Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Elegant Hotel in central Oslo

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Position style
Location: Central Oslo so walk to the Harbour / Opera House / Palace.
Excellent site / style / comfort / buffet breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Majestic hotel in the heart of the bustling Oslo

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Room size and location best.
Cons: Not sure if possible - but get elevator to ground floor because lifting heaving luggage up 10 steps to the current ground floor elevator is brutal.
Loved the grand feel of this hotel. The room for my family of 4 was the most spacious in our 2 weeks across Norway. It was perfect and we did not want to leave. As for being Americans, we loved the breakfast inclusion of fresh made omelets, waffles and pancakes since we had grown sick of traditional Norwegian breads and smorgasbords every other morning. The location is also great - right on Karl Johann street with a great sidewalk café for dining and across the street from a park where you can sit and people watch for hours. Location is also only about a 5 block walk to harbor area which is so beautiful and renovated to be completely modern and with fabulous dining options....very trendy and chic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Perfect for all sites or just hanging local. Staff are very mixed and as they have a lot of tour groups are less focussed on ensuring their is a personalised service for independent travellers. Did not tell us about any of the hotel facilities like the roof bar or lovely pool. Would stay there again as it is a great location though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Shame about the noisy air con

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Condition of the hotel
Location: Central location. A short walk to everything
Great location and generally a good hotel, if a little tired. We were in Oslo when the weather was unusually hot. Air con In our room was so noisy we couldn't sleep with it on. Despite complaining several times - and a maintenance man removing the skirting board (why?) and leaving wood shavings all over the floor - it was never fixed. I was disappointed that there didn't seem to be any follow-through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very,very nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: The location was great. It was close to the ferry dock as well as the National Gallery. Taking the ferry to the Folk museum and the ship museums was w
The Grand Hotel is an apt description for the hotel. Everything about it was delightful, although it is a little past its prime which actually adds to its charm. The only complaint we had was that we had an inside room the first night which had an unappealing view; we changed rooms for the second night to an outside room, and the view was much better even though the room was a bit noisier. The breakfast was great as was the breakfast/dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

What a nice place along with a fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: It's the simple little things that matter when it comes to hotels... The aircon was on when entering the room which was a nice touch. Nice pillows etc
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
What more could you want? It's centrally located, just across from the harbour, the Royal Palace and a few minutes walk from the central train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Excellent location in Oslo city centre

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, luxurious rooms
Cons: Heating should be in working order. Why not a fan in the bathroom?
Location: Central to transportation, the Royal Palace, the Theatre & the National Gallery
The hotel itself is a wonderful building. Although probably not the best if you have mobility issues - eg: the stairs up to the elevators, or the ledge into the bathroom. It was unseasonably cool during my stay in Oslo. The heat in the room didn't work. After freezing for three days I asked them to check the thermostat. The chambermaid saved the day by giving me a space heater. Also, I was there during Europride week. This was fine with the exception of the pulsing techno music which played well into the early hours of last Sunday morning. It wasn't coming from within the hotel, though, from outside on the street. The breakfast itself was very good. However, getting a second cup of coffee was a bit of a challenge. Otherwise a pleasing 4 overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nostalgic place to stay!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Room was big, bed was fabulous !! Restaurant food was excellent!
Cons: Rooms are a bit dated could use some renovation.
Location: Location was excellent!
The bed was wonderful big room and nice staff! Needs some renovation. Had a cold room but warm bed! Heated floor in bathroom was nice! Pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrei from London

A truly "grand" hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
The hotel is very well located, which allowed us to explore pretty much all the city centre on foot. We had a very small room, but it was reasonably priced. The hotel interior is quite luxurious and the breakfast is excellent (2 types of smoked salmon, other types of smoked fish, eggs, pastries etc.). The staff were very friendly and helpful.