Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NH

An old funky hotel out of the 20's.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Character.
Cons: 0
Location: Central to Park Avenue and all it offers
Its character only enhanced by the weathered leather lobby furniture, the creaky floors and the Dickensian front desk. You'd almost expect Mr. Crachet to tend to your inquiry. This is the place to stay if the stainless starkness of modern America leaves you cold.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA

nice area

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: see above
Location: nice stores, good walking area
old hotel and needs some help. Our room windows faced an ugly rear area. Room too dark as a result. Small room, small bath. Both areas with little room to put clothes, suit cases, toiletries, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by michelefrom Naples Fl

Close to all eateries

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Liked that you can park the car and not need it during your stay.
Cons: Unfortunately with the train tracks behind the hotel we heard loud train noises during the night. Also the club next door played music until late.
Location: Park Ave had everything you would need for an enjoyable stay. I would like to bring my daughter next time.
Cute historic hotel near many great restaurants and wine bars. Lots of shops to browse and caf├ęs to sit and people watch.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Harbor Bluffs, Florida

Disappointing

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Its history & location. Beds and linens were very comfortable.
Cons: Service & management. The public places in the hotel are cluttered. A doorman would be wonderful.
Location: If you like shopping & dining you are in the right spot. There are also several museums within walking distance.
My wife and I stayed here for two nights for an event held in the hotel. From the beginning of the stay it struck me that although the staff was friendly, they had no clue about hotel operations, service, or opportunities to enhance their patrons experience. This hotel is in dire need of life...new life....new ownership. It wasn't until we were literally walking out the doors after our stay that we were offered assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samfrom Brandon, FL

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: The ambiance. A lot of reviewers deride the age of the building but I feel this is part of its charm.
Cons: I thought the mattresses were way too firm for my taste (and I travel a lot). But others may find them just right.
Location: You are in the heart of Park Avenue right beside Central Park. Great dining right across the street @ Luma and about 4 blocks away is Cast & Larder.
We stayed for 2 nights in a garden side room for our 13th anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay and would be pleased to come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveling Grandfrom Melbourne FL

A Great 2 Days in Winter Park

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Great staff, old kind of romantic building.
Cons: Our room could have used another reading lamp and a mirror in the bedroom.
Location: Plenty of shopping and eating and people watching. There are two museums within walking distance. It's a lovely town.
I stayed at the Park Plaza Hotel in Winter Park with a friend for one night. We were in town for a social function and enjoyed the shopping and dining that the town offers. We loved the hotel; it reminded us of older hotels in Europe. The staff was so nice and friendly. Really we loved it. However, the building is old as are many of the furnishing, so don't expect anything lavish or new.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: It's in Winter Park, FL.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Lots of shopping.
Room and bathroom are small and outdated. Staff is incompetent. Stay in the Alfond Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gethin683from Cardiff, UK

Period grandeur and highly recommended

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Location, location and service
Cons: Nothing wrong
Location: Fantastic
This is a charming boutique hotel and situated in the heart of Winter Park. Do not come here if you want modern anonymity it is idiosyncratic. There may be noise from people enjoying themselves on the street at restaurants opposite - we did not find that intrusive. Trains go pass in the night sometimes and they hoot. That is romantic - but not if you are an insomniac. The staff are exemplary, valet parking complimentary and room service breakfast continental is standard. They might offer meusli as an alternate or Post cereals multigrains rather than muffins especially for European guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A convenient, quality hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2012
A delightful hotel located in the very centre of the village...warm, cosy decor, friendly helpful staff... and an excellent restaurant to round out your stay. Hightly recommended !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Real guest care

Posted Mar 6, 2012
This is a delightful period piece of a hotel, in the most desirable part of town. Some reviews commented on train noise -- the hotel staff are doing everything they can to work on this, including working with the legislature. There was a noisy party going on at the bar across the street at midnight; 15 minutes after I called down to the front desk, the police moved in and shut the place down. These people at the Park Plaza REALLY try and look after their guests!