Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

we reserved a 3 bedroom house

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: every thing and all employees
Location: the first house was far from everything the second was close to everything
bad experience the bed in the master was very noise to say the least -there was a dead Christmas tree in the garage for 6 months the pool was not ready for us to use so they sent us to a 3 bedroom condo closer to everything but had the same problem with the pool .we called every day and they gave us a different excuse every time ,so no pool for our seven day stay. didn't offer any refund or even say sorry! so much for booking three months in advance !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Next time elsewhere!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The resort area common pool was very nice.
Cons: Maintenance!
Unable to use house pool for the entire stay, filter system was not working and cleaning tools were not available. A/C temp. could not be set lower than 74 deg. and was not working very well. Some ceiling fans did not work. Some lighting fixtures did not work and others had broken bulbs. Lights in staircase and over dining table were not usable. Some electrical outlets did not work. Could not access wi-fi. Many windows had inoperable locks. It was difficult to notify staff after working hours for non emergency issues. We notified the staff twice with these issues and there was no attempt to rectify.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jenn from Atlanta GA

Comfortable and convenient.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
House was very comfortable, clean, and convenient to all parks. Only 15 min from Disney. We enjoyed the splash pool on the free days we had. House had everything we needed and more. The staff is very friendly too.
2 out of 5
by Connie from Rockford, IL

American Vacation Homes - you're taking a gamble

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The home was spacious and a good size for four adults. It was in a nice neighborhood. With the proper maintenance, this would be perfect.
Cons: Get maintenance to fix items reported! Clean the carpet or change out the flooring to something other than carpet.
Location: The house was only about a half an hour from Universal/Disney. There is a Publix nearby & plenty of restaurants available. Easy access to the highway.
We stayed at one of the American Vacation Homes in Orlando, FL. We were notified at registration that there would be a $250 deposit for any incidentals. We were asked to call the office and report any damage to the home so that WE would not be held liable. The carpet had stains everywhere. The bottom part of the microwave door handle was broken off and the housing for the unit was not properly attached. One of the panels was missing from the screen the pool area. Even though the house was listed as having a pool…the pool was dirty, the underwater light was hanging from the pool wall…the pool was not at all usable. (Also, if we had wanted the pool heated/cleaned…it would've cost an add'l. $45 per day.) A window on the garage door and some of the plastic trim on a couple of the bedroom windows was broken . The back sliding door did not lock. A SMALL plastic device was the only thing in place for security. It took three phone calls to get the correct wi-fi code. The office hours coincided with the hours we were at the park, so we could only try the code after hours. We had college students trying to access work. There is also an add'l. $95 cleaning fee…which we found out about when we checked in. It does not reflect well when a company does not provide additional fee information UNTIL check-in on a non-refundable reservation. All of the issues I notified the office about had been reported before. It was also difficult to get anyone to answer the office phone!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no phone or internet for first 2.5 days

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Had to make repeated calls to get them fixed,vacation homes seemed to pass the blame. Cost of using personel cell phone was expensive. One footboard on bed was proped up with boards, screen of and window left open, pool cover tatered and ripped..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ivory from Oregon

Beautiful clean and feels just like home!

Posted Mar 6, 2014
We had such an amazing stay! American vacation homes made everything convinent and made us feel right at home! A must stay if you are looking for a getaway away from the hotel life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Harold from Miami

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fatima from Guelph, Ont

Wonderful stay

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved the home that was offered. I was on a family vacation and everyone enjoyed the house. I loved the master bedroom.
2 out of 5
by Alberto from PR

Poor service

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff service(office administration)
The check in time was at 4pm,it was ready by 7pm The clothes drier was out of order The management not resolve the issues
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

It's ok

Posted Dec 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
I got most of what I expected based on the ratings. I had the 5 bedroom house. All was ok except that our house was inside a gated community (wasn't expecting that), we arrived very late before Thanksgiving, and the gate code wasn't in the documentation that was left for us at the check in office. 11:30 pm on Wednesday, and we were able to get in by coincidence because someone else was coming out. The rug inside the house was a mess. I would recommend that they switch to tile. Other than that, was a pleasant thanksgiving stay. They had a pool table, so the guys had fun with that. There's a cute pool too if it's warm enough. The kitchen was well equipped, cooked thanksgiving feast in there. Plenty of sitting room for everyone. I'm used to long distances, so the house didn't seem too far from any of the attractions or supermarkets. I would stay there again with a large group. But really, switch to tile.