Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novato

Great Location close to shopping and beach

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and very convenient to every thing in San Clemente walking or driving.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Fisherman's Restaurant and Beach Cafe and always have something going on i.e. Ocean Festival. Also close to main street Del Mar
My daughter lives in San Clemente and was moving to a new apartment reason why we needed to stay for 5 days to help her. Also very pet friendly and everyone at the hotel was so pleasant and very helpful. Our room location was perfect and very convenient when we had to take our pet out to do her business. We plan to stay at this hotel every time we visit our daughter.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boca raton FL

Well located close to downtown.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Second floor "ocean view"room was a joke. May be better from third floor. Second floor room suffered from noise from above. Recommend third floor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valencia, Ca.

Musty room smell

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Not very pleased with hotel room. It was a king bed suite with an ocean view. As soon as we entered it smelled musty, moldy. We though maybe it needed to be aired out but nope... It's in the room, possible the air conditioner contributes. We were nauseous everytime we stayed more than an hour in room. I had a headache from the smell. They had no other rooms so we were kind of stuck. We only stayed for one night. Also the tv didn't work. However the hotel staff fixed it quickly. It's a nice location but I would rather pay a bit more than ever stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

close to downtown

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, close to downtown.
Cons: can't think of anything.
Location: location right off the downtown strip. Definitely eat at Hapa J's and get some wine and cheese at the Cellar.
Really simple but clean and nice hotel walking distance to downtown and restaurants and about a 15-20 minute walk to the pier/beach. It's right off the I-5 but you can't hear the freeway from your room. My husband and I (30s, no kids) wanted a quick getaway. He surfed a bit off the pier, and there's cute stores and restaurants on the main downtown road. Hotel staff are amazing, really polite. And the room was super clean, we slept really well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas, texas

Nice! walking distance to everything!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Walking distance to beach, restaurants and shops!! Very comfortable and clean. Only 3 floors so need to be on 3rd to have beach view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Very good! .
1 out of 5
Recommended
by scott

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Medford, OR

Great location, terrible internet

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Location, parking
Cons: Internet speeds and connectivity
Location: Great restaurants downtown (Iva Lee's, Sonny's, Brick, South of Nick's) + the Pier Bowl (Fisherman's, Sunset Grill, Beach Garden Café, La Galette)
The location for this hotel is ideal -- an easy 20 minute stroll down to the pier bowl and right in the middle of the bustling downtown village with great restaurants and shopping within mere minutes. The room itself was pretty spacious and had a nice balcony and view; microwave and fridge made easy work of left-overs. The bathroom is spacious but all-in-one (no separate vanity) and the lighting in there is dim. The front door is hard to work with luggage -- we had to exit one at a time. Our biggest issue was with the internet: the speed was like dial-up during peak times, and we got bumped off the server frequently. Very frustrating! With today's use of streaming and such, it's time to upgrade their bandwidth. Other than those issues, it was a decent room for the price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Vs. Holiday Inn Express

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Close to the pier, along with an amazing Jacuzzi.
Cons: It would be nice to offer complimentary breakfast.
Location: The beach, bars, restaurants, & shopping
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. This hotel is much easier to find than the Holiday Inn Express if you are not familiar with the area. The Holiday Inn Express offers free breakfast and their staff is sweet. Overall the hotel was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Angie from North Hollywood

Not enough parking for guest

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice basic hotel. No continental breakfast If you move your car to go to resturant you will have to locate street parking as the lot is very small. If you like bars and bar hopping its a great spot If you want to eat you need to drive to Dana Point or Irvine which is a bit far. overall the hotel is great for relaxing had a small patio enjoyed the sunshine and the ocean view the pool area is close to the street and looked nice . The elevator is super slow and there are no obvious stairs. ( they must have stairs just there were no signs to direct you to them and front desk was always busy...