Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: CLEAN
Cons: ICE MACHINE, WORK OUT ROOM
NICE HOTEL, CLEAN ROOM. VERY NICE AREA OF CITY WOULD COME AGAIN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed our location. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Everything and mostly the cleanliness.
Location: Did not get to do anything but I noticed a tj max near by.
We got to the hotel and the first room they gave us was not clean: towels on the floor , dirty counters and filthy floor. We got another room not as bad but not clean either: dirty floors and no shampoo or conditioner, one soap and no garbage can in the bathroom. We suppose to have a coffee maker in the room also but no luck there either. We went to the front desk and they promised one soon. 2 hours later and no coffee machine!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that you were initially checked into a room that had not been cleaned yet. As for the coffee maker, we now deliver them, but having to wait 2 hours for one certainly is not acceptable and all amenities such as soap and shampoo should have been in the room. That was missed on inspection and should not have been. To prevent this from happening again, my team must make sure that a room our guests will be staying in meets or exceeds our standards. I will also train the Front Desk team to do a better job explaining our amenities. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate your survey and the errors that were made. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good place to stay if all you need is lodging.

Posted Feb 1, 2015
This hotel offered only breakfast on the run, but since we had a kitchen we could buy and prepare our own. After three requests, we were given the dishes and pans needed to cook a little. The hotel was quiet and clean. The manager was very nice at check-out, though the other employees seemed lackadaisical and not very professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. Please allow me to apologize for the length of time it took to deliver your dishes and the impression given to you by our staff. I can assure you your comments have been addressed and we will provide a greater experience in the future. I am happy to hear though that you were able to enjoy our fully equipped kitchen and the grab-and-go breakfast. Thank you for your business and we hope to be of service to you during future travels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom roseville, ca

Best price in the area

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Wall mounted heating unit was leaking outside cold freezing air to inside of room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay, but I am also sorry to hear that the heat unit was not putting out warm air as you would expect. Please be advised I will be having the units in all the rooms checked to insure they are all working properly. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karenfrom east syracuse

karen review

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not clean there were stains on the carpets and smelled Like smoke. The breakfast was muffins and granola bars not what I consider a Continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tonyfrom Rochester Hills

Joshen Vendor Show

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean customer service was good. No real breakfast so fail on that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad that you found our hotel clean and that the staff here took care of you. Still, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. Your feedback on this matter will be useful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

I very much enjoyed my stay at Extended Stay.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, easy and comfortable.
Cons: Hard, scratchy wash cloths.
Location: Beachwood is a great area with tons of restaurants and shopping!
I had no problems at all at Extended Stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly. The to go breakfast was easy, fast and tasty. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Natalie - Thank you for your great review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable and clean. Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our guests and will appreciate your comments when I share them. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anitafrom Lakewood, OH

Outdated, dirty room.

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Initial room was dirty and had a bad odor. Door would not close so was moved to another room which was better but the hotel needs to be updated.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Bloomfieldfrom Tucson,AZ

Quiet

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
No grab bars in shower No room makeup daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your room did not have a grab bar in the shower. We do however have handicap rooms that have them, which would be available upon request. As well, I am sorry that our standard housekeeping policy did not meet your needs. We do have the option for daily housekeeping service for a nominal fee. I apologize you were not made aware of this option, and I will be working with my front desk staff to ensure that we are properly informing guests of this upon check-in moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.