Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Nice visit, very relaxing. Black Bear Rest. was somewhat disappointing in its value. service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mo

Want To Go Back

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Our experience was outstanding. It was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed over the couple of years. The room was immaculate with a new flatscreen TV. The staff was super friendly. I want to go back this summer for three or four days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Clean but dated...

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The hotel itself is very dated, although there are signs all over indicating renovation is being done. The rooms were very clean. The double sinks in the bathroom made our stay a whole lot easier for a family of 4. The walls are paper thin. If you are in a joining room (although the door in between is locked) you can pretty much hear every conversation as if they were in our room. If there are loud people staying next to you forget about sleeping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom rural Western Missouri.

Convention participation

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The beauty of the location. The lake is quite peaceful, especially at this time of year.
Location: Easy to find and whatever you might need is on sight.
Attending the Christian convention so most of our time was spent in classes. We did not use much of the resort amenities but as a resort location, it was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

lake view wonderful

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: location, comfort of the rooms
Cons: they were nice
Location: boat cruises, horse riding,
the lake view rooms perfect, nice designed , friendly staff, perfect located in the lake Ozark, great for families with small kids, nice indoor pools, horse and pony riding, we really enjoyed and relax...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
There's a lot to do for children not as much for adults.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Nice get away

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Overall it is a great place to visit. The only complaint I have is the walls are paper thin. You can literally hear every word of a conversation the people in the neighboring room is having.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rural Missouri

Convention attendee

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Guest room was very nice.
Location: Resort easy to access from Highway 54. Many activities there as well as in lake area.
Attended a convention there. Appears that hotel is in process of remodeling and updating. One elevator was not in working condition and another stalled during visit. Hopefully these issues will be remedied when repairs completed. Convention facilities nice and food good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at Tan-Tar-A Resort. All feedback is taken in a constructive manner and welcomed as a means to understand where we need to focus to do better. We do hope when you are traveling in the area again, that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris Rfrom Benton

Tan Tar A

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff were less than pleasant to deal with on almost every occasion. Our first room located on the 4th floor did not have elevator access. We do not require handicap access but with 2 small children and luggage is was less than convenient. The noise level from the gymnasium/dance studio was so loud we could not hear the television and decided to request a new location. Fortunately we did get moved to a room with just 2 levels of stairs. I would not recommend this hotel to friends or family. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JULIEfrom Missouri

Unsatisfied with the service

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a good stay but our room was not cleaned when we came back that evening. No fresh towels and the beds were not made. We called down to see what happed and they said "why did your room need cleaned". So we ordered some fresh towels and they brought those up to us. I told the desk when we left and all she said was "I'm sorry". Don't know if I will stay there again.