Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
Never enough cream for coffee in the packets in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2015
At first, my wife and I weren't too impressed by the hotel; however, we asked for a room change because our neighbors were being too loud and they immediately placed us in another room. The room was an upgrade, better looking and free of charge. Staff is excellent. The resort is a little bit old but it has everything you could possibly want, I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Joseph, MO

Rooms are nice. Very big resort and lots of steps.

Posted May 24, 2015
The waterpark was a bit overpriced, I was expecting a bigger waterpark. The resort is huge, with a lot of steps, thankfully it was me and my fiance at all times bc we had to keep picking up the stroller to make the steps. They need more stroller/wheelchair access for sure!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Louis, MO

DISAPPOINTED!

Posted May 20, 2015
I pre-booked this "hotel" for a girls' weekend, hoping to be close to the pool, spa and restaurtant/bar on premises. Upon check-in I was told that the main resort was full, but that we would be UPGRADED to a room at the Estates Complex with a view of the lake. Our "lake view" was a joke as we only had a small triangular window to look out and our balcony faced another unit. We had to drag our things up and down over 50 stairs just to get to our room. We were told that we could call for a shuttle to get back to the main resort since our "upgraded" space wasn't within walking distance. We tried to call for a shuttle, but our phone didn't work! We had to drive to the main complex for our spa appointments and had a hard time finding a parking spot since the resort was so full. This was far from the relaxing experience we hoped to have!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Enjoyed my stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Great location -- beautiful setting. Well designed for conferences.
Cons: A few areas seemed to be a bit dated -- but not horribly so.
Location: Perfect location -- beautiful. Lots of great restaurants and activities nearby.
Attended a conference -- it was my first time at Tan Tar A. Very pleased -- ideal for conferences and will possibly return for a stay with my family this summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad we meet your expectations while you were here with your conference and certainly look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Fun for all the people in the family

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: You could spend your entire vacation at the hotel and not run out of things to do.
Cons: You could hear when people were walking down the hall or when people were taking in the rooms next to you.
Location: So any amazing things to do near by. Make sure you check out the welcome center for great ideas.
Even though the hotel was under renovations, it didn't feel like it was under renovations. We didn't hear any of the workers and most of the staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend and will go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Grandkids weekend.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff is very friendly. Plenty of activities, lake views. Kid friendly.
Cons: Rooms are in need of an update. Our room had 2 X4s holding the headboard. Exhaust fan grille hanging down. Wall touch up didn't match. Dirt on doors.
Location: Right on the Lake of the Ozarks. Any lake activity you can think of, go carts, miniature golf, outlet mall.
Stayed 2 nights with the grandkids. The resort staff were all very friendly, and professional. They are remodeling parts of the resort. We used the pool, water park, and bowling alley. Kids had loads of fun. Wanted to horseback ride, but kinda cool. Offseason rates make it a good place for a getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Nice visit, very relaxing. Black Bear Rest. was somewhat disappointing in its value. service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mo

Want To Go Back

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Our experience was outstanding. It was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed over the couple of years. The room was immaculate with a new flatscreen TV. The staff was super friendly. I want to go back this summer for three or four days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Clean but dated...

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The hotel itself is very dated, although there are signs all over indicating renovation is being done. The rooms were very clean. The double sinks in the bathroom made our stay a whole lot easier for a family of 4. The walls are paper thin. If you are in a joining room (although the door in between is locked) you can pretty much hear every conversation as if they were in our room. If there are loud people staying next to you forget about sleeping