Ratings based on 732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and views.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Great place to go as a get away, took advantage of spa, watched the sunset from the restaurant balcony. All of the staff was very friendly and helpful, we enjoyed talking to everyone there. The spa was an amazing experience in itself. The only draw back was that most of the rooms overlook places of activity. (Pool, driveway, patio used for conference parties, restaurants.) It wasn't a place for complete solitude and quiet, still had the ambient noise of being in a city. It was still a fantastic trip and I would love to book another get away here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the sunsets on our OverVue deck and took some time to get a spa treatment. Thank you for your compliments. We look forward to having you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

to many hidden charges

Posted Apr 20, 2015
$35.00 for parking? what a joke... then they hit you with the $25.00 resort fee... before you even walk in the door you are out another $60.00. oh, but they give you free wifi that is spotty and slow!!!!! i would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service and resort fees. For the guest’s convenience, we clearly state that we provide valet service only on our website. We also state all of our fees on our website as well as the confirmation e-mail. We hope that this did not pose an inconvenience to you in any way. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

Great view and location on the cliff.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
It was a wonderful stay near a national park. Beach was a little far and unkept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the resort. We hope you visit us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

It was very nice I enjoyed the pools and the view!

Posted Apr 15, 2015
One of a kind love it so much the views were awesome. And the staff were very kind. We also enjoy the food poolside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the ocean view pools during your visit at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our staff service and poolside food. We hope you visit us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jacinto CA.

We stayed for 2 nights for our 29th anniversary.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Very good house keeping crew and the veiw was spectacular. Every staff member was courtious and welcoming.
Cons: They should have a continental breakfast buffet for their hotel visitors.
Location: Very close to restaraunts and sport fishing and shops.
Everything was great except they don't tell you about the valet parking fee which is totally a big suprise. We tipped the valet crew each time we needed our car and then received a bill for valet parking at the end of our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Happy Anniversary! We are delighted to hear that you celebrated your anniversary at Laguna Cliffs Marriott Resort & Spa. We hope you made your 29th anniversary a memorable one. We apologize if you were unaware of the valet only service fee. For the guest’s convenience, we clearly state that we provide valet service only on our website. We also state all of the fees on our website as well as the confirmation e-mail. We hope that this did not pose an inconvenience to you in any way. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

So much fun for our family!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
We loved our stay! Great views, pools, parks, beaches, food, activities and the people at the hotel were fantastic. We stayed an extra day just because the visit was so much fun. Thank you for the great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star-review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us that you extended it by one day. We are thrilled that we made your trip so special and fun. It is our pleasure to serve you and we hope you visit us again. We'd love to welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Amazing experience!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly, clean, BEAUTIFUL.
Cons: Build one in Chicago.
Location: Lots of beaches up and down the coast and great shopping and restaurants right on the PCH. And whale watching within walking distance!
From check in (Susan was sooo friendly!) to the room, to the pool, to the beautiful grounds and view, to the food, to the second we checked out...it was such a great experience. We'll be back and will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone heading west. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you had such an amazing stay with us. We appreciate your fine compliments and your recommendation. We look forward to having you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SD

Great experience

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very convenient location. Nice spacious rooms. Great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great experience at the resort. We appreciate your compliments and hope you visit us again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spring vacation to Dana Point

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, pools and beach.
Cons: Getting towels cleaned up around the pools quicker would be great as it's hard, during busy times, to determine which chairs are taken.
Location: Perfect location. Take a surf lesson, rent at SUP or kayak, good eats and Ralph's grocery and a pharmacy are within walking distance.
Really nice property at an affordable rate. Having two great pools and one geared specifically for kids, was a high point for the entire family as we used it everyday after being at the beach. The staff are incredibly friendly and responsive - especially the valet guys. Take good care of them with tips as they hustle big time. Extremely polite bunch. Terrific and central location, but also a bit more chill (a good thing) than Laguna and San Clemente. Both of which were a short drive in either direction. Having Laguna Cliffs to return to at the end of the day was perfect. It's also nicely situated to the harbor and a variety of restaurants (The Brig for Breakfast, Johnny's for dinner both stood out as does the Mexican spot on the water). Doheny State Beach is just down the steps and don't miss the daily 10 am yoga on the front lawn. Put simply, we'd recommend this hotel again and will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our family friendly pool. We look forward to welcoming you back and we thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Great service. Friendly staff
Location: Great restaurants in walking distance
OUr first night we were stuck in a dingy room on the first floor that had a roof over the patio and a wall enclosing the patio. But it was the only room with a king-sized bed available that night. It was like being in a cave--very unpleasant and not what we were expecting in Laguna Beach! We talked to the hotel clerk the next morning and she moved us to an oceanfront room for the remainder of our stay at no extra charge. So were very pleased. Rooms were clean. Facilities were very nice. Don't like having to pay for WiFi though--that should be standard at every hotel now days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by manager, Hotel Management
We are delighted to hear that we were able to switch your room to an ocean-view guest room. We appreciate your 5 star review and compliments regarding our resort. We do want to inform you that the Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee and there is no additional charge. We hope you visit us again in the future.