Ratings based on 634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just an ok property

Posted Feb 17, 2015
This hotel is in need of a renovation. It's just above acceptable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom venice Ca

Great hotel and location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Loved EVERYTHING about the hotel except that the hot tub was out if service when my gf and I went down for some relaxation, ONLY unpleasant surprise! Great environment, great people, GREAT STAY :) 10 stars!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach but horrible staff...

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The valet guy was the best part of the hotel. The rest of the staff was no good.. Extra charges for wine glasses to be brought up to the room... The ice machines were so far away.. The hotel service was horrible.. Charges for parking..i will not stay here again. And to top it off my ocean view was blocked by trees..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but rooms need updating

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location....and staff
Location: It's across from Doheny State Park and a short walk to the Dana Point Harbor.
This was my second stay there. You are literally across from the park and the beach which is the best part. The rooms are a little worn, but they have displays indicating a remodel is coming. After paying for a beach view upgrade of $20 and the valet charge of $20 (even if you self park), the rate was not that reasonable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reliable brand preparing for a scheduled make over

Posted Feb 1, 2015
This was a last minute choice after arriving back from Catalina Island too tired to drive further. We booked online from the parking lot. The staff was friendly, especially the valet parker even though we self parked. Our king room with suite was roomy enough and in need of an update, but bed was comfortable. Only bad part was door had space at top corner which allowed hallway light into the room. For one night, given location, etc. it was just fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cat litter smell

Posted Jan 29, 2015
The hotel was dirty and smelled like wet cats. Nice ocean view three blocks away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: renovation
Great staff, but hotel needs a renovation. Bathroom fixtures were falling apart.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Orange CA

Got what I paid for

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Rate, warm cookies, proximity to attractions
Cons: Remodel immediatley.
Read the reviews before booking.. but it was either this, a crappier Air BnB or the Ritz (which I couldnt afford). At the end of the day.. i got what I paid for. But to call the room I got a suite is far from it. yes the past reviews all mentioned how dated the rooms were.. but no one commented on how crappy the bed was, the pillows were.. and most importantly.. how thin the walls were. I heard everything anyone could say as they were walking by. the do not disturb sign was on and a male employee still put his card through the door and opened the door.. only for me to yell at him. I wouldnt stay here again. but it wasnt the worst place in the world.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Visalia, CA

Great location, facilities not so great.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location was great, the staff we interacted with were very nice and helpful, especially Dave the maintenance guy who we met a couple of times.
Cons: Fit and finish could be improved, maybe more maintenance staff to be able to stay on top of the repairs needed.
Location: Very close to the beach, Harbor just up the road, close to the freeways, and easy to get to.
I've stayed at other DoubleTree properties and this particular one was not nearly as nice. The biggest disappointment was the level of disrepair in the bathroom. Chipped/stained tub, stains on the wallpaper, and the door did not close properly. We also needed to use the sofa bed and when we opened it up, there were sheets on it but not really made up nice so we weren't sure if they had been used before or not, or if the person who made it just did so sloppily. We asked for the door to be repaired and that was done so very quickly. There were also no additional blankets for the sofa bed in the room. If I had paid less for the room I wouldn't have been so disappointed, but for the money spent, the property should have been better thus the disappointing overall rating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great staff.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
pictures on net misleading,suits very small,small bathrooms,aminites do not really exist,swiming pool a little bigger than a bath tube,restaurent very causal with no view, the staff were awesome.