Ratings based on 1,331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best 4th of July experience

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great hospitality team. Each member took a special effort to make our stay special. They exceeded all of our expectations. Thank you for taking such great care of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thanks very much for your kind words. We pride ourselves on engaging service, so I'm thrilled to hear of your experience. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

The hotel has nice and well maintained grounds.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: It is clean and comfortable.
Cons: Incidentals are too expensive, such as the use of wiFi which should be free.
Location: Good location, easy drive to beach, good restaurants around,
Uneventful; it served as a place for sleeping, which is what we desired...The few meals were OK, even though a bit expensive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Nice hotel, and does not feel crowded.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This hotel is nice enough for my daughter to say she would like to stay here again. There is no self parking, valet parking only, but very easy access for driving any where in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thanks for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you had such a nice time and look forward to welcoming you again. Sincerely, Lucas Schumacher
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Four Star Elegance at at Two Star Price

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Amenities, decor, location and price
Cons: Nothing
Location: Quick shuttle to Fashion Island and Balboa Island
We decided to extend our vacation by one day and booked this hotel because of the price. Although it is located close to the airport, they had a free shuttle that took us to Fashion Island and Balboa Island. The hotel was beautiful, staff friendly, and the room very clean and comfortable. I would stay here again in a heart beat!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Good check in and they allowed us to eat breakfast in the bar to watch the world cup...very accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Elsinore, CA

Nice Hotel close to a variety of things to do.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The location was decent.
Cons: Have self parking available at no charge like the listing advertised.
I chose this hotel under the impression that there was free parking. However I arrived at the hotel and there was no self parking allowed, only Valet parking. While the Valet parking fee was cheaper than the parking fees at other hotels in the area it was still and unexpected fee. The listing said that parking was free. Other than that the hotel was nice and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Newport Beach

Short but wonderful.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Nice D├ęcor. Quiet.
Just spend the night. Rolled in late. Had a nice dinner and a couple of drinks with my lady. Food was good at the "Bamboo" , not great, but good. Although the French Onion Soup was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Lucas Schumacher, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed and look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff. Sincerely, Lucas
3 out of 5
by JLo

Fairmont Experience

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The only thing I liked about the hotel was the TV in the room.
Cons: All of the above. I was upgraded to a suite for $60 extra and my suite had the Air Conditioning system for the entire hotel sitting outside my balcony
Location: The location is horrible. There is nothing much to do around that area. This is the reason how they make you pay $30 for parking per day.
I always stay at the Fairmont hotels chain because of their reputation. Not to mention, I am a member of the President's Club. This Fairmont hotel is not at the level that it should be when it comes to some of their facilities. The pool had a lot of leaves and it is not cleaned constantly. The service in the pool area was non-existent. I would go out to take sun and a lot of used towels were laying around all over the place. They need to have available staff in that area. Newport Beach is very expensive and the hotel doesn't meet the criteria. The parking in the hotel is $30/day. Other hotels in the area include the parking. At the end of the day you spend way too much money by staying there. The food at the restaurant was not too good. I would rate it a C. The showers are a bit outdated. Also, the Jacuzzi was being repaired for about 4 days. I staid there for almost 3 weeks and did not receive a perk. Other people staying there received vouchers for the Spa and other amenities. Those other people were staying there for 1 night only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by judith from los angeles

Spur of the moment

Posted May 23, 2014
I decided, on a whim, to stay overnight at newport beach, but i needed something pet friendly and reasonable. This fit the bill. The pet fee was not outrageous and there is a nice walking area around for you and your pet. Room was clean. Pool not that big, good for kids. Restaurant food was nice (steamed halibut). Staff was friendly. Hotel interiors looks a bit dated to me but still in nice condition. Parking is $20/car/day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not quite a 4 star....

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: You need to pay attention to the little things - that is what makes you a 4 star. You don't really rate 4 stars based on my experience
Location: Nothing to do near by and you overcharge for everything in the hotel
I was dissapointed in the hotel. I made several basic requests (clock in the room, keys that work) but never got a clock. Shouldn't all rooms have basic clocks. the coffee service was not refreshed every day in the rtoom. Our keys did not work most of the days and I could not use the workout facilites or get in my room several times. had to go down to the main desk repeatedly but it kept happening. The staff was extremely friendly, apologetic and helpful. But the problems nevert got resolved. The Hertz experience was absolutely terrible and the man at the desk was rude. I will never use Hertz again and I gave them my feedback directly.