Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Losing their edge

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Still well maintained, but the rooms need to be renovated.
As a frequent visitor to this property, I was very disappointed to see the changes in this hotel. It was once the pinnacle of comfort and service, which is why I have stayed there repeatedly over the years. On this last trip the staff was disinterested in being helpful and inattentive to our needs, primarily in the bar and the restaurant. We understand that the hotel was sold out for the next day, but with normal check in at 3-4PM there is no reason they could not have given us a 1 hour extension on check out time. This was the icing on the cake for me. I may stay there again, but it will not me my first choice any longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Overpriced parking lot view hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The new Oak Grill room. Improved pool facilities.
Cons: Rooms, noisy bar, crazy prices.
Location: Hotel is in an office park, and next to a shopping center. Not much to do close by.
Th hotel was recently upgraded in every part except the rooms, which is what they should have spent the $ on. Outrageous room prices for a "beach" hotel that only has views of parking lots. The hotel is nowhere near any beach. Rooms priced in the Four Seasons range, $25 house wines by the glass, $8 potatoe chips--ridiculous. Save your money and go to one of the great resorts in Laguna Beach that are actually on a beach, with sunset views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Island Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
A beautiful hotel with lovely grounds. Rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. The grounds are well appointed with a very nice pool, fireplace and jacuzzi. The hotel bar and restaurant are top notch and they draw a nice crowd. Finally, the staff is efficient and make you feel welcome and comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from Phoenix

Great location and decent facility.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel looked clean and I liked the location.
Cons: Offer free self parking instead of forced valet parking at $32 (this is not an excuse to not tip valet drivers). Could offer free internet.
Location: In a great area across from Fashion Island mall. Quick drive to the ocean and local shopping.
This was our first stay at Island Hotel Newport. They were undergoing construction in the lobby, but it will be done soon. Staff seemed friendly and accommodating. I was able to get a good discounted deal on Expedia for this hotel, which is why I stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maurine from Central CA

Nice!; great shopping @ Fashion Island; beach

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Our wedding weekend activities were all near. Easy to navigate the area. They're in the midst of remodel but the guests don't suffer a bit! Wonderful staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gail from chino hills,ca.

Restful

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Easy to get to.
The room was inviting ,comfortable and enjoyable.what else is needed to say but great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P & P from SF

Quick trip

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Good place to stay for a quick last minute trip. Location was great! Fitness area was quick and clean. Need a better dining area (though I know the hotel was under construction in that area).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Los Angeles

Nice get away

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Stayed previously
Cons: Very limited cable selection
Location: Shopping, Fashion Island, Whole Foods, Starbucks
Hotel was great. Location is close to Fashion Island. Staff was friendly. The only drawback was that the hotel was undergoing a restaurant addition so a temporary restaurant was available at the 2nd floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

over-rated

Posted May 30, 2014
Old hotel that must get rave reviews beasue of its location. It neeeeds aa HUGE facelift. Nice staff. But, I wouldn't stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jodi from Wheatfield, IN

Perfect location for Fashion Island mall

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The pool is beautiful. I love the location for the Fashion Island mall
Cons: It will be nice when the remodel is finished
Location: Fashion Island mall is great and so many good restaurants you can walk to
The property is still undergoing a major remodel. The pool is now finished and open. It is the most convenient location for walking access to Fashion Island mall.