Ratings based on 764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted Nov 7, 2014
If you have kids, ask for the king room with bunk beds. It's huge, right by the best pool, and the kids love the bunk beds. The staff was amazing. Can't recommend this place highly enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Birthday weekend get away trip.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Celebrating my honey's birthday so we did not want to drink and drive. Stayed at the Hyatt over night. The bell men was very nice. He told us all about the jazz concerts and things to do at the hotel. He drove us to our room in a golf cart, brought our bags into the room and then kindly left. We had a small cocktail party in the bar. The server was very nice. The cheese plater was wonderful, Bloody Marys were the best I ever had! We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Room

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Our room had some moisture in the carpet that wouldn't go away. The bathroom had vey little privacy with louvered doors. Overall it was humid in our bedroom with Ac on or off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

Great hotel for families!!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. 3 pools - 1 with a cool slide and water cannons! Other activities for families included a small putting area, life-size Chess, and shuffleboard. There were lots of places to have coffee or enjoy glass of wine! You can tell that the hotel has undergone remodeling recently and it looks like the rooms are still undergoing some additional remodeling. We will definitely be returning to stay here when we visit friends in Orange County!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA Desert

Have been here before

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Location: The location is wonderful.
From start to finish, this was not a good experience. The girl who checked me in had on a very wrinkled shirt and an attitude. I was put in a room that was dark, with a view of the laundry cart and two extra beds being stored. The bathroom floor was not clean, lots of crumbs or dust in the cracks. The alarm clock was hours off, and could not be reset. And to top it all off, no cell/phone service available. I have had much better experiences with this hotel, and for the money, I would hardly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel complex

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere, helpful staff and cimfortable beds. Also nice restaurant for great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good Location

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The pool was really nice
Cons: Free WIFI in the rooms not just in the lobby. Also make it a little easier to access
Location: Balboa Island is right down the hill and with the ferry taking you to Balboa Village. You also have 3 nice malls and all types of ocean activities
it was in a great location for the area with shopping and dinning close at hand
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Gabriel

comes up a little short - but pool is great

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: staff and pool
Cons: more chairs by pool. rooms need a sofa.
Location: lots of restaurants, beach, shopping
Pool is great for kids but not enough chairs. (Wasted space for a putting green in pool area.) Room appeared clean and well decorated but too small for a family of 4. Rooms are supposed to come with 2 bottles of water but ours came with one and we found some coins in a drawer which makes me wonder how clean it was......No sofa? Whats up with that? You can tell this is a converted Hyatt since room entry is from the outside, individual room air conditioners and small rooms. Safe is a nice large size. Pool attendant was very accommodating. Elevator to our room looked like a service elevator we couldn't find another one and since we were upstairs we had to use it. The pool is worth a one night stay when you want to get out of LA and want young ones to have some fun. The Friday night Jazz fests used to be great and staying at the hotel made me want to try them again. location is great. Lots of things to do nearby. Plus resort fee includes bike rental etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute

Posted Sep 1, 2014
My father had a medical procedure last minute over the busy holiday. We got two rooms. The staff was excellent all around. We got two rooms away from the busy pool next to each other. The pool was great to sit at. We rented a cabana for a day. This would be a fun place to bring your kids they have bikes tennis golf and great pool Macy Gray performed outdoors the night we were here. This is not a romantic get away. Too active with families.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Busy hotel with many pools and nearby concerts

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: We hosted a private party in the gardens. Staff was especially attentive. Food was good.
Cons: Due to the openness of the lobby area to adjacent patios, there were leaves blowing around and cushions weren't very clean on sofas.
Location: The hotel sponsors concerts nearby on certain weekends.
Weekends are really busy at the hotel with lots of children using the various pools/slide. Dogs welcome with watering dishes prevalent in common areas.