Ratings based on 610 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place/noisy street

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Beautiful place, nice staff, clean facility, good food, room adjacent to very noisy street!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding the beautiful and clean resort, our friendly staff and the good food you ate at our restaurants. We do apologize for the noise that you experienced coming from the streets adjacent to your room. We understand how important a good nights sleep is and if we had control, we would turn that noise down for you. We hope you do visit us again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Everywhere

The staff make it great.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Wonderful staff and delicious food. The hotel was clean and beautiful. The beds are comfortable and grounds are clean and well maintained. Everyone is friendly,engaging and accommodating . I won't return because of the extra charges I was not aware of which include the extra $23 a night and $35 per night valet. I learned a big lesson this trip by booking online and will make sure all fees are included in the final price. Both nights I stayed at the hotel there were big parties with hundreds of guests so we had to wait in line for valet who we're dealing with an enormous amount of party guests. I also overheard one valet telling the other that he received the tip my friend had given him. That move was a little unprofessional but they were nice guys. The wifi is free but if you leave your computer at home you must pay to use theirs in the buisness Center . The additional $23 a night was not justified in my opinion as I was there on buisness and not around to take advantage of the bikes or activities . I had to pay anyways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our wonderful staff, beautiful resort and comfortable beds. We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service and resort fees. For the guest’s convenience, we clearly state that we provide valet service only on our website. We also state all of the fees on our website as well as the confirmation e-mail. We want to make sure our guests are fully aware of the fees prior to arrival.. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon. In recent parking and resort fee surveys we’ve conducted with our fellow resorts located on the coastline, we have found our parking and resort fee rates to be in line and are actually the most economical. We appreciate your feedback and hope you do consider returning in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

I'd come back

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The room was clean and quiet with a nice ocean view, but my favorite thing about this hotel is that I melted in the bed and had a very sound sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly slept comfortably in our beds. We can’t wait to welcome you back. See you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with gorgeous views will return!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
It was simply the best hotel experience my family has ever had. Pools are great, staff is very helpful, many cafes and beach within walking distance. We hope to return soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to hear that it was the “best” hotel experience for you and your family. Nothing makes us happier than to hear the wonderful experience our guests had during their stay with us. We look forward to having you and your family back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom london

Lovely hotel cliff top location, walk to harbour

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent service, breakfast great,
Cons: More spa staff/options unable to book couples treatments as only one therapist.
Location: Two lovely restaurants and harbour within walking distance.
Two days spent relaxing at this lovely hotel would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to relax and spend a couple days with us. We thank you for your compliments and look forward to having you back for another wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Getaway

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: The spa could be more impressive.... lacked the attention that other hotels that are "SPA and RESORT" have... valet parking is overpriced.
I was really impressed with the room, staff, location.....great spot to get away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that your trip to Laguna Cliffs was a memorable experience. We look forward to having you back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

POOR SERVICE

Posted Nov 12, 2014
bare minimum in courtesy and proactiveness slow check in no porblem solving 5 stars, best we can do? stay with hyatt
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the slow service you encountered during your stay with us. Our goal is to go above and beyond your expectations and we clearly did not provide this experience for you. As you will read from previous reviews, our resort prides itself in the 5 star service we give our guests and we receive high praise for our staff’s attentiveness, friendless and professionalism. Please know that your experience was definitely an exception and not the norm for Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south county

My room was horrible and noise and could smell the

Posted Nov 3, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check-In

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Upon check in we were told that they didn't have a king bed for us even though thats what I had reserved and paid for. Then they said they did have one but it was Handicapped Accessible and would have a walk in shower. We said great and then she said OOPS! That room is not available. so we ended up with a room with 2 double beds. I think it was because we booked through Expedia instead of the hotel itself!! They didn't even offer us a diffence in pricing but she did say she would waive the hotel daily costs for use of things on property, which we never used anything since we were only there one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, bed types are never guaranteed but requests that can be made at time of booking. We try and accommodate those requests as best we can but if the bed type is not available, we cannot offer it. We appreciate all business and never favor one booking site over another. We are delighted that you found us on Expedia and apologize that the bed type you requested was not available. We hope that you visit us again the next time you are visiting Dana Point, CA.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new zealand

Very mice stay. Lovely food. Tolerant staff.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We were in the area for wedding. Great location with things to do not very far away. We had good look around including san juan capistrano. Fashion island and ate at marina. All great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are centrally located and in a perfect destination that is close to the beach, marina, restaurants and shopping areas. We hope you visit us again the next time you are in Southern California.