Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with easy connections to public transpo

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Gave me all my options and even walked me to the airport bus stop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to subway and city

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel close to subway and trains. Easy to get to city centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from UK

Business trip

Posted Sep 22, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Service
Location: Close to Metro
TV was faulty, no room service, seemed to have little staff, breakfast was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable business hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Restauarnt let's the hotel down. Steak was tough and net really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adrian from Denver, CO

Good Hotel, but not convenient to down-town

Posted Oct 7, 2011
Scandinavian hotels seem to be all similar - you'll get a great breakfast, but the room amenities will seem sparse to western visitors. This particular hotel suffers from location. It is a distance away from down-town. There is a metro stop about five minutes walk away. However, you MUST have a "chip-and-pin" type credit card to buy a ticket - they don't support swiping of credit cards. Since there is nothing else round the hotel (it's very much a commercial area), I would not recommend this hotel for tourism. However, if you are visiting one of the companies in the area, this is a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sapporo, Japan

The Rica Helsfyr Hotel in Oslo, Norway

Posted Aug 23, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff members were nice and kind. The hotel room was spacious and cozy. The hotel is only 4 stops from the central station by subway in Oslo. It's located in a quiet neighborhood. A sign to the hotel should be put up. I didn't have to bring a 100/110 voltage converter from Japan. The hotel had a dual-voltage system in the bathroom. Such information should be provided in advance. There were no English newspapers in the hotel. I saw only Norwegian papers. If I am correct, there shuld be also English papers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NJ

Out of the way

Posted Aug 24, 2009
A very nice hotel, very accommodating staff, but not in central Oslo. Quite a bit out of the way.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

A bit out of the way

Posted Aug 19, 2009 on Hotels.com
Nice enough hotel but further away from the city centre than I would have liked, although very easy to get to by using the underground. Room was nice and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Convient and comfortable

Posted Jul 7, 2009
The Rica Helsfyr is within a five-minute walk, even with a suitcase, of a stop for the airport bus and the T-bane underground system. It is clean, comfortable and quiet, with an excellent breakfast buffet. There is not much, apart from a small supermarket, in the immediate area, but frequent trains to central Oslo take only about ten minutes.