Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas nevada

Not impressed

Posted Jun 28, 2015
This was referred to me by a friend. There is a 50 character minimum so I have to keep it short, see my review on tripadvisor for details. Kids do not eat free as advertised, no breakfast or lunch as advertised, rooms are very small. Requesting a late checkout was a debacle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Please accept our apology again since our restaurant is in the process of refreshing their look and needed to be closed during the morning time and this information is posted on our website but I will double check it again. As you've mentioned, we did credit your stay appropriately for the number of kids you had and more for the breakfast time and I did check and saw your restaurant bill was credited also for dinner time but if you don't see this credit, please let us know and we will take care of it right away. We are also glad that you decided to join the IHG reward program because it has a lot of benefits and one of them is a late check out if available. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guthrie, OK

Amazing hotel close to the beach!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Beautiful ambiance, perfect location, nicely priced for Laguna Beach, exclusive feeling
Cons: Offer free breakfast & free parking- the hotel room is expensive enough it should come with free breakfast & free parking like most other Holiday Inns
Location: Across the street from the beach, near art galleries, restaurants, grocery store, easy access with parking in rear
Our family of four enjoyed our stay at this beautiful "across the street from the beach" hotel. We were a little upset to pay for parking but once we parked in the hotel parking we didn't need to drive anywhere else. We walked down to the beach and tide pools from the hotel and then went for a lovely stroll through their town taking in all of the many beautiful art galleries. The children, 7 and 11, never complained once about all of the walking because they were so busy enjoying the splendors Laguna Beach has to offer. This hotel is the best one we have stayed in while in Laguna Beach. It has an adorable gazebo to sit and enjoy reading a book in covered in flowers and lit up at night. The gazebo is pool side with multiple other types of seating surrounding the pool. The upper levels have pretty hanging plants. The ambiance is splendid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good location, but noisy.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Be a bit more prepared for incoming quests and be friendly about it if you are not.
Location: Beach
The location of this hotel was good. Close to beach, shops and restaurants. The staff was not very friendly and our room was not ready when we arrived at 4:30pm. They gave us another room that was way in the back and the air conditioning was not on and the room was very hot. We asked for another room. The desk receptionist didn't seem to what to give us a room that the other receptionist was telling her was available. It was odd. All rooms are very tight quarters inside and out. At night two men were talking very loud right outside our room from 2:00 am, and about 2:30am I went out to tell them to be quite. The place is not very big so I'm sure others heard them. For the most part it is a pretty location with the pool in the middle. Rooms were not the most updated, except for the bathroom/shower was nice. All in all good location made up for the other things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Best hotel near beach and restaurants

Posted Jun 17, 2015
We had the best stay here. Great staff and wonderful restaurant on site. Best thing was that we were close to beach. We would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit and hope you have a wonderful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Holiday inn.... hotel close to the beach....

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Location near beach and grocery... And away from the bustle
Cons: Listed above
Location: Walk and play on beach. Walk to village
Remember... It is a holiday inn. The hotel has a an old world charm...but it is what it is. Neighbors' footsteps upstairs are loud, doors closing in the hallways are startling, window a/c s are loud, phones handset didn't work, door opened into the bed, the " kids eat free" is contingent on whether the downstairs proprietor is serving food in the first place, otherwise, once you get your head around all that... It's a nice comfortable beach getaway... Can't help but think there might be better choices for our next trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Lovely hotel in a fabulous location

Posted Jun 5, 2015
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in June 2015 Good points - very friendly and welcoming staff, lovely decor, very nice cozy rooms, free refreshments include diet coke bottled water and popcorn, lovely garden surrounding pool, great location just across the road from the beach Bad points - in fact not very much this is a lovely hotel - no breakfast was available in hotel restaurant despite a board outside saying breakfast! Also after 8pm the pool was closed which is fine except the communal seating area in the garden was around the pool hence here was nowhere to having a drink and chill out after 8pm decides your room and reception. Also there is a charge for parking which seems a little unfair at $15 per day when you are staying at the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cari

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Cari, Thank you for scoring us a 4 star! We appreciate it. Have a wonderful day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The Good The Bad and The Ugly

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Near the beach
Cons: Lots & lots
Location: The beach....
I've been staying at this hotel for over 20 years when in Laguna Beach, not much has changed over that time apart from a fence being erected around the pool, probably a legal requirement. It is an older style property on two floors with suites at one end on a third floor. Most of the rooms face a central courtyard with a lovely pool and garden area. (beware pool is 8ft deep at one end). The property is located on the Pacific Coast Highway (very busy but traffic can't be heard in the rooms) just across the street from steps leading down to a beautiful beach. The property is well maintained, the domestic staff seem to work 24/7. Most of the rooms are okay but there are some very bad rooms that are to be avoided: rooms 19 23 60 & 64 are in dark corridors near clanking gates. Room 10 is next to the staff laundry where bedding and towels are washed at all hours, I had the misfortune of staying in this room once! There is an alfresco restaurant located at one end of the courtyard which can be very noisy late into the evening- rooms 73 74 75 33 & 34 are right next to the restaurant, when I say right next to I mean people are sitting about 6 feet from your room! Room 34 also has the disadvantage of being next to the Gym and guest laundry. Although I'm a member of IHG Loyalty Club and am a returning customer every time I check in to this property I am allocated one of these bad rooms until I complain and miraculously a better room materializes!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Jherek, Thank you for your detailed review on your stays with us over the past 20 years and for being a valued IHG rewards member. We appreciate your continued loyalty, which helps me think that we must be doing something right. I do apologize for the shortcoming of our hotel that you have experienced in the past but hope during future stays we can progressively amend some negative views you had mentioned. Our boutique hotel is smaller compared to other hotels but we our best to care for and maintain it for our guests. We are also undergoing some room updates for a fresher look, which we hope you enjoy during your next stay with us. Thank you again for all your feedback and for taking the time out of your day to let us know how we are doing. Have a wonderful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Seth from Flagstaff, AZ

A nice hotel near the beach

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was very nice though the rooms were tiny. The staff was very courteous and friendly. The room bathroom had a very large shower and sink area, but a very small sleeping area. The pool was very refreshing and we were only a 2 minute walk to the beach. I left a pair of shorts and they called me to let me know I had left them. Upon asking if they could send them to me, they wouldn't send them unless i sent a prepaid UPS slip. For the price of the rooms for 2 nights, I'm pretty sure they could have afforded it. They also do not tell you about the parking fee ahead of time which turned out to be about 16 dollars a day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Seth, Thank you for providing us a review on your recent stay with us. It's good to know that my staff was courteous and friendly and able to help you retrieve your shorts. I do apologize about the miscommunication about our parking fee, but I can assure you that we do post it on all our websites and we also let our guests know upon check in so their are no surprises. The pool is very refreshing especially with the heatwave we have been having and the beach looks and feels amazing. I hope you can stay with us again in the near future. Have a wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price for a great location.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Location is the selling point. No car rental needed.
Cons: General maintenance in guests rooms.
The hotel is nothing fancy if you are used to four and five star places. The price/location combination make this hotel a winner. The hotel is directly across the PCH from the ocean and a short walk to the heart of the Laguna Beach shopping district. Great restaurants also within walking distance though the restaurant located on property was as good as any off property. And better than some! Staff service is excellent with a friendly hello offered every time you pass the front desk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by hilaguna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. It's good to hear feedback from our guests since it helps us improve. I am happy to hear that my staff was friendly and took care of you during your stay. Our location is great since it is close in proximity to the beach, shops, and restaurants in the area. We hope you stay with us again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.