Ratings based on 579 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Nice hotel close to Disney

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Rail system to get in and out of Disney without driving
Cons: Rooms need updated a bit
Location: Downtown disney is a nice pace just to walk around. We drove to St. Pete's Beach (1 1/2 hr) and had a blast. It was raining in Orlando all day.
We enjoyed the closeness of the hotel to Disney. We requested a lagoon view which I would recommend because there are a parade of boats in the evening with a light display your kids will love. The deck is too small and can actually hold 2 people comfortably and you need to stand or lift your children to see over the railing. They say most lagoon views have a view of the castle but don't be fooled. We would of had to hang a child 2 feet over the deck to look to the right to see the castle. The castle has firewooks every night but you can also see this from the boarding dock. This place is VERY expensive so save your money for food. There is not a lot ot offer for room service or pool side. I would recommend renting a car so you can go off-site but make your reservations early. Resturants fill up quickly. The rooms were not lavish but I would give it a good rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in Disney, nice hotel if it wasn't

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Please don't get me wrong- the hotel was absolutely wonderful. I had called 10 days earlier to please be placed in a room with a king size bed. This apparently could not be done, so instead I was upgraded to club level. The staff was great and the hotel was in lovely condition. However, the price many others paid for a room (upwards of $600) the hotel was not quite what some would expect. the bathroom light had to "warm up" and would take a while to get to full brightness. The light switches have new covers over what are old light switches. Some of the hotel decor needs updates. I know it is themed to be Victorian, but some of it just feels like @early 1990s trying to seems Victorian". The bathrooms are not very luxurious, as a $600 a night hotel would suggest. However, the monorail is terrific. The pools are great. The grounds are impeccable and the beauty is really some to sit back and appreciate. The perks that come with a Disney hotel are great too It was a great experience but overall, I feel like you get a lot more for less money at the local higher end chains (Ritz, Four Seasons,, Waldorf Astoria, Swan and Dolphin). My "complaints" are very minor, but if I was at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, I would have expected more. That being said, it was a great one time experience, I just don't see myself spending that same kind of money over and over again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom louisville, ky

Amazing hotel!!

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Can't say enough great things about this beautiful hotel. I can not imagine ever staying anywhere else after being here! Although very pricey...worth every penny. Can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could not be more convenient to Magic Kingdom!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Convenience, quality of service and accommodations.
Cons: Not a big fan of Disney Resort's use of the electronic wristband which is used as your room key, park entrance and credit card charges.
Location: Located directly across from Magic Kingdom!
We highly recommend the club level rooms. Start your day off with a quick breakfast, take the monorail to Magic Kingdom, take a break in the afternoon for a swim at the pool/nap, then go back to the parks in the early evening for a cooler, less frantic exploration of the parks. Plus, the same rides taken during the daytime have a different feeling at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Great location.
Disney's flagship resort did not disappoint. Narcissi's restaurant was outstanding. Our rooms's view of the lake and Magic Kingdom was spectacular. Great access to the Magic Kingdom via monorail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Disney resort

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Outstanding location for anyone spending time at Magic Kingdom and being in the monorail made travel to all other Disney attractions easy.
Cons: Limited options for casual dining
Great location, ambiance, staff, food, service, rooms and transportation options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom paris ontario canada

Gorgeous and welcoming lobby. Beautiful grounds

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Everything. The look. The location. The convenience of transportation including the monorail, water taxis and buses.
Cons: They seem to have it all covered.
Location: The location was soooo convenient to all four parks and downtown Disney . One day we visited 3 parks with ease.
Friendly greeters as you arrive. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Atmosphere is breathtaking from lobby to gardens and pools to our suite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Killingworth, CT

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Cons: The bathroom could be updated or cleaned better. It was starting to look a little tired.
The resort grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The staff was courteous and helpful. There were multiple restaurants and pools on the property so that was very convenient. The breakfast with characters at 1900 Park was a great experience. Also with a lagoon view we could see the Magic Kingdom fireworks every night and the Electrical Parade on Seven Seas Lagoon was also fun. We ate at several restaurants at the resort and they were all very good. I would definitely stay at the Grand Floridian again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Overpriced..."tired looking rooms".

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Victoria & Alberts Restaurant
Cons: Everything about the resort...particularly the rooms.
Everything about this resort suggests it's a first class place except the rooms. We don't mind paying for quality, we dined at Victoria & Alberts for a 3rd time and never worry about the price, but the two rooms we stayed in at this resort, one with a lagoon view and one with a garden view are very disappointing. The furniture is dated, the bed and linen quality is substandard and the walls are paper thin. Also when we arrived mid afternoon the only place to get food was the cafeteria style dining facility which lacked staff and choices. We also tried the bar in the main rotunda later that afternoon and staff and seating facilities were also in short supply. We shortened our stay and checked in at the Ritz Carlton in Orlando...classy, first class service and great facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Outing

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Amenties
Close and easy access to Magic Kingdom and Epcot. Food is really good at restaurants.Lots to do on site.