Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location-Old, looked like they're renovating

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Needs updates bad. Staff was great, very nice. Free upgrade without asking. The location was awesome. Right on Lake plenty of dining choices and bars near. Nice park and marine activities. It did appear they might be updating if so I would raise my rating once complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Amazing Find, great price

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Everything about the place was charming. Rooms were surprisingly nice. Great decor and ambience. Perfect romantic getaway. Felt peaceful/magical
Cons: The place is undergoing some exterior renovations, which are somewhat needed.
Location: On penninsula overlooking a large beautiful lake. Awesome view. Walkable downtown, lots of places to eat, explore. I ate at Shantell's, even better!
Needed an overnight place to unwind before a flight out of Sanford on Allegiant. Looking for a meditative place to write, practice yoga, swim a bit, eat some good food. I didn't know Sanford, didn't think such a place existed. I was very surprised when my GPS took me here! At first glance the view was amazing, the exterior of the hotel looks small and a little dated, but the view cancelled that out, and then when I saw the rooms, I felt like I had found a trendy, almost artsy place by the beach or in the mountains. Great rooms (showers a bit dated). I practiced yoga in the banquet room looking out over the lake in air conditioning(hot day). Swam in the pool (3ft - 9ft) fun for kids & adults too. Wrote a chapter for my book sitting at my table in my room. I left the door open to allow the breeze in off the lake. It was a Sunday evening & needed to find some good food. There was a bar & a pizza place super close, but I wanted an experience. I can find bars & pizza anywhere. The clerk, can't emphasize enough how friendly, charming and helpful she was, after helping me find a place to practice yoga, looked up a middle eastern deli. It had just closed a bit earlier, which was slightly disappointing. But sometimes things in life happen for a reason, and she next found a Soul food restaurant named Shantell's back up Sandford street a few blocks. Met Shantell, ate jamaican jerked shrimp and chicken. It was AMAZING! Perfect meal to end a perfect day. Loved it all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice hotel ruined by rude guests from wedding

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: I liked the old charm of the hotel and the pool was nice
Cons: Better monitoring of pool use after hours and control of drunk wedding guests using the ballroom
I liked the hotel but my experience there was miserable due to other guests. The hotel has a ballroom that hosts events. On the night we stayed, there was a wedding reception. The wedding guests were drunk and obnoxious standing outside the front of the hotel. We stayed in this hotel for one night only for a place to sleep near the Sanford Airport, flight was super early. The wedding guests made their way over to the pool with screaming children well past the time of pool closing, 10pm. We slept like crap due to all the noise past midnight. I recommend the pool gates being locked at closing. I would like to mention the check-in was very pleasant because the concierge was nice and helpful giving us airport information.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

It's an okay hotel.

Posted Jun 8, 2015
It's an old hotel, which is okay. They're remodeling the rooms but are doing them as cheap as possible, still old A/C units and other stuff, new(ER) paint, beds, and TV. I did not check out the pool or other areas. I'd only stay again if no other hotels were available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Nice location on lake

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Little cleaner and details attended ro
Location: Nice town of Sanford....near auto train
No tub stopper....rainstorm and door has large puddle of water inside room...pool dirty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

The view is breathtaking.....

Posted May 26, 2015
Outside of the view, I wouldn't stay there. The rooms require professional updating as well as the remainder of the property. Non-existent amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Wasnt close to beach 30 miles from ocean

Posted May 26, 2015
St johns river view was great food was close by easy to navigate around nice people
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older hotel but the area is nice

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Location was nice. Staff was very accomodating
Cons: Upkeep of the building. Tile, bath tub, etc.
Location: It is set on a beautiful lake with walking paths. Short walk to town which has some very nice resturaunts (An excellent German one!) and art gallery,
The hotel was a bit of a dissapointment with paper thin walls and chipped tiles/flooring. It seems to draw many fisherman for extended stay situations? The rooms were furnished nicely with refrigerators and microwaves. Just bring your earplugs if you have a snoring person in the room next to you! The location is set on a beautiful lake with town just a short walk away. It is one of the few options near the Sanford Airport so I would recommend it for this situation. Come early enough to enjoy the walking paths! Just don't set expectations too high for a 4 star hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, fla

Beautiful view, quaint hotel

Posted May 12, 2015
The staff was very friendly, and professional. The room was clean. Was much quieter on Saturday night. I think people forget that there are people trying to sleep, and voices are loud walking past doors. And hanging out on balconies, smoking. I wish people were a little more considerate of others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A old hotel in need of a makeover....

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Like the location in old Stanford but it's time to up grade to accommodate the new look of the community around it.