 2015
Excellent location, clean, quaint & charming, could use some interior renovation, but nothing serious. Be prepared to buy breakfast elsewhere, however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was fine except all the noise

Posted May 27, 2015
If it wasn't for the tiled echoing hallways for which you hear everything including people walking ,talking,and their bags hitting all the cracks .its not a place for any peace and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beach Experience

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed its location and for its historical feel.
Cons: Some newer features in the room. Refrigerator on the table was not a top notch feature.
Location: Beach, restaurants, shopping, and stores were nearby. The pier was very close with Ruby's restaurant at the end of the pier. Bike rentals nearby.
Great location for a beach experience. We stayed in the basic deluxe room, which was just fine for a one night stay. If I were staying longer, I would suggest a larger suite. Located just off the Newport Beach pier, the Balboa Inn is an excellent choice for enjoying the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The Balboa Inn, has been renovated and updated. Our room was a little warm, but was adequate for our brief stay. The staff was very friendly, and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jeddah saudi arabia

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Alot
Location: Good Restuarants
A/c was noisy. Towels don't smell good breakfast very poor . Charged Moore money at ck out. Refuse to give ck out bill
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2015
No operational restaurant on site, but their website led me to believe that there was. If it only operates seasonally, that didn't appear to be on their website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Great location. Staff were very quick and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Lighter color in the rooms and pictures on the walls and carpet.
Location: It was close to the beach, the ferry and shopping.
I picked this hotel because of it's location. The valet who helped us with our luggage when we arrived was great, very friendly and helpful. The room was plain, no pictures and dark paint on the walls, and only one chair. But the bed was comfortable. It was not carpeted, and I prefer carpet. The continental breakfast was limited.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Disappointed

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds, breakfast, jacuzzi
Location: Bike riding, ocean, great restaurants
The hotels location is incredible, but there were too many negatives to give it a good review. We requested two double bed, but we're give a king and a blow up air mattress. The mattress deflated on me at 2 am. That may sound funny, but not when you have a day full of fun things planned. No discount was given to me, just an apology. The continental breakfast was not impressive. Coffee, on, water, bagels and muffins were poorly displayed on a table. The toaster didn't work and the coffee was empty. We will not return.