Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

pleasant short break

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The service and facilities were fine, everywhere was very clean. Left to come and go as we please, with no fuss.
Cons: Would point out that the PAT test on the hairdryer is 4 years out of date, the kettle and bedside lamps have not been tested at all- your Insurance?
Location: Conveniently situated for 'historical' things - Old Rufford Hall,etc, and travel to Blackpool, Liverpool,etc.
Have stayed here before as it is a pleasant hotel near to Ormskirk and Edge Hill University. Booking in (and out) was polite and efficient. Room was a good size and of a good standard. Did not have a main meal in the restaurant, but the breakfast was very good. Although situated on a main road, the traffic noise was not intrusive at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable stay, slightly noisy, excellent food

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: clean, comfortable, evening meals
Cons: insulate rooms to reduce noise, breakfast ok
very comfortable clean room, walls are a bit thin so can hear the neighbors, restaurant meals in the evening are excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Italy

An extremely disappointing stay.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel itself was clean but noise was extreme and facilities were poor. I will not be staying here again.
Cons: Pay attention to your customer care - do not rely on the restaurant for good reviews. Have air conditioning installed. Upgrade your internet.
Be aware that the majority of 'excellent' reviews for this place are for the restaurant, not for the hotel. The hotel is on an extremely noisy main road and the traffic is fairly relentless all night. The room was small and it was a hot spell so I needed to open the windows - no air conditioning - so could not block the noise out at all. I see from other reviews that the hotel manager has told other people (on review sites, as a response to similar complaints) they "should have asked for a fan". Well, I did not see that until after my stay but in any event, ***it should not be necessary*** for me to have to ask for a fan! It should be provided as standard, or at the very least guests should automatically be asked if they want one in warm weather - particularly since this has obviously been a complaint before. Very, very poor customer care in my view. The internet access did not work in my room, and barely worked in other areas which was highly inconvenient. There was no bar or lounge area, the only place to have a drink was in the restaurant. And breakfast was not included which at this price I would expect it to be. I ate at the restaurant which was expensive. It was late-ish (about 9) by the time I was able to eat and a lot of dishes were unavailable. The food I was able to get was nice. I visit this area relatively frequently. There are other, less expensive and more customer-focused hotels in this area. I have no intention of staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeanpaulfrom wigin

Nice and quiet

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice well equipped room and friendly staff, Restaurant looked popular but didn't get chance to try as only stayed 1 night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stevefrom Beverley

A pleasure to stay

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3rd visit for my wife and me - friendly staff, comfortable rooms and great food at both dinner and breakfast. That's why we keep coming back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Too far from ormskirk . Great staff