Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

You can do better

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Cons: Front desk attitude!
Location: Don't miss breakfast at the Harbor House Cafe, 1/3 mile south. Highlight of our dining in Sunset Beach! (SKIP Cap'n Jack's - $$$ tourist trap!)
First, and immediately, I'll say this is not a *terrible* hotel; it is what it is, a budget hotel not far from the beach, but don't think you can just walk across the street to reach it (unless you really like 1/3 - 1/2 mile hike). Relatively clean, wooden floors to make sand clean-up easier, no decorating awards. But it does not have an "ocean view", unless you're on the top (3rd) flr & can glimpse the ocean bwtwn houses. No breakfast bar (I knew that going in), just weak coffee for the machine in your room, and no restaurants within walking distance. What really turned me off was the way the desk staff treated my husband & I. We were grilled like suspects: "any dogs?" no. "No smoking!" yes, we know. When we asked for a 2nd room key, you would've thought we requested the crown jewels, and informed losing it would be $20 fee. Downright rude and suspicious; left us feeling pretty icky. We're just a nice, normal middle-aged couple who had an extra day before joining the grandkids at Disney. However, I'd suggest if you're willing to wait until last minute, you can find just as good if not BETTER deals than I got. Even if you wanna book early to guarantee a room, with some patience, searching & comparing you can get a super deal that's not here. I prepaid online (including taxes, etc.) yet I still had to give them a credit card. They obvsly had all our info on file already. Disconcerting, to say the least.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The location was convenient for us. The beach was across the street. The staff was from India and quite but very nice. The rooms are kept clean . Old furniture but comfortable. I would say there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco bay area

nice hotel in good location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
we got a pretty good deal via expedia. We stayed at the oceanview motel during the US Open in Huntington Beach. The motel is about ten minutes drive north on PCH. The room is clean, hardwood floor which was a plus for us. There's a surf shop a few doors down. Great grubs at the Secret Spot. Highly recommended if you're vegan/vegetarian. Overall the motel is a worthwhile stay for an affordable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

Never again

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Upon arrival they charged us extra fees, and the room was refunable, wood floors and beach sand sucked, had to drive 20 mins to get to the beach. The room was mostly clean, beds where ok, but even my bed is more comfortable. Id rather make the trip home then stay there again. To top it off the ac made everything moist,almost ruined my books.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west covina

It was ok , I couldn't get the wi fi connection

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Hotel attendant said the beach and bars were walking distance but that is not true , staying there was ok I don't think I want to stay there again Parking was minimal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, California

Nightmare in Seal Beach

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect. Close to the beach and close to the relatives I was visiting.
Cons: I got a weird choice right at the end of making my transaction on Expedia: something like pay now or pay at hotel. I think I made the wrong choice.
Location: Seal Beach is a wonderful destination. Walking on the pier is the best! Beautiful!
I carefully booked 2 nights for 2 adults and one 15-year-old child. The only rooms available each had only 1 kingsize bed, but I assumed we could get a rollaway, since there was an elevator right next to our room. I was willing for us all to sleep in the one bed if necessary. It was July 4 and the whole town was booked. But I was upset when they were going to charge an extra $10 (or $20--I can't remember) because my daughter was over 5. And I was upset that I couldn't change my reservation to 1 night from 2 without having to go directly to Expedia for a refund for the second night. We saw a sad verbal fight between a married couple (in front of their kids) on the way to our room, and at 3 am all the way until 4 am we heard a horrible yelling and physical fight between another couple, which finally ended with the police arriving and taking the woman away for injuring the man. We woke up tired. The floor didn't feel clean and I really missed having a carpet. The table was chipped. The room didn't smell fresh. We were short 1 towel and had to go get it ourselves. The "Ocean View" was just little slots between buildings across the street. This room cost me a LOT for the 1st night and a bit less for the second night (which I didn't use). There is no continental breakfast. This place could be great if it were a budget hotel with modern service. This is the first time ever with Expedia that I couldn't change my reservation and payment method.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by carcar from Burbank

Bare bones but ok

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were looking for a motel near a venue in this area. Turned out to be walking distance, which was great. The motel clerk was not very friendly. For the price, the room was very bare bones, no decor at all, very few outlets for charging cell phones and computer, we had to unplug items to get to the outlets. Air conditioner worked well. Lots of street noise from Pacific Coast Highway, but with door and window shut, it went to a dull roar. No tissues, no complimentary plastic bag for dirty laundry. We've stayed in many motels across the country, and this one rated very mediocre, however, It served our purpose for this event.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jpirillo from Las Vegas

A reasonable very clean motel close to Ocean

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Paul the owner was very accommodating, the room was in very good condition and extremely clean and rate was extremely competitive for Sunset Beach. Fronts Coast Highway so some traffic noise during the day, but very peaceful in the evening. Great value a block from the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edgar from Las Vegas

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The only bad thing is right by the highway and stores were kind of far
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Liz from AZ

Loved the Beach

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Close and walking distance to the beach.. More hotels need to have laundromats.. And morning pastries..