Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sumter, SC

Relaxing Vacation

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Clean and quiet
Cons: Update the whole hotel
Location: Santee SC was our location and we relaxed going fishing everyday that it didn't rain
Everything was just fine. The whole hotel could use a major update. The only complaint I have is that the pool was not open at all until like 4:30pm. If its not going to be open all day for people to use what is the purpose of having one???
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location, room features and cleanliness. Attention to upkeep.
Cons: Different blanket.
Comfortable, well-equipped room and bathroom. Everything worked. Spacious lavatory area, strong shower. Refrigerator in room. Good AC system, and all lights worked. TV was old style, but it worked well. Blanket was strange synthetic that felt like carpet padding, but otherwise bed was comfortable. Location very convenient for I-95. Plenty of eating and fueling options in immediate vicinity. Hotel frequented by other quiet travelers, so no problem getting to sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need upgrades.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: The reception area was welcoming.
Cons: Hotel is in need of upgrades and upkeep.
Not happy. Old hotel, old comforters, flat pillows, dirty carpet and can see under the main door-hence scared something was going to crawl under the door. Ventilation system looked as though there was mold growing in it and carpet was not clean. The staff was not at the front desk when I checked in and checked out. I walked around the office trying to get service. When checking out, after 5 minutes I saw someone outside by the pool having a smoke break, she then walked in and helped me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My room was not clean.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
The shower was dirty. The toilet was filthy. Hair on the bathroom floor. The mattress was stained. It was GROSS!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location was awesome

Posted Apr 21, 2014
my room wasn't the cleaness. the rooms need to be updated
2 out of 5
by Hilario from NJ

Not a great value for the price

Posted Apr 19, 2014
I reserved three bedrooms none smoking and all three smelled like it. I could not sleep due to the smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda

Nice hotel and close to I-95

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Nice to stay in for one night or more. Price is decent and it's close to the highway. Highly recommended.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel was the most absolute disaster.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
The hotel was dirty. There were holes in the walls. There were even holes in the sheets. The towels were so old, I wouldn't use those for rags. I would never stay at Howard Johnson again if they were all like that. Heard lots of complaints from nearly everyone that stayed there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ellen from Camden, SC

Wonderful Front Desk Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014
My husband and I had a wonderful stay over the weekend for the Cooper River Bridge Run. The staff was very friendly and excellent in customer service. Randy-the front desk staff was hands down the best in customer service, who went above and beyond to make sure we had an excellent stay. I would stay at this hotel again and recommend this to my friends and family to stay at as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needed a hotel after a long day

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Disappointing decor, of the tweeds only one had a blanket on it. Very dated, lights didn't work ... Old water bottle caps on the floor. Didn't have time to be picky but won't return.