Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The views were great.
Cons: New mattresses
Location: Plenty to do if your the outdoorsy ocean loving type such as surfing, paddle boarding, kayaking, etc.
Hotel was nice and very close to the beach with awesome views. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and accommodating. The room was clean but the bed was very uncomfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Where do I start? Well, from our arrival to a aaaa

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I was so impressed with this beautiful resort and the staff from the time of our arrival to a much dreaded departure. Words can't express the level of professionalism; care; warmth; comfortable & clean rooms; great food; fantastic staff; great amenities and overall attention to detail that you will Experience staying here. I have stayed at the Ritz; Islands;Inn at Laguna and so many nice hotels so I have a high level of expectation and with my stay here I wasn't disappointed. Into fact I was impressed and my next stay will be here. My kids added it was fun too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Oscar Night

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Nice looking.
Cons: See above notes
Location: Wharf, fishing, dining, etc.
My Mom and I are locals to OC and we wanted to stay in a nice hotel to watch the Oscar's together. We had a room with a harbor view. The room had a weird smell. I equated it to a fart, my Mom said she thought the filter for the heat was the problem, but who knows. Either way it still smelled funny. The mattress didn't have a traditional bedsheet to cover it and it kept coming up exposing the mattress and the pillow top slid all over the place. On two pillows per bed which didn't seem like enough. We ordered room service, the burger was over cooked, onion rings were nothing special. It was a ok stay nothing special. I probably wouldn't recommend this to friends or family who were staying in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L.A.

Beautiful hotel, disappointing stay! :(

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location!
Cons: Be transparent, notify your customers when you overbook!! Even airlines provide perks when you get bumped off a flight!
Location: Nice walk to Dana Point dock.
We booked our stay through Expedia and we requested a king non smoking room. Little did we know our request was not going to be honored, and no one bothered to notify us. We have booked through Expedia on numerous occasions. We have stayed at The Westin, Hyatt, and even The Ritz Carlton, and our requests have ALWAYS been honored. But at the Marriott, we got bumped to a double bed on Valentine's Day! My legs hung off the bed! This is no way to run a legitimate business, especially when your business is service oriented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Diamond Bar

Great hotel and close to beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The hotel was very nice and close to good restaurants. The bar area was an excellent place to end the day with the view of the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Nice hotel with beautiful views.

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We had a nice stay, but I did not feel I got my money's worth. We had a balcony on the pool, which was lovely. But they played music all night long so we couldn't keep our balcony door open and enjoy the sea air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
great location great room, bed a little too soft for my taste, pool water too cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The view, the welcoming staff and the restaurant.
Cons: Adding a self park option and/or lowering the price of the valet. The pillows were also too soft, my head would go right through.
Location: Well, there's a beach right in front of you! You can ride a bike, you can go surfing, you can enjoy California.
This hotel really is a whole package. Nice rooms, beautiful view, and very attentive staff. They pick up the calls before it even gets a chance to ring! There's a resort fee, but it actually includes things I would want to have, like free bicycle rentals and free board games brought up to your room. The only thing that I would have a problem with is the forced valet parking. There is no self parking option, and the valet is a bit expensive. However, the valet is very attentive. They completely took care of us and even cleaned our windshield. We went to the Vue restaurant at night, and the food was amazing! They found out that my boyfriend and I were celebrating our first Valentine's Day weekend, and they offered us free dessert, when coming out with it, the chefs had heard, and made us a special heart shaped red velvet cake and it was just the cutest thing. They really made sure our stay was as nice as it could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom La Canada, Ca

Great Facility and Location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The Staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: Details to the room's furniture and the "loud" sheets. They should be softer and "noiseless".
Location: Centrally located and easy access to nearby attractions and restaurants.
The Facility and Location is awesome. I was disappointed that the room wasn't available until around 5:00 PM. They gave us an upgrade for $90 and it was an "end cap" location with a full ocean view. The room had a chair with stains on it and the side of the bed had stains as well. Overall, the property is in good condition and the staff was very pleasant. I would return but would hope that they pay closer attention to the fine details of the room. Wasn't happy about the additional $32 parking fee which probably should have been addressed in the booking process.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Cons: the bed pillow top was limp and uncomfortable. The hallway walls had obvious scratches. The showerhead literally screamed like a tornado siren. You could hear it in the hallway. Pros: Beautiful location, beautiful location. Great view. Great town.