Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caroline from Canada

Close to Cracker Barrel Restaurant and gas station

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Yogurt could be available for breakfast.
This was a stop over on our way home from Florida. The facilities are adequate for this purpose. Room was clean and well presented. Breakfast was adequate. Desk staff were friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for an overnight if you're on the road

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Good breakfast, beds comfortable, convenient location.
Cons: Sweep the stairs
Location: Edisto Memorial Garden - very nice botanical garden in town, worth a visit. Also convenient to the college.
We stayed here overnight on a trip north from Florida. Nice clean room, friendly staff. Although it is a Howard Johnson motel, it is run by the Shiva corporation in association with Howard Johnson. Guess the old HJ of the past is long gone. I do miss their restaurants. Nice breakfast included with the room, cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, tea, toast and waffles available. The only thing I noticed that could be improved is someone should sweep the outside stairs to the second floor. It is in a convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from SE Kentucky

Convenient, Comfortable Stop

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: It was easy to locate and get to. It had a fridge, microwave, and a good breakfast offering. We were surprised by the cleanliness and state of room
Location: Well located far enough from the interstate (26) to eliminate road noise, yet easy to get to. Restaurants and fuel were right at hand.
We were pleasantly surprised by our stop over at the Ho-Jo inn in Orangeburg, SC. We had selected it for its very good rate and as a convenient stop over on our trip to Savannah. The check in was very easy and the receptionist was not just polite, but very friendly and solicitous of our convenience for our stay. We were surprised at the good condition of our room, that it had both a minifridge and a microwave, and that the room was very clean and well aired out. There were several restaurants located within walking distance and the morning breakfast offerings far exceded the normal "continental" breakfasts of many three star hotels in which we have stayed. The morning receptionist was every bit as helpful and friendly as the evening one. My wife and I stayed at an expensive downtown Savannah hotel which offered no refridgerator, nor microwave, nor any breakfast, and wasn't any more comfortable or cleaner than the room at Ho-Jo's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over Nighter

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Close to where we were going, and close to good cafes
Cons: Over night stay was all you needed
Location: Not sure, we there for business
Good location Room was clean and comfortable Pleasant staff Breakfast was your typical, they did have waffles and fresh fruit along with cereal and pastry Price was okay Would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joline from savannah georgia

Nice place for short stay

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Good overall experience. Room was clean, had plenty of towels and everything worked. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast wasn't great, but didn't expect it to be.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason from Fort Mill, SC

they are trying to improve

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an old hotel that they are slowly trying to improve with new beds and fresh paint - but it still has a long way to go to get up to date. Will need to be in the area again in an year and will try again to see if they have upgraded anymore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris T from orangeburg sc

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
stuck with smoking room after confirmation said we had a non smoking room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by stewart from savannah,ga

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
stay were good breakfast needs to improved. carpet needs to be shampoo room had a odor.