Ratings based on 1,442 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: LOCATION TO PARK WAS GREAT
Cons: MORE DISNEY FEEL
HAD A GREAT TIME, CHECK-IN WAS SMOOTH. LOVE DISNEYLAND SO MUCH, JUST TOO EXPENSIVE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Not bad, but better values elsewhere

Posted Jan 24, 2015
This was the first time I stayed here. The hotel is gorgeous, and staff are absolutely phenomenal. Unfortunately our room was not in top shape: the sliding door to the balcony would not lock because of a broken fitting, and all of the beautiful craftsman style light fixtures were askew, as if someone had been throwing a large ball around in the room. The decor also just seemed a bit tired. Normally I would say that this is just fine, but not for the prices that are charged here. Even though we got a steep discount (our room worked out to about $300/nt), there are far better values that are close by to Disney. The convenience factor was great, but again, I'm really not sure it was worth it. Also, we tried to use one of the 2 hot tubs in the evening and they were both absolutely crammed with little kids and tired-looking parents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always a good choice.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
We've been staying here about 3 times a year while visiting the resort. The location is great and the staff is always very attentive and helpful. We did notice that while ordering room service for breakfast, then tend to come earlier, which isn't always the best (especially if you're still asleep). Great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

I can't believe this is in Anaheim

Posted Jan 24, 2015
The entire experience was a very pleasant one, just starting with little touches like them having your name on a card for you when you arrive at the front gate. They really go out of their way to make you feel important from the get go. The outside decorations and trees really give you the impression you've suddenly arrived at a pine Lodge (like flagstaff) and the quality of the hotel is top notch. The staff are incredibly polite and the rooms are very clean. So clean even that they don't have don't have any smell of cleaning products. Just a pleasant fresh smell. Despite the hotel being full of families with young children, it was very very quiet in the room. Overall awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No kings available

Posted Jan 23, 2015
I booked this hotel for our honeymoon, and specifically chose a king room. At check in we were given a room with two queens, because the hotel only has 40 rooms with a king, out of 1000. The note about availability was in the fine print. Great for families, but kind of a let down for a honeymoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best Disneyland Hotel but misses the mark

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location, Design
Cons: No mini-bar in the room? Seems strange for a Four Star hotel. I know it's low season but I could sense the low staff levels because of wait times.
Very long check in - Front desk agent seem to just follow the steps, no genuie connection. She updated my address in the system based on my DL even though it was old and didn't even ask if it was correct. Bad record keeping. I do love the system of giving the guests the key and text them when it's ready so you can go directly to hotel. Although that service should including automadically sending bags to guest room (which we had stored at the bell desk) We spent the day at the park so I shouldn't have to wait another 30 minutes to get my bags.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, Ca

Expensive, but worth it if you can afford it.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Location: Easy to get in and out of. Made a quick 15-20 minute drive to Medieval Times for the dinner show
Check it was very smooth and pleasant. All staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking a courtyard and above the passing monorail which did not disturb us. Easy access into Downtown Disney and California Adventure. Disappointed in "Magic Mornings". They let you into the parks and hour early but you cant access the full park until the regular opening time. Next time I will wait until regular opening time and use the time to have a pleasant breakfast instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Disney Experience

Posted Jan 16, 2015
At check in they did not have a king size bed available as we thought reserved with Expedia. The person checking us in asked a supervisor if we could use a room with a King sized bed that would require a slight upgrade and was approved. After reviewing the Expedia reservation a King size bed was "requested". We did not catch that and now know Expedia does not guarantee the number and size of bed requests. Very important to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The convenience of the location as well as the continuity of the Disney experience for our entire 3-day visit.
Cons: Possibly update to temperpedic mattresses as mine seemed to feel a little stiff.
Location: The two Disney parks and Diwntown Disney!!!!
The staff at the Grand Californian was wonderful. From the valet team, front desk, housekeeping, bell services to the on-site restaurant staff. Top notch all the way from the start to the end of the day. Even the folks who were up at 4am when I came down early to get some work done, while my family slept. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who has small kids, as my sister was able to put her toddler down for a nap without having to deal with a shuttle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

on site Disney hotel with special access

Posted Jan 14, 2015
For a quick family getaway we picked the grand California hotel since it is on property and walkable to both theme parks. We upgraded to a suite with Conceirge level service. Room 5014 has a nice corner view of pools plus nightly firework display. Only disappointment is in the lack of choices room service menu offers.