Ratings based on 1,350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, MD

Alright hotel for the price

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Hotel was not what I would expect for the price I paid but then again for the area it's in, it makes sense. Ok room with nice layout and space. Not the best bed/pillows I've experienced in a hotel. Was nice that it had breakfast - but it was a small room with too many staff just standing watching you eat - felt like I was being supervised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than expected!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This is an older hotel but it's clean & the staff is exceptionally friendly! I will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fullerton, CA

Affordable hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Hotel is a 15 minute drive from Laguna Beach. Well priced for its location. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Room is spacious, clean and its bed very comfortable. Continental breakfast was good and again their staff was very friendly. I would not think twice and stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rialto, Ca

A wonderful weekend trip to the beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Room, Shower & Breakfast
Cons: All the ice machines were broken :(
Location: We went to the beach in Laguna at Hisler Park, Enjoyed a night stroll at the Irvine Spectrum had dinner at Sharkys wood fire grill
This is our second time staying at the Laguna Hills Lodge and it was a great experince the front hotel staff were nice and helpful. Becuase we booked with Expedia the check in was the fastest ive ever had. the room was nice and comfortable. Our only issue was the next day we went to get some Ice and all of the Ice Machines were broken :( overall though it was a nice stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Lovely ambiance centrally located.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Lodge was more than expected! Beautifully landscaped and nice atmosphere. Close to restaurants and shopping as well as being a short pleasant drive through canyon to Laguna Beach for ocean, art galleries, etc. Room was spacious and clean. Mattress firmer than we liked; but comfortable. We will stay there for future visits. We attended the Pageant of the Masters and it was perfect for the stay there for three days to include other excursions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Your travels

Motel close to amenities....

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: It's close to the highway and many other basic needs. The pool is nicely maintained for a motel.
Cons: This motel could use an update. Walls are thin. The continental breakfast was pretty good but be ready for a crowd.
If you're looking for a hotel experience, this is not the place. As far as motels are concerned, this one will meet your needs pretty well. You park in front of your room in most cases which makes it convenient. Room was clean but outdated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Decent hotel although some updates could be made.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Convenient location. Pool area pleasant, although not fancy. Grounds and flowers in outdoor areas are very pretty. Micro & refrig in room.
Cons: Hotel rooms definitely need updating and/or redecorating.
Location: Good location and enjoyed Laguna & Newport.
Close to conveniences and freeway. A bit noisy with fire station across street and hospital less than a mile away on other side. Could use updating in room. Security lock on room fell apart when opening on our last day. I doubt it would have ever kept an intruder out. We reported it to front desk. Sewer gas smell would occasionally emit from bathroom sink. Not pleasant! One time we left door and window open to air out room! I think sink traps need a cleaning or plumbing updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2014 by Laguna Hills Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to our area. We are sorry that you experienced any inconveniences during your stay. Thank you for reporting the security lock problem to the Front Desk. We have a wonderful maintenance team who responds quickly to problems such as these. We also hope you reported the odor problem as well so action could be taken. Our plumbing has been updated but of course nothing is foolproof and we want to repair things as soon as possible for our guests. We are in the process of further updating rooms. This is an ongoing program and we make every effort to make our rooms and facilities as inviting and comfortable as possible. Again, thank you for sharing your experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the Price

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Loved the hotel garden. The breakfast is just fine. Nothing special about the hotel but with the price I paid it was fine. The faucet is not actually in the bathroom... I have no idea why they should put that in the room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Laguna Hills Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. To answer your question, the granite countertop/sink area is separated from the toilet, tub/shower area for privacy and dual access. Again, thanks for taking the time to comment on the Lodge.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel OK but noisy outside and had to move rooms

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Grounds were nicely landscaped. Pool and jacuzzi were pretty good.
Cons: see review.
Location: Noisy location, but a short drive to Laguna Beach that is so cool to walk around and explore. Beautiful beaches, tons of great food, free shuttle.
The hotel would have been more of a 4 if the landscaping crew from the property next door didn't start the leaf blowers at 6:45 a.m. right outside our window. We specifically asked for a quiet room as we were celebrating our anniversary, but they put us over the parking lot, and the leaf blowers. Not a fun way to wake up! There were rooms on the interior that seemed like they would have been much quieter, so I'm not sure why we got that room. Also, our second night we had to move rooms because a breaker tripped and shut off power to the TV, fridge, desk lamp......everything on one wall. After an entire day out running around Laguna Beach, which was awesome, we were ready to just chill out and watch TV......but no power. And they didn't know how to flip the breaker switch, so we had to change rooms......all the way to another building. Kind of a pain. The pool and jacuzzi were nice and breakfast was decent. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't offer any compensation for our inconvenience. That would have gone a long way with us, but no offer at all. Oh well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Laguna Hills Lodge, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit to our beautiful area and sorry you experienced some problems at the Lodge. We are grateful that you mentioned the early morning leaf blower noise from the adjoining property. We were not aware of this problem and will literally take it to City Hall (our next door neighbor) and request they have their gardeners start at a later time. Regarding the power outage, our Front Desk staff knows how to flip a circuit breaker after hours but apparently, whomever you spoke to did not receive the proper training. We do apologize for this and again appreciate your bringing this to our attention so we can remedy this oversight. Our policy is that if a guest has to be relocated on the property, we automatically give them a room upgrade when possible to offset the inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your constructive comments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended! Great value.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We've stayed at the Ayres Hotel which is a couple of miles away and paid 2 times the amount. This hotel was a much greater value and was spotless. The room had a microwave, mini-refrig and coffee maker. Continental breakfast (did not partake) was also included.