Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Enjoyed my stay!

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Great location -- beautiful setting. Well designed for conferences.
Cons: A few areas seemed to be a bit dated -- but not horribly so.
Location: Perfect location -- beautiful. Lots of great restaurants and activities nearby.
Attended a conference -- it was my first time at Tan Tar A. Very pleased -- ideal for conferences and will possibly return for a stay with my family this summer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad we meet your expectations while you were here with your conference and certainly look forward to seeing you in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Fun for all the people in the family

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: You could spend your entire vacation at the hotel and not run out of things to do.
Cons: You could hear when people were walking down the hall or when people were taking in the rooms next to you.
Location: So any amazing things to do near by. Make sure you check out the welcome center for great ideas.
Even though the hotel was under renovations, it didn't feel like it was under renovations. We didn't hear any of the workers and most of the staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend and will go back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis

Grandkids weekend.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The staff is very friendly. Plenty of activities, lake views. Kid friendly.
Cons: Rooms are in need of an update. Our room had 2 X4s holding the headboard. Exhaust fan grille hanging down. Wall touch up didn't match. Dirt on doors.
Location: Right on the Lake of the Ozarks. Any lake activity you can think of, go carts, miniature golf, outlet mall.
Stayed 2 nights with the grandkids. The resort staff were all very friendly, and professional. They are remodeling parts of the resort. We used the pool, water park, and bowling alley. Kids had loads of fun. Wanted to horseback ride, but kinda cool. Offseason rates make it a good place for a getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Nice visit, very relaxing. Black Bear Rest. was somewhat disappointing in its value. service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mo

Want To Go Back

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Our experience was outstanding. It was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed over the couple of years. The room was immaculate with a new flatscreen TV. The staff was super friendly. I want to go back this summer for three or four days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City, MO

Clean but dated...

Posted Mar 22, 2015
The hotel itself is very dated, although there are signs all over indicating renovation is being done. The rooms were very clean. The double sinks in the bathroom made our stay a whole lot easier for a family of 4. The walls are paper thin. If you are in a joining room (although the door in between is locked) you can pretty much hear every conversation as if they were in our room. If there are loud people staying next to you forget about sleeping
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom rural Western Missouri.

Convention participation

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The beauty of the location. The lake is quite peaceful, especially at this time of year.
Location: Easy to find and whatever you might need is on sight.
Attending the Christian convention so most of our time was spent in classes. We did not use much of the resort amenities but as a resort location, it was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

lake view wonderful

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: location, comfort of the rooms
Cons: they were nice
Location: boat cruises, horse riding,
the lake view rooms perfect, nice designed , friendly staff, perfect located in the lake Ozark, great for families with small kids, nice indoor pools, horse and pony riding, we really enjoyed and relax...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cool hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
There's a lot to do for children not as much for adults.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Nice get away

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Overall it is a great place to visit. The only complaint I have is the walls are paper thin. You can literally hear every word of a conversation the people in the neighboring room is having.