Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced but staff was very nice!!

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Over priced, asked for quiet room got room 2-3 rooms done from outside dinner bar with entertainment till after 9pm... Couldn't leave deck patio door open due to bar noise
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Executive Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for your bvaluable feedback. We would enjoy speaking to you further regarding your experience. Please contact the Executive Office at your earliest convenience. Thankyou fofor choosing The Ritz-Carltonn, Laguna NIguel. We hope to earn your business again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ritz Laguna

Posted May 31, 2014
Awesome here as always. Great food amazing service will make any accomodations you need. Beach beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rex

Pricey but Excellent

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Lots of pillows and very comfortable bed. Very helpful staff, albeit on the verge of ingratiation.
Cons: The price of coffee. You are essentially a captive audience. $5 for a medium coffee! Just on principle, this is unacceptable.
The RC is a delightful place for a rest, but there is a dearth of things to do in the area that makes it an unlikely place to spend more than two days. The ocean views are spectacular, but you can stare out of windows only so long. I wanted to play chess and the hotel staff actually searched and found a chess set for me to use despite the fact that they don't have a game room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location and beach shuttle with chairs

Posted Apr 21, 2014
great location and beach shuttle with chairs, towels and water. The second story outdoor balcony is absolutely amazing! Great for couples or family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Freq Traveller

Overwhelming pleasure!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Everything was perfect! Ritz experience is excellent--worldwide! Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointed.

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The views, the location,
Cons: The uptight attitude of everyone., more seating room with views and in the bar. Temperature control in public area , more friendly attitude
Stayed for two nights to celebrate my husband birthday at the end of March We found the hotel , which is beautifully situated to be pretentious and uptight. While the staff were attentive and helpful especially in the restaurant and coffee shop the overall feeling in the hotel was cold and false and not friendly. . There is no area indoors to just sit and gaze and enjoy the beautiful view, the ideal area for this was taken up with the restaurant. Our room was in an area that was dark small and depressing the corridors were really cold and there was always a wind blowing through them. Doors to the outside were always open in spite of the coolish weather. The pool area was lovely as was the outside bar and well maintained and the views were lovely. While at the hotel I lost a lovely cardigan in either the restaurant or bedroom. The staff were attentive when I called in taking details but it never showed up much to my disappointment as it was a special gift. Overall a stuffy and disappointing experiencing .
2 out of 5
by Thierry from Geneva, Switzerland

Great views, but very disappointing hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: The views which are simply spectacular
Cons: Wifi, service in general, cleaning, noise reduction
Location: The location is great because of the views. Go to Laguna beach for some nice shopping
Reserved and prepaid room with partial view. Were put in room with no view. No internet / wifi in the room (1st floor). Called about it 4 times but it wasn’t fixed during the 48 hrs we stayed there Room not clean. Clipped nails of previous guest around the bed. Noise from guests in room above. In-room dining took more than an hour to deliver … Empty minibar (which is a problem with slow room service). Comment from guest services : « actually, we don’t do that anymore ». I wonder why. The hotel is not living up to its reputation, its five stars and its very high prices
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by debaudchlo from san francisco

meh - too expensive for what it really is

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is supposed to be a 5-star hotel but really isn't. Hotel does not stock mini-bar, so if you want even a small snack, you have to (1) order expensive room service and wait 40 minutes for it to arrive, or (2) leave your room and visit their "store" on premises. Rooms are small and feel a bit cramped. Hotel has a great location but is really an expensive marble Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christine from laguna Niguel

Always a f irst-rate stay

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time we have stayed here. And the Ritz always kept to its expectation as to service and quality of food. We wanted to check out their gingerbread display and decided to stay the night. The check-in was quick. We stayed in the garden room which was a little dark we had to have the lights on during the day. However, it had a patio next to a small pond so our daughter took delight in looking at the fishes. Love the double sink and the marble flooring and counter in the bathrooms. The room was also equipped with a small refrigerator and complimentary bottle water. It was also close to the pool which was heated. We had dinner at Raya and the food was delicious. I had a Maine Lobster Salad and it was packed with lobster. For breakfast, I headed to the Market Place - here I had to wait. They only had one person taking the order and another one making coffee - there was a short line. They were also out of doughnuts and plain bagel. If there is an area they need to improve, it would be in this department, during the breakfast hours. Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay and would most likely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Joseph C Federici from Las Vegas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com