Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, Fl.

Turning old the hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Needs improvement
My family and stay for two nights, the bathroom was the worst part, Didn't clean and didn't have toilet paper and towels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

First room had mold. Second room was an "upgrade"

Posted Oct 9, 2014
We were "upgraded" to the "executive suite" after bringing our bags to our first room and finding mold and a horrible musty smell/wet air. The "executive suite" was what I would have expected of a lowest rated basic hotel room: dampness, entirely uncomfortable sofa bed, ripped shower curtain with no liner, no available ice machine (at least not on the first floor). 80% of the pool loungers were broken, but the water was clear and the bottom of the pool was mostly clean. Breakfast was fruit and pastries, hot breakfast was an additional charge. Will be going back to our mainstay, the Renaissance by Marriott right across 436. Worth the little extra for clean, comfortable EXPANSIVE rooms and a hot breakfast daily. Howard Johnson wasn't the worst hotel in existence but it definitely was also not worth the discomfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: Change out all the furniture. It's garbage.
I don't know how this place received a 4 star rating. I stayed in far more well maintained and furnished hotels that were rated a 2 or 3 on a scale of 1-5. Almost all the furniture was damaged. The laminates on the furniture were peeling, the refrigerator was wobbling. The rooms have external access which is NOT GOOD in this area. It's a terrible part of town. There are far better places to stay in a much safer part of the town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was not ready at 4p.m. check in time.

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Had to find a maid to clean the room. Maids were great. after the room was cleaned we only had 15min. to get ready for the wedding.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
I do not like visit this hotel again is nasty hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

POOL PARTY AND TRASHY MUSIC

Posted Aug 18, 2014
POOL PARTY WITH WANNA BE BAYWATCH DISGUSTING MUSIC AND BOOZE INTERRUPTED MY STAY!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winston Salem, NC

Families with small children beware!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The outdoor pool with the waterfall looked inviting, but we did not stay long enough to see it up close. The room appeared to be relatively clean.
Cons: Everything needs to be updated. I would not stay more than one night for fear of what else I would discover wrong.
Location: There seemed to be plenty of places to eat nearby. We also passed what appeared to be a penitentiary an exit or two away. Easy to access from highway.
The online reviews and pictures did not help us this time. I trusted that this hotel was going to be average, worth the money and clean. We only needed it for one night, thankfully. We arrived close to 10pm after being at a theme park all day. The associate at the counter was very friendly, I will give them that. She went out of her way to make sure we were satisfied....because, the hotel is home of a night club right inside the lobby. And the designated smoking area is right outside of the lobby doors. So, we had to endure cigarette smoke and profanity while checking in. So much profanity, in fact, that I had to send my children back to the car to wait with the grandparents. Once we arrived to our rooms (doors to the outside, not an interior hallway, which means all you have to do is step outside your room to smoke) we found that the air conditioner was leaking and the carpet was soaked which made the room smell funky. Also the toilet didn't flush. So, we were sent to another room. The TV would not turn on, so I checked to see if it was plugged in.... It was plugged into a power strip along with the mini fridge, coffee pot, microwave and lamps all plugged into it. I reached my hand in, and turned on the strip, hoping not to be electrocuted. Everything looks run-down and over used. Given the characters I saw when checking in, I didn't feel completely safe staying here. It may feel differently if you check in before the lounge opens.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

NEVER AGAIN.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: NEVER AGAIN.
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Location: Location is fine.
The outside looks fine, the lobby is good, then you see the carpet that is outside your room and you want to barf. Then you get in the room and it's more humid than outside so everything is damp. There was MOLDY CLOTHES left in the room. It was STILL there when we left. Had to call multiple times for anything to get done if at all. The HOT breakfast was canceled a week before we got there, and they posted the wrong time in the dinning area so we missed whatever there was available. NEVER AGAIN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Good experience and accessible to many places. That is all I have to say
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cali, Colombia

I recommend it

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Quiet, Good pool Good breakfast.
Cons: I would take away carpets room. My room had a lot of humidity in the walls.
Location: Far from theme parks. Almost 45 mins in a regular traffic.
I stayed for 7 nights. Good hotel and quiet. Staff is very kindly. I would come back if it necessary.