Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Westlake Village, CA

Nice and comfortable hotel. nice ocean view.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It was right across from the beach and down the street from Main street.
Location: across the street from the beach. shopping nearby too.
The staff were very helpful. very comfortable room with a beautiful view. It was my first time staying and would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Total beach convenience

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Wish the beds were bigger, otherwise, an extremely beach friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Utah

Amazing service and staff!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
From the moment we checked in we were astounded by the level of service we received. The staff rivals that of a five star hotel. Great location, across from a beautiful beach and very close to the action. This will be our hotel of choice when in Huntington Beach/Newport area.
3 out of 5
by Gina from Huntington Beach

It was just okay

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Shades is awesome for dinner.
Cons: The hotel is in need of some remodeling. The spa and pool are in serious need of a remodel.
Location: We love Huntington Beach. There are tons of nearby shopping and dining.
We are local to Huntington Beach and just wanted a night away together. My husband and I love the restaurant Shades, so we decided to have a nice dinner, stay the night and watch movies. Dinner was great. Wine was great. We got to the room and the tv system was malfunctioning. After several calls to the front desk and a sour mood tech visit to our room, the decision was made to move us to another room. Frustrating because we were settled in. I had to get dressed, pack up my things and move. The next room had a beautiful view of PCH but the carpet was old and torn and the room layout was very awkward. We were situated between two adjoining rooms and it sounded like there were 5 other people in the room with us. We ended up watching a movie and eating popcorn but we were definitely disappointed with the stay. Bright and early, we were woken by the neighbors kids. Oh well. We won't be going back to spend the night. But we still love the restaurant and the servers there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Canada

Wonderful beach location!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: Lower parking rates and avoid charging for water bottles.
Location is fantastic! The hotel has a phenomenal pool and hot tub with a wonderful view (garden and ocean). Aside from that, the parking was expensive (30$/day) and I am not a fan of charging for water bottles in the room (very nickel and diming). Beware of the language regarding your view as an ocean view room can be "partial" or "full". Read the fine print on this. We opted for the "partial" and we got to see the sunrise over the mountains which was fantastic. The hotel staff were very flexible. We needed a late check-out and our luggage stored for a few hours while we waited for our flight. They allowed us to stay in the pool area for an extended amount of time. All in all, it is a very relaxing place within walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntington beach

Nice hotel close to beach friendly staff

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Friendly service, wish shades had more options on their menu, my family member is a recovering alcoholic and doesnt eat or drink anything containing alcolhol & a lot is cooked with alcohol but the in room dining had options that shades did not..but the room service was fast so i appreciated that a lot :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zoe from Las Vegas

Very Nice!!

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Can't complain about anything with my stay.
Location: You're a few blocks from main street with shops, restaurants and bar! Not to mention the beach across the street and Newport close by!
Booked this trip for a one night stay and wished we could have stayed longer! The room was awesome with a great view of the ocean, the property is beautiful, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and their restaurants Shades is delicious!! Even for the complimentary breakfast I got with my room, it wasn't one of those gross continentals with stale bagels. They were serving a hot food buffet (eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, potatoes etc.)!!! It was delicious. Also, we brought our dog since it was a pet friendly property and upon check in, they gave us a little gift bag for her with a free food bowl to take home, doggy waste bags, a list/map with things to do/places to take your pet, and treats! Needless to say, my boyfriend and I were both extremely impressed and wished we were staying there longer than one night! We will definitely be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kat from Huntington Beach, CA

Enjoyed our stay, except...

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Most staff are "really" friendly, the room was really nice and clean (loved the beach view), had a great time other than parking fee is ridiculous, and the room service we ordered in the early morning took way longer than promised 40 minutes instead of 20, items were missing so we had to wait for them to go back down and get them. Food was cold which makes eggs unbearable to eat and our order cost $38 but we paid $55 for it. When we asked why it was $17 more the female at checkout desk said because of taxes and fees but couldn't show us since they haven't received the bill yet! Hmm..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Fresno, CA

Clean hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and very close to the beach.
Cons: The price of parking shouldn't be so high.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to the pier and right across the street from Huntington Beach.
The hotel was really clean and definitely had a resort feel. It was great being within walking distance of the beach. The hotel had a ton of amenities and the staff was very pleasant. The only downsides were the small room size and the high cost of hotel parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by K&J from Fredericksburg VA

My favorite HB hotel, great ocean view

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Totally enjoyed looking out the window at sunrise to a view of the ocean waves rolling in without raising my head from my pillow. Great stay, just not long enough!