Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great! The location and stay was awesome. I would come back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

The front desk staff was the worst unfriendly

Posted Mar 6, 2015
I cant believe how rude the front desk was upon check in till check out. I've stayed here before and loved it. I will never stay at this location again especially at $650.00 a night. Juan who was the "front desk manager" was so rude, so dismissive so unfriendly and so unprofessional! His attitude alone ruined my vacation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Wireless. Valet parking,
Wireless issues most of the time there. Had to move rooms to get online. Valet parking was super inefficient. Gym facilities are old - only 5 tv stations (excluding ESPN!).
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Overpriced

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Staff was plentiful and polite. But service was very slow. Room service took forever. Bar staff was extremely slow. Beach was too far and everything was overpriced including the room. Bathroom had no fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Los Gatos

Simply The Best !

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Cons: I think that maybe the room description could use a bit tweeting ... You really need to say full ocean view or you may end up with a sneak peek ...
Location: Why leave this beauty it's all right there ( at least for me )
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stevenfrom Whaley Bridge

Bleak House

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Managed to get one of the Ocean View rooms which have an absolutely superb view, however you do pay for it. We had a meal at the steak restaurant which was pretty good and also ate at the signature restaurant Raya, this is located in a corridor by the bar and near to the outside 180 degree bar. As the doors are always open to the 180 bar it creates a wind tunnel effect and Raya is at times very cold, most people who ate there wore coats or sweaters, this may not be a problem in summer. The main bar also has no draught beer available only bottled, not very 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Coreyfrom SLC

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great get a way!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Okay, but not good!

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
This Ritz location lacked the service the level of service one should expect from a stay that one spends $5k + for a few days. The Spa sets an automatic 20% gratuity on services -regardless of the level of service recieved. I had a facial and a massage that were underwhelming. The restaurant servers were indifferent and unprofessional. We found the views spectacular, but we will wait for the Montage to have an opening before our next visit to Dana Point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sad, Truly NOT Scrumptious

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
The property is timeless, the view unimaginable, rooms are tired and need sprucing. Worth $500 a night for a small room with an additional $25 nightly resort fee? Maybe twenty six years ago when it was a premier and perfect operation... Now? It's tired. Car valet service is what every area used to be... Food, beverage, front desk staffs are aloof, inept at times and untrained, again to the standards of the "Ritz" and any property that charges $500 a night... Orion and Jesse with the car valet should be retained to train the rest of the staff, smiles, sincerity, complete focus and awareness. $500 lunch for six was late, cold, understaffed and ordinary... And yes, $500 lunch for six, and no caviar was served, it was burgers, fries and salads.....
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom CA, Laguna Niguel

Disapointed

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Requesting professionalism by the Managers and staff. After all, I paid for this hotel and it wasn’t free.
Location: By the Beach and nice location for a romantic gateaway.
I was very disappointed at this Hotel. The Hotel Staff were unfriendly and the Managers were unprofessionals. Very much disappointed. My review did not submitted before because I explained the entire experience I had with this hotel. Anyhow… I won’t be staying at The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel.