Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The Ohana restaurant was great. Good food.
Cons: Don't charge full price for a place under renovation.
The time there was fun and we were glad we did the magic kingdom with our son.that was about the best part of the trip. The hotel is under renovations which means no kiddie pool or main pool. Half the place was boarded up which is unpleasant when you spend a lot of money on a five day stay at the supposedly best resort in Disney. The monorail was a great convenience, when it worked. It broke down twice in the five days we were there. The bus system is poorly run. Disney resorts knows that thousands of people are there yet these buses take so long to come and go. Not fun waiting for buses for 20-30 minutes to travel 30 minutes to downtown Disney. The room was nice, except the fridge was broken the first day there, we couldn't give our son a bath because the lever broke, and the tv wasn't working for a full day. I made multiple calls to get it fixed and was given a run around. Very poorly run resort and they shouldn't charge full price for a half open resort. Most certainly will not return to this resort nor will recommend this one to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location even with major renovations

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Wasn't sure about staying at the Polynesian after hearing that the main pool was closed and there was major Reno going on but was pleasantly surprised. We liked the fact that we were given passes to blizzard beach but should have been given for length of stay considering the heat and size of secondary pool? Great lifeguard Darrel was fantastic and made the kids enjoy hanging at the little pool, he was entertaining and personable! Loved that we could watch the fireworks from the beach. Would definitely recommend visiting after renovation are complete to get the whole package!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Best hotel at Disney

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The quiet, serene atmosphere is truly remarkable in the midst of the chaos of a Disney vacation. The rooms are laso unusually roomy and pleasant.
Cons: I do not think the lobby renovaion will be an improvment. An artist's rendering of the changes seems to be Disney generic standard with less greenery.
Location: Disney, Disney, Disney. If you don't know what to do, just turn on the TV; nearby Disney experiences are described in detail.
This is the best hotel at Disney in my opinion. Although it is undergoing some construction right now that has closed the Volcano pool and made part of the lobby and some other areas a little less inviting, it still has that beautiful, quiet, serene feel that is the polar opposite of the frenetic atmosphere found in some of Disney's hotels. The monorail runs through the second floor. The rooms are very large, clean, luxurious and comfortable, and well sound proofed. Ours was an older room and was beautifully appointed; it had a safe, small fridge, two built in closets, coffeemaker, and lovely patio looking out onto greenery and the monorail. The bathroom was large and luxurious. We ate at Kona Cafe. The Tonga toast was super. Because the volcano pool is closed, the hotel gave us free admission to Blizzard Beach. However, we did not have time for that as we were only there for a couple of days. We requested a room close to the monorail and lobby and were pleased to be placed close by; we had hardly any walk to transportation, allowing us more time in the parks. The magic bands worked like a charm to open our door and the fast pass ride and dining reservations made far in advance were appreciated. If you buy through expedia you will need to get Disney's ID # from them to activate your magic bands through my disney experience. Call expedia for it. Enter your address and fastpass selections in Disney's system well in advance of your arrival so you aren't disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New in 15' ?

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Stayed here 09,10,11&14 Sorry to see the resort go to waste. The new vacation bungalows do nothing for the resort but obstruct the view over the lake. I hope the re-lift helps but not confident innless a new curriculum put in place. Pool side activities? C'mon unless every one has a toddler. Mix in the teen stuff in too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Excellent main desk-very helpful, informative.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: noise from other rooms
Location: monorail a plus; bus service great; watercraft fun
The only negative (and a small one) you can hear the clumping & noise from other rooms-otherwise, great pool, movies, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Nice rooms close to all disney parks

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Very comfortable and enjoyable stay, rooms recently refurbished. Further hotel refurbishments under way. Overall a nice hotel and an enjoyable stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magic bands useless for two whole days

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Hotel being refurbished should have been told when booking and offered discount of at least 50 percent. Staff messed up when checking in and magic bands failed took 2 whole days of wasted time to sort out!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AR

The hotel is being refurbished and NEEDS it!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
The location is great! The hotel is old and for the price --a huge disappointment. The water taxi and monorail are nice options over the bus but dont service all parks. The food options are poor but the service was nice. Like all things Disney---way over-priced! If I am paying $300 per night...and $30 for a bowl of oatmeal and pancakes--it should be far better than it was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mclean

Best place to be when you live Magic Kingdom

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Great to leave the park at peek hours and chill out at the pool before returning And seeing the fireworks from the beach, best ever!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Tropical-Beautiful setting and floral scent

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: As stated above, the view and tropical setting
Cons: The food choice, quality and less expensive
Location: We like renting a car along with using the monorail
Stayed for 8 days and 7 nights. Could have used more help at check in process as the Magical Express and Wrist bands were not fully explained.