Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NI

Great hotel location and standard

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: All of it
Cons: Charge for overnight parking. Wouldn't mind paying if it was secured or off site but there was a ample spaces available throughout or stay on site
Location: 8 miles from beaches,
Newly refurbished hotel with a great standard of staff care and facilities. We stayed here when looking for somewhere close to the beach.(about 8 miles away) the staff where attentive and friendly without being invasive. The facilities where great and we dined twice in the fireside grill the food was that good. Would recommend this on price, cleanliness, location, restaurant and staff throughout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

PERFECT LOCATION!!!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel, and for many reasons! It is so close to John Wayne Airport, South Coast Plaza mall, Laguna/Newport/Huntington beach, Disneyland, and many more! When I first booked this hotel for the first time I was kinda iffy because it only had a 3 star rating, but I read the reviews and that's what convinced me to book it! Good thing I did because the hotel and room we stayed at was great! Before it was called The Hotel Hanford, but now is Crowne Plaza. The only downside is that they charge a daily parking fee of $10 now. However, that is not going to deter me from staying there again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the main lobby and hallways smelled like wet dog

Posted Jul 15, 2014
our "view of the pool" was actually of the airconditioning unit, with a very slight off-side "view" of the pool..the bed was comfortable and staff accomodating. Otherwise, very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita, CA

Weekend getaway

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness.
Cons: They had a wardrobe closet that was in an inconvenient place so that both of us could not access it at the same time. Moving it would have helped.
Location: South Coast Plaza, Huntington Beach, Newport Beach, John Wayne Airport - they even had a flight schedule in the lobby.
Overall, this is a nice hotel. Very close to the South Coast Plaza mall, and reasonably close to Huntington Beach and Newport Beach. The hotel's restaurant had good food and not outrageously priced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pleasant staff but nothing special about the hotel. Clean and great bed. Low ceilings in lobby and halls. Very warm, air conditioning was either not on or turned down very low throughout the hotel public spaces. My room was an inferno until I turned on the air. I recommended to the staff that they turn on the air prior to check in when they know they have a room booked. Restaurant was just Ok. For the price I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Comfortable, cordial, convenient

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Comfortable setting; friendly, helpful staff; pool; location to at least one large mall; closeness to SNA airport; easy parking for our rental car.
Cons: A small refrigerator and a microwave in the room would have been nice.
Location: Our main trips were to Seal Beach, LA/Hollywood, and San Juan Capistrano. We ran out of time and energy long before we ran out of places to go!!
We attended a CDLS convention and then extended our stay for a few days to see the ocean and LA. The convention was held in a hotel across the street, which made our back and forth trips extremely convenient for walking. Beside their restaurant, there's a mall with many restaurants quite close and a McDonald's next door for those "snack attacks." All of the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We stayed six days, and each day we felt more comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not helpful

Posted Jun 30, 2014
We booked a room for 3 adults & with a king & pullout couch/roll-away. When we arrived there was only 1 bed & no couch. I called down to the front desk & they said they were out of roll-aways. They were also out of 2 bed rooms. They told me to check later for availability. When I checked later they just said "sorry, we're out". They didnt offer any options. Whn I asked what they eould suggest they didnt have any options. I had to make a bed on the floor with pillows. Bad customer service -- i wouldnt stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Arcadia, CA

Good hotel for a night or two.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The interior had been recently renovated and it felt like a newer hotel once inside. The restaurant was also nice and the staff there was excellent.
Cons: The water in the Jacuzzi was only warm, not a very good way to relax in luke warm water.
Location: I went for a training class and it was conveniently located right off the freeway and close to the classroom where the event took place.
I was given a free ticket to a WordPress Camp for web development at the last minute and decided to stay at the Crown Plaza because I was a Platinum member of the Priority Club about ten years ago. I live about 50 miles away and did not feel like driving back and forth. The outside of the hotel is old and dated, however, walking into the lobby it appears to be another building. The lobby and the restaurant area were redone recently I think. The picture of the pool on the website made it look a bit larger than it actually is, but it was adequate for a little exercise. My room was on the first floor and look directly out on a car in the parking lot. The hotel did not seem to be crowded, but I was never asked what floor I wanted to be on - if given the choice I normally pick upper level floors. But the room was nice and felt like it had been renovated recently. I would stay there again if I had business in the area in the future. The staff at the restaurant was very helpful, dining there was a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by jdoe from usa

Meh

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Good location for what we needed it for
Cons: Room stuff as described.
Location: SNA airport
Super front desk staff. Could not turn on TV in room with remote (all other remote control features worked). Climate control system did not work - LED display blank, temp/fan buttons did not work. Had to put towel and suitcase over vent to keep room from getting too cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Nice hotel, I would totally recommend it. Only thing I didn't like was paying extra for parking :/