Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Bed & Breakfast near the beach

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: It's a great location near the beach with parking.
Cons: The bed could be better - softer. And a simple coffee machine that works would be nice.
We used to go to all the Four Sisters Inns and have wanted to get to the Blue Lantern for years. It's been a long time since we've traveled though. In the meantime, getting older - it's not that easy to not be in your own bed. The bed wasn't all that comfortable. Too hard. But the spa bathroom is great and the room was beautiful. The one-cup coffee maker would not function but the breakfast downstairs was very nice. I remembered it being better at other Inns. If you are looking for a beach, I'd recommend the Four Sisters Inns in Monterrey Bay instead. There's a lot more to do and see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent. Only suggestion is softer pillows. Pillows were too hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Beautiful location!

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Lantern Inn. We enjoyed the included buffet breakfast, afternoon wine and snacks, use of bike rentals as well as DVD rentals all included. The view was great from the hotel and the room was nice and clean. Would love to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nathanfrom Southern California

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
They gave us a free upgrade to a balcony room facing the bay. Absolutely beautiful! One of the warmest staff I've ever encountered. The breakfast was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: Everything, including wine and snacks at 4:30
Lovely spot, wonderful value, and very comfortable room and bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Davefrom York UK

not a hotel

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: balcony (we booked a pacific edge room)
Cons: Bathroom grubby in 202, safe deposit box is a must have, complimentary slippers and bottled water. better amenity kits
Location: Pretty good views, a couple of restaurants in walking distance, every thing else is a hike or a car journey(we actually enjoy walking so not a problem
Asked why their was no safe deposit box in the room, reply was we are not a hotel, just a B&B. On there website they actually say "just like a boutique hotel". Not impressed with that. The wine at cocktail hour is probably better to use as a condiment on french fries rather than drinking, if you''r going to beef yourself up about the wine, give decent stuff or do not bother.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tustin,

Cute boutique inn

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: I loved that our room had a jetted bathtub and fireplace. Also, the high ceilings and details made the room very unique.
Cons: I would have loved if the hotel had a pool. But it was so close to the beach and wine and cheese hour were a nice trade off.
Location: The hotel is located in Dana Point close enough to Laguna Beach.There are a ton of good restaurants a short drive away as well as many other activitie
The hotel staff is great. They were extremely friendly and were able to offer up good recommendations for dinner. The view from our room and the hotel was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ckfrom Pacific Northwest

Lovely but had an an issue

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
First the con - we asked for a roll-a-way bed and it was a blow-up mattress on the floor. It deflated during the night and our daughter had a miserable night's sleep, waking up on the the flat surface of the floor. When we told the staff at check out she apologized. We felt they should have offered a discount on the room or a future one-night discount (even $20.00) as an act of good faith, nothing was offered but an apology. --- Now the pros -- large room, wonderful location, great breakfast, helpful suggestions on where to go for walks and bike rides.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Pete Fox

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sharonfrom Dana point

Excellent value

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love this sweet hotel everything so nice only flaw I saw were some stainss on chairs in my room