Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, alberta

Shopping Trip

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Location, easy access.
Cons: Staffing, food items on menu -
Location: close to freeway, shopping
Hotel was nice, restaurant disappointing, not much on the menu and expensive. Staff not very knowledgeable. Ice machine on the main floor only. Good location. On day of checkout we went out (elsewhere) for breakfast super early and when we got back there was a maid in one of our rooms, why would you be in there when you know we are checking out and its only 9:00 am.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok hotel.. Close to beach and very close mall.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The gentleman that assisted me at the registration counter was friendly and courteous.
Cons: Communication with guest about it's services.. Particularly shuttle and mall hours. There could have been some type of music in the bar area.
Location: Great location. I would stay there again.
I checked in on a Saturday evening. The shuttle driver and receptionist at the registration counter told me that the shuttle service came and went every 30 minutes, and that the last shuttle ran until 10:30 PM. Unfortunately i had to wait 1 hour for the next available shuttle to the mall. I took the short drive to the mall to find out that all of the stores closed at 8:00 PM. Why are hotels employees telling us that there's free shuttle service to the South Coast Plaza Mall until 10:30 PM, but failing to tell us there's no sense in going shopping when the mall closes at 8:00 PM??
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Tough Luck, Charlie

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Their customer service, their reservations policy, Their attitudes.......get it?
Location: It was two miles from Newport Beach. Too bad I spent my time trying to find suitable rooms instead of enjoying the beach.
I arrived on Saturday around 2 pm. They said my room wasn't clean yet. Told me to come back at 3:30 pm or after. I had just driven for six hours to get there. I came back at 7:30 pm and was told I couldn't have the king bed room I reserved but could have a "double". I complained but to no avail After a brief argument, the clerk said they would send me to another hotel a mile away. Apparently reservations don't mean a thing to them. I stayed at Crowne Plaza Hotels all over the country at various times. Never again. Oh, by the way, they sent me to the AYERS Hotel. I was treated very well there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Great and friendly place to stay! Staff is super nice . I really wish the pool was open 24/7 .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NI

Great hotel location and standard

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: All of it
Cons: Charge for overnight parking. Wouldn't mind paying if it was secured or off site but there was a ample spaces available throughout or stay on site
Location: 8 miles from beaches,
Newly refurbished hotel with a great standard of staff care and facilities. We stayed here when looking for somewhere close to the beach.(about 8 miles away) the staff where attentive and friendly without being invasive. The facilities where great and we dined twice in the fireside grill the food was that good. Would recommend this on price, cleanliness, location, restaurant and staff throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

PERFECT LOCATION!!!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel, and for many reasons! It is so close to John Wayne Airport, South Coast Plaza mall, Laguna/Newport/Huntington beach, Disneyland, and many more! When I first booked this hotel for the first time I was kinda iffy because it only had a 3 star rating, but I read the reviews and that's what convinced me to book it! Good thing I did because the hotel and room we stayed at was great! Before it was called The Hotel Hanford, but now is Crowne Plaza. The only downside is that they charge a daily parking fee of $10 now. However, that is not going to deter me from staying there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the main lobby and hallways smelled like wet dog

Posted Jul 15, 2014
our "view of the pool" was actually of the airconditioning unit, with a very slight off-side "view" of the pool..the bed was comfortable and staff accomodating. Otherwise, very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Weekend getaway

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: They had a wardrobe closet that was in an inconvenient place so that both of us could not access it at the same time. Moving it would have helped.
Location: South Coast Plaza, Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, John Wayne Airport - they even had a flight schedule in the lobby.
Overall, this is a nice hotel. Very close to the South Coast Plaza mall, and reasonably close to Huntington Beach and Newport Beach. The hotel's restaurant had good food and not outrageously priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pleasant staff but nothing special about the hotel. Clean and great bed. Low ceilings in lobby and halls. Very warm, air conditioning was either not on or turned down very low throughout the hotel public spaces. My room was an inferno until I turned on the air. I recommended to the staff that they turn on the air prior to check in when they know they have a room booked. Restaurant was just Ok. For the price I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Comfortable, cordial, convenient

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Comfortable setting; friendly, helpful staff; pool; location to at least one large mall; closeness to SNA airport; easy parking for our rental car.
Cons: A small refrigerator and a microwave in the room would have been nice.
Location: Our main trips were to Seal Beach, LA/Hollywood, and San Juan Capistrano. We ran out of time and energy long before we ran out of places to go!!
We attended a CDLS convention and then extended our stay for a few days to see the ocean and LA. The convention was held in a hotel across the street, which made our back and forth trips extremely convenient for walking. Beside their restaurant, there's a mall with many restaurants quite close and a McDonald's next door for those "snack attacks." All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We stayed six days, and each day we felt more comfortable.