Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malibu

Wonderful relaxing experience

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Very friendly helpful staff. Wonderful pool. Great views. Quiet clean room. Great breakfast buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Great experience

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Enjoyed every minute. The service was impecabl. A must do if your into luxury and first class accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are just delighted to hear that you had a luxurious stay with us. We hope that you visit us again for another memorable vacation. See you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

R&R in Dana Point

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Location is terrific and views are wonderful. Enjoyed the restaurant, bar, gym and pool areas. No problem just relaixing.
Location: Overseas the Dana Point pier. Pretty much anyting you might want to do you can find.
Wonderful resort. Great location, great hotel. Views are great and the property is really quite pleasant. Enjoyed pretty much everything at the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Enjoying “everything” at our property is our goal for every guest and it puts a smile on our face knowing that we accomplished this for you. We are delighted that you received the rest and relaxation you were looking for during you visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Enjoying “everything” at our property is our goal for every guest and it puts a smile on our face knowing that we accomplished this for you. We are delighted that you received the rest and relaxation you were looking for during you visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nickel and Dime

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Disappointed Marriot rewards member here; unadvertised valet parking only, they hit you for an additional $25 there. Also business center computer use is not complimentary, another $7 for 5 minutes of computer time there....overall nice facility but will not recommend to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and for being a loyal Marriott member. We truly appreciate your business. We are sorry to hear you were not aware of our parking fees as we inform guests in a few different areas regarding these fees. On the confirmation you received for your guestroom our parking fee is noted under your room rate. In addition, the parking fee is noted on our website under Guest Services. Thank you again for your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham, mi

Mediocre

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We travelled to Laguna for one week with my infant daughter. We found the concierge helpful, even before we arrived. After confirming our room would have a balcony, the room we were given on arrival did not have one. The room they transferred us to had a terrible view. The pictures on the website are misleading, a good view is difficult to find and the "street view" reminds me of an I75 Red Roof Inn. The following day they presented two rooms to us and we ended up going with a suite, for an up charge of course. We felt we had no choice and did what we could to salvage our week. When it was all said and done we ended up paying rates that approached the Ritz for a property that was no where close to that caliber. In addition, the front desk staff was barely helpful and no one seemed to show any sense of urgency. I should also note that the restaurant in the downstairs of the hotel needs attention. For example, I ordered a prawn linguine. These were not prawns, they were small shrimp. In addition, the were frozen and did not have the texture good shrimp should have. It was mediocre at best. Again, if it was not priced at $30, I would have been less upset with the quality. Overall, everything at this resort is overpriced for the quality. I will say that the beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and there are a lot of nice options for kids such as a splash pad. If you are using marriot points or tagging along for a conf this may be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that your Concierge was able to assist you even before your stay with us began. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable beds and your clean guest room as well as the family friendly activities the resort provides to its guests. We do regret that you did not like the view from your guest room. We have different room types because each of our rooms has a different view, our general standard room does not have an ocean view. In fact we clearly state our room types and their descriptions on our website so that are guests are not misinformed. Thank you for your feedback. Your opinion is very valuable to us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fernandez

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Very nice place very romantic good ambiance kids pool area wonderful for the little ones
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed both a romantic getaway and a family friendly resort. We hope you and your family visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by andy from london

Lovely location, quiet and relaxing.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location and ambience.
Cons: Include breakfast in the price.
Great hotel, away from the hurly burly of Laguna and other busy beaches. Dana Point is beautiful and the Marriott is located on the cliff over looking the Pacific. Only downside was the rather expensive breakfast although it was excellent quality from the buffet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We appreciate your compliments and we are delighted to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We hope the next time you visit, you take the opportunity to visit our Spa. We can guarantee that you will feel more relaxed than ever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
This hotel is nice and provides magnificient view of the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic ocean views of Laguna Cliffs. We hope you visit us again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

Dream Resort

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: This place is phenomenal! I was impressed with everything! Food was delicious, staff really took care of us and the location was perfect
First time to visit Southern California and what an incredible place to stay. From the staff to the food to the beautiful view of the Pacific. We'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you had a dreamy stay with us. Our goal is to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as we can and we believe we did just that. Thank you for your fine compliments regarding your dining experience, location and our attentive staff. We are happy we impressed you with everything. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Southern California. See you soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sea Isle City NJ

A+ Service!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
This hotel looks grand Super high expectations The main pool is super tiny The service was amazing. Head to the Laguna Pool. The young workers trip over each other to get you water, fix your towel and offer you free samples of drinks Rooms are super clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014
Thank you for grading our service with an A+! We are delighted to hear that you experienced the high level of service from our staff that Laguna Cliffs is known for. Your stay and comfort is extremely important to every single one of us and we take great pride in providing the service you deserve. Thank you again for your compliments. We will be sure to share this with our team. We hope you visit us again soon.