Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

under renovation

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: location, large rooms
Location: near everything
stayed at this resort before. Much more beautiful when it was not being renovated. Showing its age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye Brook, NY

Come back to see new development

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: One more high scale restaurant
Location: Nothing beats visiting Disney Parks.
It was nice as is, but after this renovation, it could be fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close hotel down!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
We travel quite a lot and have stayed in many hotels in Disney world. we will never stay in this resort ever again! They are remodeling hotel with no amenities available except the restaurants which are very difficult to even dine in since everyone from other hotels and visitors reserve seating. There is NO seating available even though you are a guest at the hotel and please don't bother with concierge as they are useless. You can't even call them through your hotel room to speak to them so they can assist you. I am 7 months pregnant and almost fell multiple times as the floor was getting cleaned with no caution signs placed to warn you from a possible fall. Our room had dust all around refrigerator and they apparently had a shortage on toiletries as they never replaced shampoo and shower gel throughout our stay! Overall the experience in this hotel was terrible and I definitely don't recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy a vacation and nice accomodations! I paid 341 dollars a night for a VERY poor hotel experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
This hotel was very disappointing. When I checked in, I quickly put my belongings in the room and left. I may have been in the room for all of 5 minutes at the time. When I returned to my room, I noticed the odor of vomit. Basically, the hotel cleared this room for occupancy prior to cleaning and sanitizing the room when it was apparent that the previous guest vomited in the room and left a mess behind. When I asked for a new room, the woman that I spoke to indicated it may be possible if there was any rooms available. Not for nothing, the hotel should not have put me in the room in the first place. Since it was already an inconvenience to move from room to room, I did not appreciate the woman telling me "if a room was available". I'm sure she would not appreciate to be in a room filled with the stench of vomit. I would never stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Very disappointing

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The Ohana restaurant was great. Good food.
Cons: Don't charge full price for a place under renovation.
The time there was fun and we were glad we did the magic kingdom with our son.that was about the best part of the trip. The hotel is under renovations which means no kiddie pool or main pool. Half the place was boarded up which is unpleasant when you spend a lot of money on a five day stay at the supposedly best resort in Disney. The monorail was a great convenience, when it worked. It broke down twice in the five days we were there. The bus system is poorly run. Disney resorts knows that thousands of people are there yet these buses take so long to come and go. Not fun waiting for buses for 20-30 minutes to travel 30 minutes to downtown Disney. The room was nice, except the fridge was broken the first day there, we couldn't give our son a bath because the lever broke, and the tv wasn't working for a full day. I made multiple calls to get it fixed and was given a run around. Very poorly run resort and they shouldn't charge full price for a half open resort. Most certainly will not return to this resort nor will recommend this one to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location even with major renovations

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Wasn't sure about staying at the Polynesian after hearing that the main pool was closed and there was major Reno going on but was pleasantly surprised. We liked the fact that we were given passes to blizzard beach but should have been given for length of stay considering the heat and size of secondary pool? Great lifeguard Darrel was fantastic and made the kids enjoy hanging at the little pool, he was entertaining and personable! Loved that we could watch the fireworks from the beach. Would definitely recommend visiting after renovation are complete to get the whole package!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Best hotel at Disney

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The quiet, serene atmosphere is truly remarkable in the midst of the chaos of a Disney vacation. The rooms are laso unusually roomy and pleasant.
Cons: I do not think the lobby renovaion will be an improvment. An artist's rendering of the changes seems to be Disney generic standard with less greenery.
Location: Disney, Disney, Disney. If you don't know what to do, just turn on the TV; nearby Disney experiences are described in detail.
This is the best hotel at Disney in my opinion. Although it is undergoing some construction right now that has closed the Volcano pool and made part of the lobby and some other areas a little less inviting, it still has that beautiful, quiet, serene feel that is the polar opposite of the frenetic atmosphere found in some of Disney's hotels. The monorail runs through the second floor. The rooms are very large, clean, luxurious and comfortable, and well sound proofed. Ours was an older room and was beautifully appointed; it had a safe, small fridge, two built in closets, coffeemaker, and lovely patio looking out onto greenery and the monorail. The bathroom was large and luxurious. We ate at Kona Cafe. The Tonga toast was super. Because the volcano pool is closed, the hotel gave us free admission to Blizzard Beach. However, we did not have time for that as we were only there for a couple of days. We requested a room close to the monorail and lobby and were pleased to be placed close by; we had hardly any walk to transportation, allowing us more time in the parks. The magic bands worked like a charm to open our door and the fast pass ride and dining reservations made far in advance were appreciated. If you buy through expedia you will need to get Disney's ID # from them to activate your magic bands through my disney experience. Call expedia for it. Enter your address and fastpass selections in Disney's system well in advance of your arrival so you aren't disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New in 15' ?

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Stayed here 09,10,11&14 Sorry to see the resort go to waste. The new vacation bungalows do nothing for the resort but obstruct the view over the lake. I hope the re-lift helps but not confident innless a new curriculum put in place. Pool side activities? C'mon unless every one has a toddler. Mix in the teen stuff in too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Excellent main desk-very helpful, informative.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: noise from other rooms
Location: monorail a plus; bus service great; watercraft fun
The only negative (and a small one) you can hear the clumping & noise from other rooms-otherwise, great pool, movies, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Nice rooms close to all disney parks

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Very comfortable and enjoyable stay, rooms recently refurbished. Further hotel refurbishments under way. Overall a nice hotel and an enjoyable stay