Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Outstanding staff

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The staff is incredibly helpful. Warren went above and beyond explaining the ins and outs of the hotel as well as Newport Beach.
Location: We went on a whale an dolphin boat excursion, did some shopping, ate at some lovely local restaurants and relaxed and shell hunted at the beach.
We spent two wonderful nights here. The room was a little smaller than some other hotels, but they had so many extras that other hotels do not, such as cotton balls and q-tips, DVD player (with a large library of DVDs by the library), etc. The hotel is within a short one block walk of the beautiful Newport Beach. They also supply beach towels, chairs and boogie boards to use at the beach. Very handy. There is so much to explore on the peninsula that we have decided we need to come back for a longer stay to try more restaurants and to do more exploring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great rooftop and close to beach

Posted Oct 11, 2014
The room was comfortable and clean. The rooftop had great views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitable cozy hotel by the beach

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Amazing experience, gorgeous rooms, above and beyond service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Appreciate your review. Glad you had a great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Great place to stay. Everything is within walking distance. The sun deck is a huge plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed being up on the roof! Hope we see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly place

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Very helpful staff. Location.
Cons: Internet connection.
Very helpful staff. Comfortable quiet room. Good location close to beach. On site parking. Only issue was inability to access internet, which they are working on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
So sorry to hear that you had trouble accessing the internet while you were our guests. I hope that apart from that you had a pleasurable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Briggs from Westlake

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great operators
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kudos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, fresh cookies at 3.00pm
Cons: Nothing
Location: Newport Beach and Pier, Balboa Pier, Newport Marina
Wonderful staff, great location, clean and comfortable hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Thank you for coming to stay!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ruined my entire trip

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Apparently you have to be 25 to stay here? But they don't tell you that anywhere on the website nor do they mention it when you call the hotel. We had uo rooms booked for 5 months prior to the 4th of July and when we got to the hotel they completely kicked us to the curb because we were only 22. The management was so unbelievably rude and unreasonable. They acted like we should have known this even though every other hotel I have ever stayed at is 21+. They did not even help is find a new hotel, they literally left us homeless over a holiday weekend and acted completely snooty towards us. You work at a hotel, get over yourself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments; I am sorry that you felt that you had a bad experience at my hotel. Our policy is clearly stated on all of the online travel agent booking sites who carry our listing, and on our own website, that the age limit for making a reservation is 25 years of age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joy from Gilbert, AZ

Disappointedly disappointed

Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought this was going to be a better stay because of all the great reviews. Yes, they had all the great things like breakfast, cookies, fruit, movies, beach stuff, and a flower in my room, but I was a bit disappointed. I had a regular queen bed and the room was very small and cramped feeling. The court yard of the hotel was a bit run down looking. Warren at the front desk was a little bit irritating and fussy. He didn't seem very accommodating with my room situation. He was irritated that I was staying with my two very petite daughters (5 and 8) in a queen bed room. "The Fire Marshall won't like it." That got under my skin real quick. I was not about to pay $200 more a night for a room with two beds when we didn't need that. He also scolded my girls not to touch the water feature in the front on the hotel. "It might fall". I don't think the Fire Marshall would be happy having that hazard either. Also, they do not under any circumstances offer early check-in. Even if your room is available. A bit stingy I thought especially when you are hanging out in your hot car and on the beach waiting for the clock to strike 3. Yes, parking is free but I had to pay for parking before we checked in anyway so I think next time I will stay at a cheaper hotel behind the bay and park right in front of the beach. After all, the only thing to do at Bay Shores is sleep and at $250.00 a night I think that is pretty expensive. Disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Owner Fred, Hotel Management
Sorry that your stay was not everything you had expected but that you did enjoy the free breakfast, fruit, free movies and complementary beach equipment. Glad that you'll consider coming back to Newport Beach, as you've found, it really is a wonderful place with many things to do.