Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, UK

Great hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Everything! We used the services of the hotel car several times - they will drop you off and pick you up anywhere within the city limits.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Laguna Beach is a beautiful, lively town, with lovely restaurants. The Pageant of the Masters is great, and the Mission at Capirstrano worth a visit.
We loved the Montage! We have stayed in many great hotels, and on this trip to California also stayed in the Biltmore Four Seasons in Santa Barbara, and Shutters in Santa Monica. The Montage was far and away the best of these three. The service was faultless, the hotel and surrounding grounds beautiful, and dining options excellent. The views are wonderful, and little touches (like a complimentary champagne in the room bar), make all the difference - great attention to detail. There is a 5 star restaurant in the grounds of the hotel - The Studio, which was great for a special occasion, but the more informal dining options were also great quality. Really, we couldn't find any faults! Well done Montage!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Location: The location is slightly out of the main area of Laguna Beach so transport helps!
A very luxurious hotel where attention to detail is paramount! Nothing was too much trouble! From the concierge through to the valet guys, there was always a friendly smile whilst being extremely helpful. The room was beautiful, nothing looked shabby anywhere! Would definitely return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Overpriced beyond any reason

Posted May 11, 2015
Cons: It need a lot of imrovement to get it to the 5 star standard it's touting
There would be absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel if it wasn't for the price. The rooms are big and comfortable, the staff is very friendly and helpful, the coastal setting is spectacular. But it's not worth $800-$900 a night. Not even close. There is absolutely nothing plush or luxurious about it. It's trying to be exclusive just by setting their prices sky high, and not providing much in return. Compare to 5 star hotels in Vegas it barely reaches 3 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price. Not what we expected

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Nice view and nice infrastructure but not worth the price. Food was just average. Only one of the restaurants was open all the time. The other restaurants on the property were closed most of the time. You could hear through the wall in the rooms. Getting to the room was like finding your way through a maze. In general lacked energy, excitement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by andrew from New York City

Perfect Luxury

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect. The view, pool, fire-pit, seclusion and peanut butter banana smoothie at breakfast were just a few of the many highlights. Will be back. Next time for vacation and a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from okla

Nicest hotel I've ever stayed at!

Posted Feb 9, 2015
The service was the best we were treated like royalty. Prices are high but great for special occasion! Loved the ocean views. Food was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Great hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2015
We loved our stay here. İt was a super quality hotel. Locatoin was beautiful. İ would live to come here again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Best service ever ...no detail left untouched.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Staff went above and beyond; at the restaurants, by the pool, the bellman, the valets...everyone there is working in sync to make you have an awesome stay. Worth every penny! My family have stayed here and at there Beverly Hills property and they were amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

$50. for 2 plain coffees is too much

Posted Dec 15, 2014
We enjoyed the excellent service very much and the restaurant