Ratings based on 758 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trenton, OH

You really get what you pay for.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location, rate, pool
Cons: The hotel needs some serious upgrades.
Location: Tons of options to eat
Overall, the hotel wasn't awful but it wasn't great either. Here are some pro's and con's to staying here. Pro's: -For my family, it was only 10 minutes from the family we were visiting, so that was super convenient. -Very close to I4 -Lots of places to eat on 436 and very close to the mall. -The rooms were clean -Awesome pool -Hotel rate was reasonable (but beware) Con's: -The hotel is very run down. While the rooms were clean and the pool was amazing, the hotel has seen better days. The outdoor furniture is crumbling and falling apart. They do provide towels in the area but there were only 2-3 in the basket at any time. -We were in the hotel 7 days and only received room service 3 out of 7 days. My nephew and I took our own trash to the dumpster several nights after returning after a day's adventure. The bed linens were only changed twice and one night, after returning back, they had only made 1 out of the 2 beds and left the dirty sheets on the floor but didn't bother replacing the sheets for the other bed. -The staff was very slow to respond to our complaints. When we called to have our trash removed or for them to provide new/clean towels, it was at least an hour before anyone showed up. Our trash was never removed, they gave us new trash bags and only brought 1 towel and 1 wash rag. We often had to snag clean towels from the housekeeping carts in the halls as well as trash bags. -Management did not seem surprised by our complainants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nicht zu empfehlen....unfreundliches Personal!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Schlüsselkarten müssen jeden Tag neu beschriftet werden; Fitnessraum kann man nicht betreten, da Schloss defekt; Zimmer wurden an zwei Tagen nicht gereinigt, noch die Handtücher ausgetauscht; sehr unfeundliches Personal; der Gesamtzustand des Hotels ist erbärmlich!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from souther california

Not what we expected

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Had 2 joining rooms as we were traveling with part of a team. 1 room had a smaller pullout couch than the other room. Front desk staff told us they were the same size after we went to ask about it and ask for sheets. Toilet paper roll wasn't full. Breakfast was minimal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Stay Away! Believe the bad reviews!

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Mixed reviews, but a hotline deal convinced us to try it.We got to our room after going through a ridiculous maze of elevators, stairs, doors & hallways. Brought all our bags in, went to use the restroom and the toilet was backed up bad with fecal matter and toilet paper and had obviously been there awhile as it was totally dried. Disgusted, I called and told the desk. They said they'd send someone up to fix it. Then a couple minutes later we realized if the room had been cleaned at all they would have seen that, so I called again and said we want a different room because of this. They said ok bring the keys and we'll switch. So I waited in the room while my husband went to switch cuz I wasn't about to lug the bags all the way if the new room was close. While I was waiting in there the maid came in without knocking, and was shocked to find me in there. She said the room hadn't even been started she was just bringing in fresh towels. She knew about the toilet and said the desk should have too. She left and said she'd finish after we left. So we get our stuff to our new room and felt the need to look around after the disgusting first room. The coffee maker was overflowing and had to be dumped, and the top sheet had 5 long black hairs on it. So I angrily ripped the sheets off and got the bed remade with clean linens. They gave us the linens to make it ourself instead of doing it for us. No discounts/comps or even a sorry! Awful management and even worse establishment!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location for what we needed..kind of hard to

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: nice pool area
wasn't at the hotel much,we were moving someone to the area.....what we needed it had
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Took one look at this hotel and went to another even though i had prepaid for the room!!!! Looks nothing like the photos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Dirty sheets and no pillows the first night. When asked for pillows after a n evening check in , we were told that they had access to none.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mishawaka, IN

Dirty towels, hair on everything

Posted Jun 13, 2015
We stayed at this location because it was near sanford hotel. It was so gross. The towels had red stains on them, not sure what it was. There was hair all over the bathroom floor and on the desk. Cords were covered in dust, peeling plaster on the walls. The elevator was dirty, every glass door was covered in fingerprints, and just plain filthy. We had to park around the back of the building, felt completely unsafe. There were people sitting in cars that were just hanging out watching the cars and people. We requested a wake up call, said it was taken care of, but we got nothing. TV wasn't working correctly, neither was the remote. The furniture was stained, couldn't/wouldn't sit on any of them. The coffee table was either stained of completely scuffed so it was white in spots. The floor was so gross I made everyone wear shoes before walking around. I would not recommend it to anyone. In fact I would advise people to stay somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg VA

One to skip

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: the continental breakfast was good. After the hotel condition I thought we would skip the breakfast but my husband as a sense of adventure.
Cons: I think this is beyond "cleaning up" it needs to be torn down or MAJOR renovations - gut job
Location: conveniently located but he entrance hard to find in the dark
the hotel is difficult to find in the dark. The room was scary dilapidated...carpet, walls, bathroom hallways, door knobs broken, lock broken on main door to room. It is not that I don't think they try but this hotel needs to be torn down. "Gross" comes to mind as a one word to describe. I hate to give a bad review but this one you want to skip. I do not know if the is Howard Johnson's norm but I think we will go back to Hampton Inns
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Ok hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Convenient location and spacious rooms
Cons: More welcoming staff
Everything in the hotel was ok, until my last night when i discovered bed bugs.