Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Loran from Washington State

great location for walking

Posted Mar 29, 2014
We liked the fact that the poolside area is so pleasant. We chose this place for the location; so easy to walk to the promenade at Heisler Park, as well as to the village of Laguna Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Los Angeles

Nice simple place

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Close to museum and short walk to Main Beach. Large patio around pool is good for smokers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ken from Palm Springs

good basic place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: quiet, nice pool, staff was super accimmodating
Cons: rooms were very basic.
Location: all great
near all Laguna Beach attractions, very wonderful staff, wi-fi, Tv all great. room appointments just ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sherrell from Cocoa Beach, Fl

Charm and Quaintness=A+

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely loved our location to town, the quietness even though near the street, John and Sophia's friendliness and the uniqueness of the motel. It was just perfect. I had looked especially for a motel with a kitchenette. It had everything that we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay in LaGuna

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff is very friendly and helpful and loved their dog. We only stayed for a day but pretty close to "downtown" laguna, about a 10-15 minute walk along the beach or a quick drive and this place is right across the street from the ocean. This place is very clean as well. I guess my only complaint would of been that traffic is loud but quiets down around 11pm, but they do provide you with ear plugs LOL. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wine country

great people, thin walls

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: It had everything one might want for an extended stay
Cons: Soundproofing, or rugs on upper floor.
Location: Laguna Bea h is a treasure trove. They even have free yoga three times a week on the beach. Shops, scenery, art, food...It's all there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice hotel, clean and comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MK from Phoenix, AZ

Great Stay

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at The Tides. The beach and Heisler Park are less than a five minute walk away. The owners were really nice and accommodating. The room was warm and comfy. The fire by the pool was a great place to warm up in the evening after a day at the beach. We will definitely stay there for our next visit to Laguna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Las Vegas, NV

wonderful motel, great location, friendly, helpful

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, average accommodations

Posted Nov 4, 2013
I really wanted to like this inn. The owner was great, he checked us in and gave us a lot of great local recommendations. The onsite manager - husband and wife - were also very nice. The location was wonderful - we parked our car on arrival and didn't need it until we left. Nice walk to downtown and the beach. But like so many little places like this with great locations, I think they get a little lazy and don't go the extra mile to make their rooms more comfortable, because they don't have to. That really bothers me, because it won't take that much effort. The bed was firm - it needed a good pillow top mattress topper and it would have been so much more comfortable. The pillows were bad - lumpy and noisy/plastic like sounds when you move your head on them. The comforter was so lumpy it was uncomfortable to sit on much less sleep under. The towels were nice but there is no where to set down your toiletries in the bathroom - no flat surfaces and the inside of the medicine cabinet had a layer of dirt on the shelf. Free parking, free wifi, but it was very spotty wifi in our room. It depends on how picky you are - if you want location and good price and can put up with some discomfort you'll probably be just fine here.