Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oceanside, CA

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The view was amazing, the location is awesome, the suite was gorgeous, the staff was super friendly, courteous & helpful & all for a great price.
Cons: Bathrobes in rooms
Location: Walking distance to Doheny beach & Dana Point Harbor & restaurants.
Originally, I had reserved a room at the Seaside Inn. From the moment we pulled in, I was like, this has to be a mistake. The office stunk. I thought maybe- just maybe the room is nice, so we checked it out. The room stunk, it was ghetto, I did not want to sleep in the bed, or even touch the comforter. So we checked out & called Expedia. Barbara was our savior. She answered the phone "how can I make you smile?" I was pleased with that, because I was unhappy with my room & I wanted a refund. A refund would have taken 2 weeks, or she could find me a different room. We paid an additional forty seven dollars for an Ocean view King Suite at the Doubletree. We were SO much happier! There were 2 rooms, which was great, because he stays up later than me, so he could watch tv in the other room. The view was amazing! There was patio furniture on the balcony, I spent a lot of time out there. I can't wait to come back & stay when we get married in August :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Antioch, Ca

Parking fee of $22 not disclosed

Posted Mar 10, 2015
The parking fee was not disclosed tell arrival and the room was very small. No complimentary coffee in lobby and charged at the restaraunt for coffee in the morning. I asked the front desk about the parking few being undisclosed and they said sorry we don't make adjustments on the parking fee. The hotel is clean but the beds are very small and the bathroom is also small. I usually like Doubletree Hotels but I was very disappointed in this one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an ok property

Posted Feb 17, 2015
This hotel is in need of a renovation. It's just above acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom venice Ca

Great hotel and location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Loved EVERYTHING about the hotel except that the hot tub was out if service when my gf and I went down for some relaxation, ONLY unpleasant surprise! Great environment, great people, GREAT STAY :) 10 stars!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach but horrible staff...

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The valet guy was the best part of the hotel. The rest of the staff was no good.. Extra charges for wine glasses to be brought up to the room... The ice machines were so far away.. The hotel service was horrible.. Charges for parking..i will not stay here again. And to top it off my ocean view was blocked by trees..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but rooms need updating

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location....and staff
Location: It's across from Doheny State Park and a short walk to the Dana Point Harbor.
This was my second stay there. You are literally across from the park and the beach which is the best part. The rooms are a little worn, but they have displays indicating a remodel is coming. After paying for a beach view upgrade of $20 and the valet charge of $20 (even if you self park), the rate was not that reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reliable brand preparing for a scheduled make over

Posted Feb 1, 2015
This was a last minute choice after arriving back from Catalina Island too tired to drive further. We booked online from the parking lot. The staff was friendly, especially the valet parker even though we self parked. Our king room with suite was roomy enough and in need of an update, but bed was comfortable. Only bad part was door had space at top corner which allowed hallway light into the room. For one night, given location, etc. it was just fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cat litter smell

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The hotel was dirty and smelled like wet cats. Nice ocean view three blocks away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: renovation
Great staff, but hotel needs a renovation. Bathroom fixtures were falling apart.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange CA

Got what I paid for

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Rate, warm cookies, proximity to attractions
Cons: Remodel immediatley.
Read the reviews before booking.. but it was either this, a crappier Air BnB or the Ritz (which I couldnt afford). At the end of the day.. i got what I paid for. But to call the room I got a suite is far from it. yes the past reviews all mentioned how dated the rooms were.. but no one commented on how crappy the bed was, the pillows were.. and most importantly.. how thin the walls were. I heard everything anyone could say as they were walking by. the do not disturb sign was on and a male employee still put his card through the door and opened the door.. only for me to yell at him. I wouldnt stay here again. but it wasnt the worst place in the world.