Ratings based on 1,201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The rooms were not that impressive for the price. Pool area was great but service at the pool was very slow. Location was amazing. The maid service was great and the turn down service nice. So expensive for what you would expect the rooms to look like but very convenient and the cast was pretty nice and available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Everything cost money!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
You need to pay for everything. The hotel is decent. Room clean and staff were super nice. The environment is what we expected, Disney! We will go back again if the pricing is lower!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from walnut creek

Ordinary hotel for the price of a Grand Luxe hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We checked in nice hotel but very dark drab d├Ęcore. Rooms on the small side. When we checked-in we had only booked for one night but they told us it would be no problem to extend our stay. As it turned out, when we woke up the next morning my two-year-old son was vomiting all morning. I went down to reception to book us in for another night. I was told the hotel was booked out. They gave me a signed picture of Woody & Buzz light-year for my sick son. I was so stressed, my husband was at a business meeting 2 hours away and I was stranded with a sick 2 year-old & a very bored 4 year old. When I went online to try and find alternative accommodation I saw our room at the Grand Californian for sale for $200 more than we had paid for it. So, Disney turfed a sick child and his family out on the street for the sake of making more money!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

dissapointimg hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: It was close to the oarks
Cons: Knock it down and rebuild to a proper 4/5 star hotel
We regularly stay at grand floridean in disney florida and as their flag ship hotel never have had a problem This hotel is old and dirty . Food left on floor outside room for 2 days We booked concierge and found the food selection poor average was a choice if 3 sandwhiches a scone , even their staff commented how poor it was We had to buy breakfast cerials because the choice was only 3 cerials and none our children liked We feel totally ripped off by the experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Its Disneyland where you sleep over!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Theme, attention to detail, staff are amazing, peaceful oasis in the mayhem that is a visit to Disneyland!
Cons: The rooms are getting a bit tired but hey, its still awesome.
Location: The hotel adjoins Disney's California Adventure park (their monorail runs literally through the hotel building). Minutes walk to both parks, downtown.
What else is there to say? You get to sleep at Disneyland and walk in and out of the California Adventure Park (with your park hopper pass of course) at your whim. Tired and want to nap for lunch, you can do that. Want to have breakfast with Chip and Dale in the hotel Resturant? Of course you can do that. Want a massage after a long day on your feet, no problem. This place was a dream for those that love all thinks Disney...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Cons: Tub was clogged for a couple days, but was fixed quickly after reported
Had fun, food was great, and looking forward to when we can come back and make more memories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach Ca

Must do at least ones.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The convinces to walk into the park without waiting in the long lines.
Cons: The rooms could use some upgrading
Location: The location is great.
This is my second time staying at the hotel, staff are very helpful. They went out of their way to assist me with decorating the room for my little one. The Hotel is nice some what olds school but I think the rooms may need some upgrades. But as far as cleanliness, not sure how many times they clean but we in the morning we left and came back around 10 and the room was super clean and it seems as every time we left and came back they would come into the room and cleaned it. It was a great feeling. Over all this is a great hotel and I would defiantly stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Underwhelmed

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We arrived late in the evening , it was an adaquate experience, not what I expected for what we paid. I was underwhelmed. Except for the fabulouse check in clerk, nobody else seemed interested in offering any service, saving grace, we had a wonderful & special day in Disneyland the next day and all was forgotten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday trip for my grandson

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff who spoke to my grandson
Everything went well from the check to our check out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

A pleasant stay.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: As above.
Cons: As above and perhaps the maps of the parks could list where in the future electric wheelchairs can be recharged.
Location: We only focussed on the 2 parks as well as Downtown Disney for the 4 days we were there.
The Disney Hotel California Hotel was the friendliest and efficient hotel right in the heart of Disneyland. Convenient for Downtown Disney as well as Disneyland and California Disneyland entrances. Hiring of the electric wheel chairs made our stay even better as my wife hurt her knees and this method of travel for her was ideal to seeing both parks and not missing out. Disabled facilities both at the hotel and in the parks was exceptional although more power points around the parks and downtown disney should be installed for those electric wheel chairs that run out of power (as ours did) during the day. The help and information from the staff at the hotel was wonderful. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food facilities nor did we use the pool. We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the parks and families as it is very family friendly.