Ratings based on 1,907 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Bad Experience

Posted Jul 16, 2014
We requested towel service for the week, after our first long day when we return to the suite, we found that they didn't change our towels so we have to call front desk to send the new towel to us. This also happened on the second night that they forgot to replace our towels. The most upset experience is that we left the hotel on Sunday 06/7/2014 at 10 am and I left my favourite plush toy on the bed ( covered by the quilt by accident) as we were busy packing other stuff. After we went home and all a sudden I realized something was missing and we called the hotel at around 6:30pm same day to report we left a plush doll in the master bedroom. We got an email responded immediately and said they will look into it, no worry. But since then we haven't hear back from them. We have to call them everyday to check status. They either said the house keeper is off or the person who in charge of our case is off and we never got a proper reply back if they find it or not! This is my first time that I left something in a hotel and it was such a bad experience since all my other friend who left their stuff behind are able to retrieve and send back to them. My plush doll is a 20cm x 25cm x18 cm stuffed doll and I know is my mistake to left him over. But I already report immediately and I don't think the house keeper will miss it when they clean the bed. I have sent a sperate e-mail to booking department to forward it to the exsecutive house keeping. At the end, they couldn't locate it!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
First I sincerely apologize for your lost doll and the lack of communication from the proper department. It may have gotten wrapped up in the bedding an no one would have seen it here at the property. Our laundry is sent out. I will be sharing your information with our staff. I do hope that you will stay with us in the future and give us another try. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

A spacious and comfortable suite

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Location: Close to Downtown Disney, Disney Parks and Outlet Mall on Vineyard. Lots of nice restaurants on Vineyard to try.
We were a group of six and this suite accommodated us really well. It was a home away from home and we always looked forward to getting "home" after a long day at the mall or parks. i loved the master suite and OMG, The Bed!! We had a couple of very minor concerns which the efficient staff were able to assist promptly. The little 'market' area in the club building is also very handy to pickup items like milk, beer or wine. All in all a very nice place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. I will share with our staff. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norristown,Pa

World Quest Resort

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: You are close to Downtown Disney all Disney parks, Sea World and Universal park.
For my family this is the best place to stay outside the Disney Resort Hotels and a lot less expensive.Instead of a room in Disney this you have your own condo.You are close to all Disney Parks and right around the corner to Downtown Disney.They also offer discount tickets to all Disney and universal parks as well as buses to the parks daily.You can also get breakfast in the morning.Swimming pool is opened at 6 am to 11pm and they also have a tiki bar at the pool area.Check it out you will be glad you did.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you Wally for the 5 stars and for staying with us. I will share your comments with our staff. Thank you! Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, QC

Very spacious room for 6 guests or less

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Proximity to all Disney parks, spacious condo like room with all appliances, great pool.
Cons: The lighting in the dining room makes for a very cold ambiance. Only one of the showers had lighting above the shower. Continental breakfast is so so.
Location: Less than 10 minutes from Disney parks, about 1 hour to Kennedy space center (highly recommend). Less than 2 hours from Clearwater beach (very nice!).
Very spacious hotel room, feels more like a condo than a hotel room with its 3 bedrooms (4 beds in total), 3 bathrooms, washer and dryer, extremely large dining and family room. We are a family of six and everyone slept comfortably in a bed. We had rented a mini-van so I cannot speak about their shuttle service since we did not use it. The drive to any of the Disney parks was a breeze, felt like less than 10 minutes to drive to any of the parks, including the water parks. The pool is very nice. Most of the pool is rather shallow which allows adults and most kids to stand on the bottom with their head out of the water, which is safer and more fun when you want to trow beach balls around (they supply beach balls and a few other pool toys). The pool is also open from 7am to 11pm too. Thei continental breakfast is not the best. Only 2 kinds of celeral including Froot Loops, pastries and toast/bagels, yogurt, but no fruit. We had most of our breakfasts in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you Simon for your kind comments and for staying with us. So nice to know you enjoyed your stay. Our fruit at breakfast is near the main door, you may have missed it. But, oranges and apples are there daily during breakfast. Hope you come back again in the future. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cherry hill, NJ

Nice hotel close to the outlets and Disney.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient to outlets and Disney attractions.
Cons: Kitchen was not fully loaded with supplies as stated. Had to go to Dollar Store to buy some kitchen utensils.
Location: Orlando Outlets, Mini golf, Outback Resturant and Publix.
Really liked the fact that the kids had their own room and bathroom. Great having washer/dryer in room. Arrived before check in time and staff was very kind in giving us key to pool area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you Jen for your comments and for staying with us. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melb

Great venue, facilities were good, pool was great

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Hotel was great need a car though. Internet didn't work all the time but generally good, breakfast was average and not big enough to cater for all the guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time for your comments. I will make our staff aware of the issue you had our internet. I do apologize. I hope that you return in the future. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Orlando stay

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Great place to stay beds need new mattresses. Wifi was really poor at our location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five stars and for your comments. I will share them with our staff. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More home than hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: the size and quality of the room.
Cons: The breakfast was just ok.
Location: Walt Disney World was very close by.
This is a beautiful facility with a full kitchen, two bedrooms and two baths. It was quite a nice surprise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. So nice to know that you like our beautiful property. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

It was okay.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Beds were uncomfortable, no comfortable seating. Kitchen not conducive to cooking.Affordable, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you Marty or your comments. I do apologize that the everything was not what comfortable for your stay. We did just changed all beds this year. I will share your comments with our staff. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: None
Location: Good
I had good time. Everything was excellent. experience was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2014 by Jo, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars and for sharing your comments. Sincerely, Jo Bailey Director of Sales