Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent hotel with direct access to monorail

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel with nice pools, great restaurants and kids activities. Very impressed with the staff.
Location: Excellent location. This is one of three hotels connected to monorail. Magic Kingdom only a monorail ride away. Nice man made beach and two pools.
This hotel is top notch in every way. Rooms are clean and very spacious. Hotel staff excellent and extremely helpful, friendly and polite. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Foxboro, MA

Great Hotel In Disney

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: See above, plus the lobby area was jammed with non-guests who flocked to see the well publicized ginger bread house and Christmas decorations
When paying top dollar one expects first class. I ordered a double queen and when I got to the hotel they switched me to a single king, misrepresenting the reason. After first cleaning no coffee for in room maker, second night no cups and both nights did freshen up sofa bed (my "queen") I closed after I had closed it to make the room look OK in the AM nor even fold the blanket I left in the corner by the sofa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel with great atmosphere

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: We went at Christmas and the hotel lobby smelled of gingerbread and the 1900 Park Fare Breakfast was very good.
The hotel was very convenient with the monorail and boat service even though one of the days that we were going to Magic Kingdom the monorail was shut down. We took the boat which was ok but it was inconvenient not to take the monorail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooksville, FL

Money well spent.

Posted Nov 22, 2014
I got everything I paid for. Our view of the Magic Kingdom was great and I am definitely going to be staying there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

First class experience from start to finish.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
We were greeted by name by cast member Denny and escorted inside. He enthusiastically explained the layout of the hotel, made sure our Magic Bands were in order, and checked on our dining reservations and fast passes. Housekeeping responded to every request and our beautiful room was always in order. Narcoossee, Citricos and the Cafe served excellent food. The wait staff was outstanding, too. We had no complaints at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, Tx

My daughter got married at the Wedding Pavillion.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
When we first checked in, they gave my daughter a smaller room. I asked about the room we were promised when I confirmed the reservations on the telephone the prior week. It took a couple of hours, but they upgraded to a bigger room since she, her maid of honor and bridesmaids were getting their hair and make up done in the room. Since it was a wedding, the photographer also came to take photographs of everyone getting ready for the wedding. It was a wonderful event and my daughter and her new husband enjoyed the Grand Floridian!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom minnetonka, Mn

Great hotel. Perfect location tonic Kingdom

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Hotel was great and staff was exceptional. Room was cleaned twice daily which made leaving in a hotel room for a family of 5 doable. My only complaint is lack of eating options. The hotel states it has 4 restaurants and 1 quick food option. All restaurants require reservations made WELL ahead of time. We did not know this and could not get into a sit down resturant for 3 of the 4 nights there. They kept referring us to the quick service options. When paying this much for a hotel it would have been nice to eat a good dinner, chicken nuggets are only so good for so long!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic holiday

Posted Nov 5, 2014
We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the GF and had such a fantastic time. None of us wanted to leave. The hotel was fabulous and the staff all friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much money!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location, architecture, pool
Cons: Food service, monorail back to resort, buses to and from parks, soundproofing.
Location: Location was great. Monorail was the last stop on the way back from the parks, most require 2 different trains, or buses.
We bought the discounted stay from Expedia for the Grand Floridian. At best that was way too much to pay! When we arrived we were told that the bags would be brought to the room, but by another bellhop. That was evidently a code word for "tip me now", so after 1.5 hours and a few calls, our bags showed up. When we checked in we were given our magic bands and sent on our way, only to find that we did not have park entrance until they verified our information at the ticket booth. Of course that took 1-1/4 hours and we lost our first fast pass! The ticket booth manager said the hotel did not follow through. The hotel walls are paper thin, you can hear everything in the corridor. We were next to the elevator and stayed up very late with small children; it was impossible to sleep past 6:30 am with the noise in the hall. The food establishments are a joke. If you don't have a reservation you can't get in, try at least 2 days before eating. The one restaurant that is open is VERY expensive with a limited menu. The food that we did have was OK. Everything gives the institutional feel. They charge full price for every refill. Most of the staff looks like they are in their late teens, early 20's. Many were training on everything (seems like a large turnover) It is evident that they have drank too much of the corporate cool-aid and employ no experience or common sense in their actions or decisions. A smile only goes too far! If you want help seek out a retiree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edinburgh

Luxury Anniversary Treat

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this resort, the staff, the decor, the closeness to the attractions and the facilities.
Cons: If I could change anything about my experience at this hotel it would be to have more king size beds in rooms as not all guests have children.
Location: You can take the Ferryboat or Monorail to the Magic Kingdom or shuttle bus to the other Disney Parks.
When I booked this hotel I had confirmed a king size bed but unfortunately the room had 2 double beds, we asked if we could change unfortunately we could not as the resort only has about 30 rooms with king size beds which were not vacant. Their rooms are set up more for families. It was not too much of a problem for us. The room we had was lovely and looked like it had recently been redecorated. The beds were so comfortable it was a shame to have to get out of them. We had a Great view over the lagoon and part of the Magic Kingdom. Maria who turned our bed down the first night left a vase of flowers for us as she knew it was our our 25th wedding anniversary which was a very nice touch. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help with anything. We used the Magical Express bus to the airport on our return home which was a good service and saving on cab fares. All in All a Magical stay!!