Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location: An excellent location for getting to Aintree Racecourse.
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room was very comfortable and clean with quality clean bed linen and towels. Would strongly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Denmead

Good overnight stop for business trips

Posted Feb 20, 2015 
Very nice freindly private hotel, good food a little quiet at night as there's no real bar area, but will definately use again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marius

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Karenfrom Nathan from cullompton

Excellent all round

Posted Jan 29, 2015 
Fantastic little hotel, great restaurant and walks along the canal. Will stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by nigelfrom Middlesbrough

quiet retreat. very clean and polite staff.

Posted Oct 29, 2014 
All staff were very polite and accommodating. room cleanliness was immaculate but a little small for family of 4. Staff did try to move us to a bigger room, but occupied. The owner was very professional on finding a solution to our problem. We were very grateful for her efforts. service 5 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2014 
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

pleasant short break

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The service and facilities were fine, everywhere was very clean. Left to come and go as we please, with no fuss.
Cons: Would point out that the PAT test on the hairdryer is 4 years out of date, the kettle and bedside lamps have not been tested at all- your Insurance?
Location: Conveniently situated for 'historical' things - Old Rufford Hall,etc, and travel to Blackpool, Liverpool,etc.
Have stayed here before as it is a pleasant hotel near to Ormskirk and Edge Hill University. Booking in (and out) was polite and efficient. Room was a good size and of a good standard. Did not have a main meal in the restaurant, but the breakfast was very good. Although situated on a main road, the traffic noise was not intrusive at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay, slightly noisy, excellent food

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: clean, comfortable, evening meals
Cons: insulate rooms to reduce noise, breakfast ok
very comfortable clean room, walls are a bit thin so can hear the neighbors, restaurant meals in the evening are excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Italy

An extremely disappointing stay.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself was clean but noise was extreme and facilities were poor. I will not be staying here again.
Cons: Pay attention to your customer care - do not rely on the restaurant for good reviews. Have air conditioning installed. Upgrade your internet.
Be aware that the majority of 'excellent' reviews for this place are for the restaurant, not for the hotel. The hotel is on an extremely noisy main road and the traffic is fairly relentless all night. The room was small and it was a hot spell so I needed to open the windows - no air conditioning - so could not block the noise out at all. I see from other reviews that the hotel manager has told other people (on review sites, as a response to similar complaints) they "should have asked for a fan". Well, I did not see that until after my stay but in any event, ***it should not be necessary*** for me to have to ask for a fan! It should be provided as standard, or at the very least guests should automatically be asked if they want one in warm weather - particularly since this has obviously been a complaint before. Very, very poor customer care in my view. The internet access did not work in my room, and barely worked in other areas which was highly inconvenient. There was no bar or lounge area, the only place to have a drink was in the restaurant. And breakfast was not included which at this price I would expect it to be. I ate at the restaurant which was expensive. It was late-ish (about 9) by the time I was able to eat and a lot of dishes were unavailable. The food I was able to get was nice. I visit this area relatively frequently. There are other, less expensive and more customer-focused hotels in this area. I have no intention of staying here again.