Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stuart from Aberdeen

A warm welcome in Oslo

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Pleasant surroundings, friendly staff, wide selection of good food on offer, free coffee all day.
Cons: Sometimes the card wouldn't unlock the door, but this was quickly rectified at reception.
Location: The hotel is at walking distance from the centre and Viegeler Park and at a longer walk one can visit the Bogdoy district museums (eg Viking ships)
I had a very enjoyable stay in Hotel Gabelshus. The staff were very friendly and attentive and the atmosphere was relaxed. The interior of the hotel seems to have been recently refurbished and the dining area in particular is very spacious. The food on offer is very good. The hotel is situated in the Frogner district of Oslo, a very pleasant, quiet area with fine buildings. There was very little street noise, which assured a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sheena from london

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Stayed two nights. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit on the side from the center but you can grab a tram and be in central area within 15 minutes. The room has decent size and was clean. Breakfast and dinner (buffet) included which are budget friendly in Norway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice neighborhood; fine service; excelent value

Posted Aug 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were in Oslo for a convention and stayed for over a week. There were many unexpected features of the hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much. It is a little away from the center but with good public transport and excellent service. Our room was modern and recently renovated ( some rooms are older). Our only complaint has nothing to do with the hotel but with the outrageous taxi fare from the airport. Be sure to take a fixed rate cab like Oslo taxi - we didn't and the trip cost $250 - a real rip off.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Not recommended

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Hotel condition is poor. Dirty floors and lack of daily maid service. Hotel room temperature was hot, with no way to bring down the temperature. Location is nice, quiet residential but too far from city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maren from New York, NY, USA

Oslo Gem

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Great value and superb staff.
Cons: Small shower and no dressers
Location: Lovely location and near everything
The staff is superb. Breakfast is ok. The dinners are adequate and we VERY much appreciated their being included after paying $25 for one value meal at McDonalds. We had been forewarned that Oslo was expensive, but we're not prepared for the truly outrageous prices. This hotel is a real gem and made Oslo much more affordable to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Chris from Seattle, WA, USA

You Can Do Better

Posted May 30, 2012
Pros: The setting is beautiful.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: A gorgeous neighborhood, pretty centrally located, close to Metro and the Palace.
This hotel is basically fine; it's just not quite as advertised. The exterior is gorgeous and the neighborhood is great, but our room was pretty scrappy; lots of peeling paint, worn carpet, no decor to speak of, and a very tiny old CRT television. Also we had no control over the heat in the bathroom (it was still set for winter, though we were there on the hottest day of the year). The hotel seems understaffed and the staff we did encounter were efficient bordering on rude. Again, the hotel is basically okay. But I wouldn't recommend it at this price point, it's a failure of expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Great food, good price

Posted Nov 16, 2011
As mentioned by other people the fact that a buffet dinner is included in the price here is a big plus. The food was lovely and considering just 2 coffees can set you back £7 in Oslo provides you with a good saving. In a lovely neighbourhood aswell.