Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Hotel staff was very helpful and generally lovely people. Thank you all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Iowa

This is the place to stay in Newport Beach

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: A Pepsi machine (to go with the Coke machine that's already there)
Location: Great spot within 3-4 blocks of the ocean, the pier and the bay.
Helpful, pleasant staff -- free breakfast on the roof overlooking the ocean and the bay -- comfortable, clean surfer-themed rooms -- great location -- cookies every day -- what more could you ask for?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chuck from Murrieta

Bay Shores

Posted Mar 9, 2014
It is a great location within walking distance of the pier and many activities including restaurants. I have stayed there 4 times and love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lovelylee from Chicago

Boutique hotel with great rates and location

Posted Feb 27, 2014
Pros: Its location and staff
I had a three-day weekend get away that was well spent in Newport Beach. Hotel is directly across from the beach and is well within walking distance to most wonderful restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I enjoyed the complimentary fruit and water bottles in the room. Definitely coming back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Antoine from Bellevue, WA

The perfect family hotel for beach vacation

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Location: Newport has a wonderful beach and a great variety of restaurants.
In my opinion, this hotel is a perfect example of what an hotel should be and many other hotels should get inspired from it. Of course, it is not a very fancy hotel. It is a simple family vacation hotel that is outstandingly maintained and managed. The rooms are cozy and very clean. The hotel itself, the furniture, etc are pretty old, kind of vintage style from the seventies but it is super well maintained and we feel well in this environment that stayed a couple of years ago.... And this hotel knows how to be modern as well: free wifi and free DVDs are available. As well as sand toys, body boards and beach towels that are also available for free...They definitely know what customer service means. The georgous beach of Newport is one block ahead, restaurants are a 5 minutes walk far away. If you want to spend a couple of days on the beach at a reasonable price, it is the place to stay...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay while on Balboa Peninsula.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
The hotel has that homey bed and breakfast feel. The staff does their utmost to cater to your needs and are there for you 24 hours a day. The facility is not new by far, but well maintained. Parking is limited, but adjoining public parking is available and the hotel feeds the meters, so no problems there. I would highly recommend the hotel and would stay there again without question.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Denver, CO

I have never felt more welcome or comfortable!

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: All the amenities are incredible but the staff was my favorite part. They were so helpful and friendly and I actually felt at home here.
Cons: We were in the handicap accessible room right by the beach equipment. So it got a little loud at times. This is probably not an issue in other rooms.
Location: It is 2 blocks from the best beach ever, with plenty of restaurants, shopping, bike rentals, and other things to do all around it!
What this hotel is lacking in swankiness, it makes up for in charm and customer service. This hotel does not have a pool or room service. It does have: Access to an amazing beach just a few blocks away The friendliest and most welcoming staff I have ever had the pleasure of meeting A great roof top deck Cute beachy decor Free parking and if there is no room in the lot, they will feed your meter for you Free Wifi / business center Free tv (live and on demand) and an epic dvd collection that you can check out 2 at a time (also free) Free breakfast that goes way above and beyond continental - they even have healthy vegan options Free beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, beach towels, etc) that you can check out Free bottles of water, fresh fruit, and fresh flowers in your room after each housekeeping service Free newspaper every morning Free cookies every afternoon - not vegan so I didn't try them but they smelled amazing! Free coffee and tea all day / all night I am really looking forward to coming back to Newport Beach, and this hotel is one of the many reasons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from San Diego

Warren and his staff were wonderfulWonderful

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Staff (Warren), cleanliness, decor, location, complimentary breakfast
Cons: parking was first come, first serve, BUT it was safe and Free parking for guests, what a concept, take a lesson BIG hotel chains!!!!
Location: beach,bay,shops, dining.....everthing within walking distance
wonderfull weekend, staff, rooms, continental breakfast, location close to all, we walked everywhere, day and night. EVERYTHING was TOP NOTCH, definitely a "10".....Small. quaint (25 Rooms)
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Todd Finkle from Spokane, WA

Nice Little Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for four days recently: Here is the Good and the Needs Improvement: Good: Location is close to the beaches and restaurants, Rent some bikes and go on boardwalk and to Balboa Island, all of the staff are very friendly, free breakfast and coffee 24/7, free fruit in rooms, free warm chocolate chip cookies every day at 3 PM..go to fridge and get some milk to go with, free parking. Needs Improvement/Weaknesses: A little pricey. rooms are small, TV is very small, no views of beach or ocean, located on busy street...traffic will wake you up in AM, hot water did not work in our first night there, but they fixed it by morning. I would stay again if given a choice.