Ratings based on 1,715 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

No sleep - construction on roof

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel tired. Constant unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Basic furnishings not 5 star standard.
Location: Walking distance to station, restaurants and shops.
We booked for four nights. The first 3 were fine, but note that the hotel is 'tired' and certainly not 5 star. We suspect Expedia buyers get last choice of rooms? The final night was a nightmare. The hotel is having something built on its roof, and the work was allowed to carry on all through the night. When we contacted reception they initially denied there was anything going on, then admitted there was, but that there was no one on site with authority to stop it. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Christoffer N, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your stay here at the Grand Hotel. I would like to send you my deepest apologies for the inconvenience experienced by the noise from the construction work. I can assure you that we don't operate with any kind of "last choice of rooms" from Expedia bookings or any other site. Hope that we get a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bry sur Marne

Hôtel idéalement placé

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: la situation géographique
Cons: en avril, horaires d'ouverture du bar trop restreintes pour permettre un dernier moment de détente après le repas
Location: galerie nationale, parc Vigueland, tremplin olympique, musée des vikings, folkmusée, etc.
Personnel accueillant, chambre confortable, très bonne literie
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Christoffer N, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. We look forward to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel. All the best,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flott hotell, midt på Karl Johan.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Rommet var stort og fint. Parkett på gulvet, og nydelig seng. Oppussingen var litt slurvete, og litt møkkete i kriker og kroker. Noe man ikke forventer til prisen. Frokosten var nydelig!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Stilfullt hotell

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Hyggelig personale, meget pent oppusset rom med en fantastisk seng (superior). I tillegg fantastisk beliggenhet på Karl Johan. Fantastisk frokostbuffet. Det trekker litt ned at rommet ikke var klart til innsjekk da vi kom 1800. Det ble gjort klart 1830 riktignok. Sum og summarum, meget fornøyd
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A feeling of quality

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Old world charm with modern facilities. A breakfast to die for.
Cons: The beds are comfy but a bit soft. The concierge could be better informed giving either inaccurate advice of failing to inform us of issues.
Location: Great central location. Surrounded by eateries and deli supplies. Central to rail station, museums and harbour.
Made to feel welcome. Well organised at reception. Shown to room graciously.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2015 by Christoffer N, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Grand. I am very pleased to read that the staff made you feel welcome and that the reception desk impressed you. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Grand Hotel. All the best
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom stavanger

dårlig opplevelse!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
da jeg kom var det hverken såper eller håndklær på rommet - tlf virket ikke og aircondition var ikke på om natten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel Great place Great food

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Great place. Right in the center of the city. Close to everything, and thank you Expedia for finding us this great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Meget god! Bra hotell med en meget høy komfort. Kjempe god frokost og strålende service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Noventa Padovana

Visita alla citta di Oslo

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: l'abbondanza della colazione
Cons: Camere e bagni troppo piccole
Location: la migliore di tutti gli alberghi, centralissima
La città ci ha accolto bene, mezzi di trasporto frequenti e puntuali, treno dall'aeroporto alla città ad quasi alta velocità. Con il voucher abbiamo preso tutti i trasporti gratis e tutti i musei. Il Grand Hotel mantiene il suo fascino anche se gli anni gli stanno pesando, colazione straordinaria, Pantagruel non ce l'avrebbe fatta a mangiare neanche lui tutto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Tradition & Nordic charm in one!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Great and super central hotel serving the best breakfast in town. Great hotel looking back to a long history with very friendly and helpful staff.