Ratings based on 869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Tx

Clean and lovely hotel, a short drive to beach!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: This hotel is a short drive away from some wonderful beaches, and almost across the street from Fashion Island, which I hear is a big draw for some.
Cons: This hotel charges for everything. From parking your car, to wireless internet in your room, and there is no complimentary breakfast.
Location: Balboa Island is a 10 minute drive away and beautiful. You can see sea lions at the pier, and that is more than worth the trip to me.
This was a lovely hotel with very nice amenities. Comfortable beds and pleasant hotel employees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oregon coast

Lovely hotel with excellent location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
My favorite Newport hotel since it opened in 1962. Now newly renovated it has an upbeat feeling perfect for young & old. Numerous efficient & friendly staff eager to please. Excellent location near beach, shopping, restaraunts & all Orange County has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Arrowhead, CA

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Rooms are clean and spacious; bed is super comfy. The lounge has a Starbucks, and is decorated nicely. The pool/jacuzzi area is nice.
Cons: The room temp was a bit cold, and we could not adjust it. The charge for parking and internet were too high.
Location: Great location. Go for a walk/bike ride/jog on the Back Bay trail; go to Balboa Island, the beach, Fashion Island, Crystal Cove, or Corona Del Mar.
We had a great stay at the Newport Hyatt Regency. Everything was clean and well-decorated. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely! My only complaint is that they charge $22 per night for parking, and $10.95 for internet in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Great hotel in paradise.

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Staff were amazing….helpful, cheerful always….
Cons: One of the buildings is under reno----wish we had known. Apparently they will finish renos March 2015.
Location: Good location. Easy drive to everything.
Hotel restaurants, service and especially the staff all get 5 stars. The hotel itself is old but has been tastefully maintained and updated. Hope to stay here again….
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Dec 23, 2014
The hotel is just OK. The rooms are very small and dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location .

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Great staff and helpfulness . Great location. Nice rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean and updated.
Cons: The exterior of the buildings.
Location: Good location. Walking distance to Balboa island. No ocean views though.
The exterior needs to be renovated, but the rooms were very nice and clean. Free bike rentals, but brakes were bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not enough info on line

Posted Dec 8, 2014
No warning that this is a high end hotel with valet parking & bell hops, tips needed. Requested microwave and did not receive. Staff was great and room was nice but we felt ambushed by the extra money needed for tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2014
This is by far the very best Hyatt as far as location to Newport Beach and Corona del Mar. The grounds are superb, staff professional and courteous! I will continue to book and stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facility located close to beaches shopping

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Nice in one day out the next' clean easy at a nice price' thumbs up!!