Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over night stay on way to fl

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Nice place for stopover on way to do older but clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jan Schubert from Cleveland, OH

Holiday stopover

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Southern has been a stopping place for us on our way to FL many times. They cannot do enough to make your stay good for you. They offer a huge breakfast, the rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. A very good value for your dollar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by talafus from cleveland, oh

Great Staff -- Bad Beds

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff members were all very helpful and accommodating. The room was clean ,and the complimentary toiletries were very nice. The walls need some cosmetic work. The mattresses were very bad; they sank down and squeaked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by AD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Price, close to Charleston, thestaff
Cons: some of the furniture could have been in better shape.
Location: Charleston about an hour away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Richard D. from Charleston WV

Just Ok

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
A place to rest your head just off I26 easy off and on
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from charlotte n.c.

very good

Posted Jun 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I Will say again.
3 out of 5
by susan from monterey. ca

Not ok for 100.00 Expedia!

Posted Jun 11, 2013
Pros: Nice staff.
Cons: The food was so poor!. Precooked scrambled eggs, And French toast and heated on a styrofoam plate- Major injestion of fluercarbon.
Location: Close to food and gasoline.
Manager not really up on Internet rate. Tv did not work for 2 days, which I think is inexcusable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexis from Orangeburg SC

Very Disappointed

Posted May 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was my first time staying at the Southern Lodge. I had several people tell me it was a nice place to stay.. When we checked in, the clerk was not very helpful in our check in process. She wanted to argue about how many people were staying in the room, we reserved 2 separate rooms. The shower in the first room leaked from the top of it,which made a pool of water all over the floor, the second room had a bad toilet which overflowed when flushed. The towels had hairs still in them but were supposed to be clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall a good stay for last minute. Room was big!! Pillows need to be changed - glad I brought mine! Since we checked in so late, they did extend the check out time from 11:00 to 12:00.