Ratings based on 908 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Needs a bar and restraunt to compete
Location: Beach, marina, zillions of things to do.
Love the location. It needs some updates to be comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom upland

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Older but well maintained hotel. Perfect lication. Nice pool and spa. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
It was great pretty, peaceful and close to walking areas and lots of things to do right by
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cherry Hill, NJ

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The location and the general Inn amenities were the good points for this hotel.
Cons: Room ventilation could be greatly improved. There is no central ventilation. Things were stuffy and there was an underlying faint odor.
Location: Included in experience.
The Dana Point Marina Inn is in a beautiful location with easy access to the restaurants and shops in the marina. Many of the local attractions are an easy drive or long walk from the Inn. They had a typical continental breakfast to start the day. The rooms were pretty clean. The bathrooms are updated and are adequate but could use some ventilation. The rooms are a little stuffy, the decor is dated and some of the furniture needs to be replaced. The carpeting is relatively new and clean. The inn in general is in good shape with a pool and several patio areas. The common areas are clean and well appointed. The fitness center only has a few treadmills and stationary bicycles. Overall the stay was pleasant and I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Murrieta

It was the perfect location for our stay.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The location was perfect.
Cons: The wifi.
Location: For us, the "baby beach" past the marina; great for toddlers, kids, paddle boarders, walking and biking trails.
It was exactly what we were looking for in a place to stay. It put us in walking distance to the restaurants, shops, harbor and park; and easy driving to beaches, Laguna Beach and Capistrano. The staff greeted us warmly and were courteous the entire time. The room was comfortable and had all we needed to relax. The only glitch was the wifi wasn't working and half the tv channels were fuzzy. We would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seal Beach, CA

Nice hotel. Great location!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Location. In the center of everything.
Cons: Its a nice enough hotel; but could use some upgrading. Decor is reminiscent of the 1970's
Location: Beach, restaurants, shops.
Had a wonderful vacation and fine meals. Also, great sightseeing area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but room not great

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Air conditioning unit was horribly noisey, so couldn't leave it on overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Nice Little marina hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2015
I stayed here with my partner in March 2015 for one night as part of a west coast trip. It's a lovely hotel right on the marina with some great restaurants serving seafood. You can even see Seals lazing on the piers. The hotel staff were very helpful as we had an issue with our Expedia reservation which was sorted without too much trouble. The hotel has a feel to it similar to an old peoples home in a good way. It has a nice pool and area. The rooms were clean and spacious. It was a bit noisy but that was due to three wedding parties there on a Saturday night. The breakfast was alright but don't expect too much in terms of a continental brekkie. I would stay here again. Nice stop between LA and San Diego.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Near the boat to Catalina Island

Posted Mar 24, 2015
One of the best things about this hotel is that it is near the Dana Point Marina, Doheny State Park, and one of the boats to Catalina Island. The hotel is old but clean. The breakfast has quite a variety of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson

Great location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
The hotel is situated in the Heart of Dana Point Marina. Easy walk to all the restaurants there. The staff was attentive and helpful. The hotel rooms have been renovated. I would rate this hotel as 3.5 stars rather than the 2 stars as shown on Expedia.