Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Lovely stay!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: I love the open, airy feel in the reception area, wide hallways, and the comfortable beds with two firmness options. The staff is very friendly!
Very comfortable accommodations in this older but very well maintained hotel. We have stayed here numerous times and have never been disappointed. It's close to Dana Point, the beach, great shopping and wonderful restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

A great hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Exceeds our expectations every time. Good value for money.
Location: Beach is 10 minutes drive away. Good local restaurants. Boutiques for shopping with a free public carpark in the main street which leads down to beach
We arrived early and were able to check in to our room straight away, 2 hours before the official check in time. This is our third stay and this hotel improves every time we come. Rooms always very comfortable, but this time the breakfast was a lot better. We will come back again when we are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom california

Great hotel experience

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean and great breakfast.
Location: Right off the 5 interstate and convenient to all the beaches and towns.
The Holiday Inn express was a pleasant surprise. We arrived to a friendly welcome and easy check in. The room was fresh smelling when we entered and very clean. The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and i had a great night sleep. The room is small, but has a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, also a balcony. Also a convenient location off the 5 interstate. Breakfast had something for everybody. Very convenient and will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Very pleasant stay

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The hotel is well presented, the desk staff are excellent.
Cons: Re-train the maids!
Location: Although there is little to do in the immediate area it is only a short distance to downtown and the beach. Check out The Fisherman's restaurant on th
The hotel is very welcoming, the facilities excellent and the breakfast tempting. Although the room was generally very clean we were disappointed to find hair in the bath drain, which rose to the surface when the plug was removed. This happened twice and could not have come from us because of the colour. However we did not let this affect our general impression of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Henderson / Las Vegas NV.

nice hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: nice property, very clean and comfortable.
Cons: change ice machines for once that aren't so noicey
Location: Location not too bad, Beach, bike riding, and a great place for breakfast close by, train station, downtown San Clemente and 15 min. from Dana Point.
very nice and clean property, breakfast could use improvement avoid rooms 200 and 201 or any room close to the ice machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Bernardino Mtns

Always a good room

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We try and find a Holiday Express when possible. The rooms are clean, we love the beds and pillows, and the breakfast is always good. This was our 2nd stay here and will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room was very clean, staff very friendly, breakfast looked good but we only ate bagels, it is at the back of a strip mall, but we weren't interested in walking around the neighborhood, very close to the freeway, but we were never bothered by any traffic noise
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Close to everything but away from downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Loved this hotel! I was traveling alone and felt very comfortable and safe. Nice staff..very friendly and helpful. I love the little details like pillow selection. Breakfast was great with bacon & pancakes! And free WiFi! For the price you can't beat it! I have stayed several other places and this was the best so far. It can get a bit noisy at night but I use my iPod to sleep which I suggest to all travelers!